We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for memory”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Uncle Chang's Sipadan Mabul Dive Lodge
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A place for memory”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stay a week in dormitory, the facilities are not very good but the overall atmosphere can cover these drawbacks. We stayed here relaxing and all people can gather together at night in the restaurant. Singing, chatting and relaxing. Peaceful and quiet place, you can make lot of friends here if you are more outgoing. watching stars...wonderful....The arrangement in diving is very good. If you can pay more, you can have Chalet with better room conditions, sea view and air condition. Sipadan diving must be book in advance and you will love it..Overall impression - I must go again

Room Tip: If you have preference meal to take, I suggest you to bring along your own food. They don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    69
    41
    40
    61
See reviews for
17
77
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

we went for the mabul island trip and decided to stayed at UC budget dive loudge.
Overall the sea was full of trush!the food served by them was terrible!water pressure is low!even u can find rat run away in ur room!all our junk food was ate by the rat!
mabul island is a beautiful island.we strongly recommend to save ur money n looking for the better resort!u will regret if u stay in UC!
beautiful island,but poor resort!regret!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank nicjay1987 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

we went to mabul island and decided to stayed at UC for 3days2nights. Overall the sea was full of the trush (believe is droped by the ppl over thr), food was terrible!water pressure bad!air cond no working well.

Mabul island is a beautiful island! but yet the UC spoiled our trip!strongly recomment do not stay at budget resort.save ur money to visit better dive loudge!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank nicjay1987 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolumpor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

terible room service.. terible water supply.. terible bathroom.. terible food.. terible beverage.. terible dive equipmen.. terible staff.. terible at all.. nightmare.. not suggest.. better go to the other dive lodge..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank eeiiyaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We absolutely didn't like this resort. We have been diving with many different dive centers, and this was the only one we didn't enjoy.
The room was not clean, had only a bed and in the bathroom the shower gave two out of for mornings no water at all. The other two mornings a very little bit, not possible to wash your hair. The toilet didn't flush. We saw several cackarooges in our bathroom.
Rats walk around the ceiling in the place were you will get the same dry Rice, chicken, fish and vegetables every day again. The worst was the staff: not motivated at all and not offering any service. You had to ask for everything. During our stay, we heard many people complain. Don't keep any food in your room: the rats will come in at night:)

We recommend to go to any other place at Mabul or even go to Sipadan from Semporna.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Anouk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I pland my holiday 3 months in advance because i've read so many comment about UC unorganized staff. We arrived 1 day early because we wanted to stayed 1 night at Semporna. the next morning boat are schedule at 8.00am however, it delay 30mins! Arrived at UC about 9.15am but we only check-in at 11.15am! the staff said because check-out time is at 10am and they need an hour for cleaning. (if you want to stay here you must be super patient!). if you check-in as non-diver there's nothing to do here. you cannot jump into the water even it just under your feet because it full with trash! (i even saw women pads! ewwwww...) seriously, don't go into the water you will get rashes. There's not an inch on this island that you won't see trashes. the staff are okay but very slow. The food? - terribly tasteless!!! i have to asked my sister who arrived on afternoon boat to buy us some soy sauce & chilli. Ohh...another thing, do not turn off your lights when you sleep because there's a chance you'll be visit by Mr.Mouse or Mr.Roaches.Overall, the island itself are very beautiful but the people who lived there take it for granted. I really hope that the Sabah Tourism do something about it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

In their website they mentioned they include your meals in buffet style, bring your for complimentary snorkeling around Mabul, free air-cond, etc.

I've never encountered a buffet that only has 2 types of dishes + the salad which only comprises of cucumber and some carrot!!

And i should have known better when they say free snorkeling around Mabul, because what you get to see is only one or two starfishes, plus very little coral.

Yes, air cond is free. But we only get the electricity from 5pm to 8am, other time, you cant even switch on the fan, not even at the common area!! It was scorching hot!!

Other than that, the staff were having the utmost nonchalant attitude!
The snorkeling time was 9.30am, at 9.30am we asked the staff when will the snorkeling boat start departing, they say now, and asked us to wait. We waited until 10am then only the boat start moving.

There were another session of snorkelling at 11.30am, as usual, we waited until 12pm then only the boat started moving. By the time we got back to the hotel from snorkeling and took a quick shower, it was 2.00pm. There were nothing left for lunch. Please bear in mind that the lunch time was 12pm to 2.30pm. We still have a good half an hour for lunch! When we asked the staff are there any dishes left, they said all already finished. How could they organize the activities time like that where they did not allocate any time for lunch?!!! We were so baffled by their attitude.

Lastly, the staff told us their timing for the boat's trip back to semporna island is 10.30am and 4.00pm. We opted for the 4.00pm trip. As usual, we need to wait, and this time, we waited until 5.00pm before the boat start departing from mabul. By the time we reach semporna around 5.35, all the buses had already finished their last trip which were at 4.00pm. We had to pay extra for the taxi back to places we wanted to go.

It was a terrible experience with Uncle Chang. We will never go back to Uncle Chang, ever again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GabrielleRose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.0 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
267 reviews
14.1 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
0.3 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
0.1 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Chang's Sipadan Mabul Dive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Chang's Sipadan Mabul Dive Lodge

Property: Uncle Chang's Sipadan Mabul Dive Lodge
Address: 91307 Causeway Road, Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Uncle Chang`s Sipadan Mabul Dive Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing