We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rustic 3 Days / 2 nights”
Review of Sukau River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sukau River Lodge
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My first impressions were that we had been taken to the wrong place !
I have to agree with the comments on these pages the lodge was extremely run down but the people are friendly and helpful .
The food was basic Malay but adequate and the service attentive.
The wild life component of the trip was first rate as we sighted at least six different species of primate including a wild Orangutan with an infant.
But
I would not recommend that you stay here though, as for the same price you can stay at the rainforest lodge unless of course rustic is your thing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our most authentic jungle experience in Sabah. The cabins were basic but quite adequate and do you really need 5 stars in the jungle? The beds were comfortable and the water was hot. Along with our lovely guide Roland, we were the only guests here for our 2 nights and we enjoyed talking to him and learning about the way of life for the river people. Our boatman, from next door, was very helpful and excellent at spotting wildlife on our river trips. We saw a wide variety of birds and monkeys, without having to share our boat with hordes of other people. There were just the 2 of us. The food was very enjoyable and the dining area had a lovely view across the river, where we could watch the passing traffic. Remember to take your own snack food etc across with you because you can't buy anything like that there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It was great very basic but isn't it what the jungle is all about .We saw heaps of wild animals and birds had a huge Orangutan build his bed for the night right above our cabin . The staff were great very friendly and cooked good food . The guided boat trips were very informative . We are keen to return missed the elephants by 1week . Peter & Angie

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I read most of the (not so good) reviews before i came here, so i knew what to expect. I wasnt as disapointed as i could have been but the service from the man who owns and runs the lodge and the trip along the river more than made up for the accommodaiton.
We stayed here for 1 night and i think i could have done a few nights but no more. The meals were all really nice and home cooked and the man was quite friendly.
We came here as part of a Gomantong-Sukau-Kinaba-Sep Tour with Wildlife Expeditions.
We went on a river cruise in a hand made boat by the man who lives next door (much better way to see the river). We were amazed by the amount of monkeys we saw and our guide was soooo good at spotting them!!!!!
This made up for the accommodation, which wasnt that bad afterall.

Room Tip: There are only cabins but dont be put off by the appearance of them (they arent very well maintained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very much like the most recent reviewer, we had read many of the other reviews and so were under no illusions regarding what to expect from this lodge. We were on a 3D 2N tour with wildlife expeditions and this was our second night, our first on turtle island.

The lodge can only be reached by boat from the main jetty. The accommodation was in small huts on stilts and was VERY basic. As alluded to by previous reviewers, the wooden walkway to the huts was perilous particularly as it was raining heavily. My husband fell through one of the rotten floorboards, but I'd like to stress that he has a normal BMI....! He also managed to slip on the intact floorboards en route to the restaurant, but was thankfully unhurt (apart from his pride) on both occasions.

Back to the rooms- these were clean as was the en suite shower room and toilet. Bottles of water (small), small soaps, hand wash, shampoo and towels were all provided. Cold water only came out of the taps and shower and the water was stored rainwater, so was a little grubby.. But at least we could have a rudimentary shower to wash off the grime of the day. The rooms are all air conditioned and there is a fan, but small cracks between the floorboards probably renders the air con less efficient and unfortunately allows the Mosquitos in.

The food was served in the restaurant/ veranda area, was local, spicy and delicious. Beer, soft drinks and bottled water were readily available and were charged for on departure. The river views from the veranda were simply wonderful- we spent the afternoon here prior to our boat trip and the evening before dinner with a few beers. The staff were all locals and were delightful and could not do more for us. Our guide Juan was hilarious and knowledgeable about the area, flora and fauna.

The late afternoon boat trip was fantastic, despite the torrential rain. As Juan rightly said, the monkeys didn't come out until around 5pm, but once they did, it was a sight to behold. We were fortunate to see the proboscis monkeys who were lovely, as well as the rather more sinister long and pigtailed macacs. There were a huge variety of birds and if you were lucky (we were not) crocs and orangutan.... The trip lasts around two hours.

Our nighttime insect walk was rained off, but frankly this was no great disaster- given the sheer number we'd seen on our earlier trip to the bat caves.... The cockroaches underfoot gave me nightmares for days - particularly when we saw some Japanese tourists going in with open toed sandals. But I digress, we've heard good reviews of said night time trek.

Ultimately, this was an excellent experience and as long as you are prepared to rough it a little, then you won't go far wrong.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the Sukau River Lodge as part of an excellent Wildlife Expeditions 3 night 4 day tour which I have reviewed on this site.

We had read several Trip Advisor reviews about the condition of the lodge, so we were under no illusions of what to expect. Apart from some newer (?) cottages, the lodge is showing it's age. There doesn't appear to be much maintenance carried out, but I guess there must be some basic maintenance as the buildings haven't become unliveable. The staff area is separated from the guests by an ugly corrugated iron fence. It's an eye-sore, but you aren't there for the beauty of the lodge views!

Owned by Wildlife Expeditions and helping to support the local population, the Sukau River Lodge offers very basic accommodation on the edge of the Sukau rainforest reserve. It was built around 1990 and hosted Sir David Attenborough shortly there after. Accessible only by boat, it is a pleasant get away in a fairly undisturbed environment where you can see Proboscis monkeys, Long-tailed and Pig-tailed Macaques and if you are lucky, as we were, wild Oran-Utans and even luckier still, elephants and Esturine crocs along with a wonderful bird watching experience.

Our cottage, one of maybe a dozen free standing cottages on stilts, was air-conditioned and also had a ceiling fan. The windows were well screened and could be fully opened to capture any breezes. The screening was a moot point, however, as there were many gaps in the floorboards for insects to gain access. The bathroom was basic with a western-style toilet, huge shower and a dilapidated vanity unit. We had no hot water, but in the heat and humidity, we barely noticed. Our twin beds were clean and comfortable but we took light weight sleeping sheets and chose to use them, "just in case!" We took our own mossie coils and repellant and had no trouble with insects.

The board walk connecting the cottages to the main concrete paved walk way is terrible. Be warned!! When wet and it rained several times in the two days we were there, the board walks are extremely slippery and very dangerous. There are broken boards and holes to trip you as well. The local nature trail has plastic waste scattered along it's length. It's not a tip, but it's not good enough when a half day and a couple of staff could clean it up.

The restaurant is located a couple of hundred meters from the main group of cottages. The tables are on a large terrace over-looking the Kinabatangan River. It's a pleasant environment. All meals were presented as a buffet with rice, vegetables and a couple of meat/chicken dishes. In addition, there was soup served with lunch and dinner. Enak - delicious! Beer and limited soft drinks and water at extra cost, were available at all times throughout the day and evening.

As I mentioned, we were in no illusions over what to expect. It really wasn't as bad as we were expecting, but more like 5-star camping than a resort/lodge.

As part of the tour, we were very happy with our time here but if you were going it alone, you could probably do better.

Room Tip: Make sure you get you cottage in phase 3 of the lodge. The others seemed very run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiveMedic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We just returned from a one night stay at this lodge, as part of a two day tour through Eastern Sabah with Wildlife Expeditions (the same company that own this property). I agree with many of the other reviews (yes, it is falling down in places and is very basic in it's amenities) but the owners are quite open about the level of accommodation offered and it is meant to be a 'living in the jungle' type experience. Our room had AC (which is fairly necessary in this climate), which worked well and a comfortable bed for the night. The shower facilities were very rustic, but if your stay is limited to one or two nights - you can make do. They probably could fix up some of the rotting boardwalks and uneven paths - as no matter how basic the accommodation - this was a safety hazard. The positives: The place is very picturesque and literally living in the jungle was an amazing experience. The staff are very friendly and make a great effort to present authentic local food for guests to dine on. Unfortunately, in rural Malaysia - that can mean tough leathery meat and lots of bones - but there is no denying it's an authentic experience! The river cruise and the night jungle walk are real highlights with dozens of proboscis monkeys and long tailed macaques spotted from our boat. Well worth it just for these experiences alone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonfox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sukau River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukau River Lodge

Address: Kinabatangan River, Sukau, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District > Sukau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Sukau
Also Known As:
Sukau River Lodge Kinabatangan District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing