We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barefoot Sukau Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel City Star(Sandakan)
US$17
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$19
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Sandakan(Sandakan)
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel New Sabah(Sandakan)
US$13
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ramai(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$18
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
Park View Hotel(Sandakan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
13
23
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
23
16
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My partner and I loved this place. It was a great value -- inexpensive and we still felt like we got a full Kinabatangan River experience. Rooms are set back a bit, but the café is right on the river with a great view of rocky outcroppings opposite. Tea, coffee, water and cookies set out all day and comfortable chairs for lounging in between cruises. Meals are good and generous. Staff is friendly. Rooms are basic, but clean. And we had four great cruises. The wildlife you see depends somewhat on luck and the skill of your guide. We saw a fair amount. I would have been happy just to be on the river! Definitely bring insect repellant, a poncho, field glasses and a good zoom lens. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: The lodge is near enough to a mosque to hear the calls to prayer. if you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The location feels very remote and away from the tourists and the main traveler places. It is right on the river. We were a group of 4 and there was only one other person staying at the lodge so it was very quiet.
The four of us had our own private river cruise which was amazing and we saw lots of wildlife and sunset/sunrise. Guide was very helpful and informative.
Food provided was adequate and there was plenty of it.
Only issue with the lodge was that the rooms were very basic and let the lodge down. Our room smelt like sewage and desperately needed renovating. Room didn't feel very clean.
I would return to the lodge as the experience was unique and the river cruise was so good. However I would like to see the rooms updated and then it would be amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexxy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

if you like the "real nature"run to this nice lodge.!!.;close to the river the room are simple but confortable clean and quiet ;the food are very good the staff very nice and the Young guy who made the boat trip are very Professional and the price are good!!!the other lodge in the same area are very expensive!!!so go ...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wod94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We loved this place. It is run by the lovely Anna, backed up by Auntie Rose (the cook), Sharul, cook and boatman/guide and the fun Acil who was the boatman guide for all but our night cruise. The rooms are basic but clean and I had my best night's sleep there out of all the places we stayed. The dining/sitting area is overlooking the river and has one of the best views of anywhere I have ever been (and I've lived abroad for 20 years!). Tea and coffee is on tap constantly and they even got some condensed milk in for me so I could have the local coffee which is my weakness. The meals are delicious with lots of local food, but there isn't a menu, so you get what you are given. We enjoyed all of it, so no complaints there. There are river cruises morning, afternoon and night, and all at a very reasonable price (about 40 Ringgit per cruise) and the guides are extremely knowledgeable. They identified 5 different types of hornbill, monitor lizards, orangutans, proboscis monkeys, macaques and many other types of bird for us and we were lucky enough to see elephants. All down to Acil's perseverance and general good humouredness! And the piece de resistance was having a crocodile swim alongside our boat during the night cruise. Very scary but utterly incredible. Oh and watching the sunrise from the breakfast area while listening to the call of the rhinocerous hornbill......magical.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The real Borneo... A very simple hostel with an amazing veranda above theThe real Borneo... A very simple hostel with an amazing veranda above the Kinabatangan River. We spent a few hours there, by enjoying coffee and tea and was just perfect time. Plus 2 boat tours at the Kinabatangan River: evening and sun rise time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELENIL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews