We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rundown”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sukau River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sukau River Lodge
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rundown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed with friends for two nights. Our travel agent did advise us this would be basic, but it is rundown and damp and below acceptable standards for tourist accommodation.
Sukau River Lodge consists of separate lodges which are quite a distance away from the river front main lodge where you sit and eat. The buildings are all connected by a timber walkway which is rotting away and is slippery and broken in places. My foot went through one of the boards, lucky I didn't injure myself falling. The lodges themselves are very basic and rundown but are reasonably clean. We could see daylight through the cracks in our bathroom floor and the shower water ran through the cracks rather than down the drain. The toilet pipe leaked all over the floor but they did fix it when the cistern sprung a major leak and water was everywhere. They only run the hot water when you request it, but that is better than no hot water. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioner worked. The food is basic and there was no choice, you just eat what you are given. Unfortunately you spend time at this place with nothing to do and nowhere to go and it is not the place where one can just relax and enjoy the surroundings. The river trip up the small river next to the lodge enabled us to see lots of wildlife which is what we went for, so that was the only enjoyable part. There are much better lodges to stay at where you can still experience the wildlife. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The lodge is run down but the staff were attentive and the meals, whilst only basic Malay, were delicious. Our room was clean and comfortable. We travelled down the river during our stay and were privileged to see a mature male Orangutan in the wild during one of the trips. Our guide arranged for an evening trip down the river "spot lighting" for wildlife - an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location but sadly the lodge was so run down it looked like it had been abandoned for a decade. The walkways are dangerous slippery rotting wood. Our room was unclean and very poorly maintained compared with other widelife experiences we have enjoyed on this trip. Only redeeming factor was the people and the surrounding scenery and wildlife. Be prepared for leeches! I would not recommend anybody stay here. We were not happy to stay the full duration and actually checked out as quickly as we could. Very disappointed!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 94miriamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

It is a shame that the lodge is run down but the people are friendly and helpful . The food was basic but adequate and the staff were great and very attentive. The cabins were basic but clean and quite adequate: the beds were comfortable and we could even get some hot water.
The wild life component of the trip was incredible : we saw heaps of wild animals and birds , but the highlight of our stay was an adult male Orang-utan relaxing on a branch whilst we were cruising down the river at sunset. These guided boat trips were quite amazing . We are quite keen to return, and hopefully we might see the elephants!

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury, but if you like nature, you will have the time of your life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michele d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My first impressions were that we had been taken to the wrong place !
I have to agree with the comments on these pages the lodge was extremely run down but the people are friendly and helpful .
The food was basic Malay but adequate and the service attentive.
The wild life component of the trip was first rate as we sighted at least six different species of primate including a wild Orangutan with an infant.
But
I would not recommend that you stay here though, as for the same price you can stay at the rainforest lodge unless of course rustic is your thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our most authentic jungle experience in Sabah. The cabins were basic but quite adequate and do you really need 5 stars in the jungle? The beds were comfortable and the water was hot. Along with our lovely guide Roland, we were the only guests here for our 2 nights and we enjoyed talking to him and learning about the way of life for the river people. Our boatman, from next door, was very helpful and excellent at spotting wildlife on our river trips. We saw a wide variety of birds and monkeys, without having to share our boat with hordes of other people. There were just the 2 of us. The food was very enjoyable and the dining area had a lovely view across the river, where we could watch the passing traffic. Remember to take your own snack food etc across with you because you can't buy anything like that there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

It was great very basic but isn't it what the jungle is all about .We saw heaps of wild animals and birds had a huge Orangutan build his bed for the night right above our cabin . The staff were great very friendly and cooked good food . The guided boat trips were very informative . We are keen to return missed the elephants by 1week . Peter & Angie

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukau
0.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#5 of 29 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
0.0 mi away
Gaya Island Resort
Gaya Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukau River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukau River Lodge

Property: Sukau River Lodge
Address: Kinabatangan River, Sukau, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District > Sukau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Sukau
Also Known As:
Sukau River Lodge Kinabatangan District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing