We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse by the river with wonderful staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sukau Evergreen Lodge
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse by the river with wonderful staff”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at a guesthouse just down the road and it was awful so we switched to Sukau Evergreen and we were soooooo happy we changed guesthouses. The rooms are super clean, newly painted, with A/C. The family that runs the guesthouse are so friendly and they made us a delicious dinner.
They don't do river tours but there are tour guides in town and they can help arrange a tour for you.
I recommend staying here (very peaceful and quiet) and doing a river tour; it's cheaper than booking an all inclusive tour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

nice lodge and rooms are spacies and kept very clean by the owner. very good food, could be maybe a little bit cheaper, but ........... the matraces are the only problem, because they are really bad.
we stayed there twice within a period of 14 days. first just two nights and than we came back for another week. we didn't go there on a package. go there weekdays, because weekends there are more guests and it gets noisy. traveled sabah with a rented car a had perfect moments in the area around sukau. the river cruises are o.k. but one or two are enough. the offered jungle treck you can do by your own, just pass through the last resort ( B&B ) and after the resort on the right side there is a possibility to open the fence. there is not a lot to see, but we met some angry monkeys and have seen some birds there ( whole track take you maybe one hour return ).
we have even seen orang utan in sukau !!! one guy and one mother with baby. we made great pictures, but we have seen them five kilometer away from the lodge up the river ( where the car ferry stops - on the same side of the river where the lodge is situated - there is also a ferry stop on the other side of the river ). i don't know if the live there all the time or we have been just lucky.
another good spot for getting close to monkeys is the road to the gomantong caves. from the main road to the caves there are around 4 to 5 kilometer jungle. we drove the road up and down maybe five times during the time we stayed in sukau ( even we didn' t visit the cave ) and every time we met monkeys, even mothers with babys and two orang utan in the trees ( buy bananas on the way there - it really helps to get them out of the jungle !! )
evergreen lodge is a good, clean and cheap place to stay in sukau ( 70 RM room, you can ask for a discount ). i wouldn't go there on a package, but with a rented car and explore the area by yourself. in sukau there are no restaurants except expensive one at the resorts, but just a few kilometers outside of sukau you will find restaurants where you can get meals from 5 RM and up.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_TULACI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in Jan 2014.
The rooms were very clean (the place only opened in 2012 so is reletavly new) and also spacious (one double and one single bed)

The rates include breakfast - eggs with unlimited toast/ jam

We did a river tour through them, we saw Probiscous monkeys, macaques monkeys, rhino hornbills and also eagles. The boat driver was a very good guide and had perfect English.

We ate lunch and dinner (15rm) at the lodge - all meals were delicious! A good choice of meat, and different veg dishes, and also lots of fruit! Free tea and coffee was on offer all day and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Highly recommend Evergreen Lodge!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sus704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukau
0.8 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
6.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
348 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
6.3 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
258 reviews
6.5 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukau Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukau Evergreen Lodge

Property: Sukau Evergreen Lodge
Address: Kg. Sukau, Kinabatangan | Sandakan, Sukau 90200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District > Sukau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Sukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sukau Evergreen Lodge is located in Kg. Sukau, Kinabatangan, Sandakan Sabah, about 134 Kilometers from Sandakan. The house was constructed in 1968 and renovated into tourist accomodation. This lodge which began its operations in February 2012, has 10 fan/air conditioned rooms and a house for backpackers. Sukau Evergreen Lodge also offers rental boat for those who want to watch wildlife such as Proboscis monkey, Orang Utan, Elephant, Hornbill and also who like fishing with affordable price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sukau Evergreen Lodge Kinabatangan District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing