We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and horrible food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Uncle Chang's Sipadan Mabul Dive Lodge
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dirty and horrible food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

First the room had no electricity from 9am till 5pm.
Second, the bedsheet were dirty, smelly and full of holes.
Third, the food (if you can call that food) was terrible. If you plan or dare to stay at that place, take some strong medicine for the stomach.
The boat for the scuba were in very bad conditions.
The dive team was ok and really nice persons, bad luck for them they have to stay there.
The location is nice and the people working there are very friendly and you can see they do their best to satisfy the customers, but unfortunately this is far to be enough.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JPFreediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    64
    39
    38
    59
See reviews for
17
74
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This place is named after the legend Uncle Chang - and it is sort of legendary. My girlfriend took her open water course while I took the advanced course. Our super cool dive instructor South African Campell Louw took me through the best dives in my life. We shared beers and travel stories every night on the patio with beautiful ocean view and sunsets. It was spectacular! And the location is spectacular too. We had our own cabin with porch and sea view. Every nights we spend chillin' with beers and enjoying the tranquil feeling to live 'on sticks at sea'.
Our last dives were at Sipadan - the best dive i've done (and propably will do) in my life. The giant coral wall, massive schools of barracudas and jack fish, sea turtles, sharks combined with sublime visibility made it perfect. Sipadan is simply a hidden gem of a dive site. If you love location mor than luxury and very beautiful diving more than gorumet food - then the friendly staff and easygoing backpackers at Uncle Chang is the thing for you.

There's a down side though: The food wasn't that good and after one week with deep fried chicken it became almost disgusting. On our day trip to Sipadan they kept the fried chicken uncooled in boxes on the boat, and later the same evening I became sick. No more chicken for this backpacker! You can find descent burgers when you go onto the island. I did after that experience.
The rooms at Uncle Chang are a bit worn down, and could use some renovation. When we arrived our cabin (no. 8) had a 15 centimeter gap to the ocean surface between the bedroom and the bathroom. The staff switched our cabin without question.

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe cabin with own porch - it's well spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stay a week in dormitory, the facilities are not very good but the overall atmosphere can cover these drawbacks. We stayed here relaxing and all people can gather together at night in the restaurant. Singing, chatting and relaxing. Peaceful and quiet place, you can make lot of friends here if you are more outgoing. watching stars...wonderful....The arrangement in diving is very good. If you can pay more, you can have Chalet with better room conditions, sea view and air condition. Sipadan diving must be book in advance and you will love it..Overall impression - I must go again

Room Tip: If you have preference meal to take, I suggest you to bring along your own food. They don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

we went for the mabul island trip and decided to stayed at UC budget dive loudge.
Overall the sea was full of trush!the food served by them was terrible!water pressure is low!even u can find rat run away in ur room!all our junk food was ate by the rat!
mabul island is a beautiful island.we strongly recommend to save ur money n looking for the better resort!u will regret if u stay in UC!
beautiful island,but poor resort!regret!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank nicjay1987 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

we went to mabul island and decided to stayed at UC for 3days2nights. Overall the sea was full of the trush (believe is droped by the ppl over thr), food was terrible!water pressure bad!air cond no working well.

Mabul island is a beautiful island! but yet the UC spoiled our trip!strongly recomment do not stay at budget resort.save ur money to visit better dive loudge!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank nicjay1987 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolumpor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

terible room service.. terible water supply.. terible bathroom.. terible food.. terible beverage.. terible dive equipmen.. terible staff.. terible at all.. nightmare.. not suggest.. better go to the other dive lodge..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank eeiiyaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We absolutely didn't like this resort. We have been diving with many different dive centers, and this was the only one we didn't enjoy.
The room was not clean, had only a bed and in the bathroom the shower gave two out of for mornings no water at all. The other two mornings a very little bit, not possible to wash your hair. The toilet didn't flush. We saw several cackarooges in our bathroom.
Rats walk around the ceiling in the place were you will get the same dry Rice, chicken, fish and vegetables every day again. The worst was the staff: not motivated at all and not offering any service. You had to ask for everything. During our stay, we heard many people complain. Don't keep any food in your room: the rats will come in at night:)

We recommend to go to any other place at Mabul or even go to Sipadan from Semporna.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Anouk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.0 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
261 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
14.2 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
16.1 mi away
Best Bunk Beds
Best Bunk Beds
#3 of 21 in Semporna
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Chang's Sipadan Mabul Dive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Chang's Sipadan Mabul Dive Lodge

Property: Uncle Chang's Sipadan Mabul Dive Lodge
Address: 91307 Causeway Road, Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Uncle Chang`s Sipadan Mabul Dive Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing