We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointing! Organisation totally missing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scuba Jeff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Pulau Mabul B&B and Inns
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really disappointing! Organisation totally missing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

It could be a really nice place. Basic rooms, but the chill area over the crystal clear water is beautiful. BUT: Organisation is really bad! While we were there, the chief was on holiday. So the guesthouse was run by about 8-10 young locals without any interest of taking care of their customers. Diving organisation totally missing. They had invited their friends from the mainland and what followed was a party with lots of alcohol. One of them even vomited from the chill area. I don't need a luxury accomodation (As i mentioned, the guesthouse is basic but really nice) and i also like to make party and have some drinks. But guests seemed to be considered as disturbing and annoying, not welcome. The Staff was really desinterested in us (Only Dazil (hope I wrote it correctly. If not, sorry for that) took care of us and was really nice to us). We moved after the first night to another Hostel and were so happy we changed accomodation. We didn't get our money back for the last 2 nights (we had booked and paid for 3 nights in advance), they even made fun of us, because we asked for a refund. That was unprofessional, offensive and very disapointing. Scuba jeff (the chief) should care more about his place! 8 people changed into another accomodation during the time I stayed on Mabul. I think that doesn't need further comment!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElephantP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    22
    12
    37
See reviews for
8
36
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Definitely the best place on mabul. A small friendly dive shop that works around your needs. The whole team make you feel right at home. You become a part of the family and everyone is lovely.

The owner, Jeff, is very friendly, welcoming, hilarious, energetic and completely crazy. In a good way. He makes sure you have the best time possible.

The rooms are basic. But the diving is 5 star. The dive gear is also top notch. As for the dive team, they are the best. They know everything about the dive sites. Where to find all the best macro life. And they know the sites like the back of their hands.

Thanks to everyone for an amazing stay. I will definitely be back again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gaglersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

we're back after last trip in oct 13, provide basic needs as other backpacker lodge, food is good , sleep is good, diving is good, if your'e looking for 5stars accommodation, this is not your place, but if you want to jive with local and their culture this is the best..

small palm doesn't mean small heart..come with open heart and you will be touched deep inside..
sundeck, hammock , turtle etc..that's all I need..

this is mabul

your journey begin...http://scubajeffsipadan.com/

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkopile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I feel welcome as soon as I touch my feet on the dive center. Food are great. Able to buy fresh seafood and ask the girls to cook for us. Tip top customer service. I feel very comfortable at scuba Jeff. Entertainment such as guitar been played by them at night. Card games. Board game. Chill by hammock all is heaven on earth I would say. No aircond no hot water heater are the least of my worries Due to I'm a diver who likes to mingle and make new friends. If u are the type like me . Trust me u would love this place very much. I will definitely be back for them..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ziegler_melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

all ISLAND basic amenities are provided and it average at everything except for the amazing snorkeling trip, great sunset view, nice attraction from " sea Gipsy children" life could not be more excited than this.

Room Tip: choose VIP room if you want attach bathroom and some privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teracota79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The room was very basic with no aircond and the electricity was only available from 6:00pm - 8:00am. Totatlly away from life in the city. Good break...

The best part is the place was above the sea and we can do snorkelling or swimming anytime... And the water was very clear all the time. The snorkelling pacakge was excellent. We were taken to a place call Lobster Wall and was amazing. Luckily i'm not into diving..otherwise I would go diving instead of snorkelling.

By the evening we seat down to watch the sunset...and at nite you can see the twinkle little star.
The food was simple but delicious. We instead buy some fresh seafood caught freshly by the sea gypsies and cooked by the girls.

Walking around the beach was also nice with a lot of things to see. We definately will come again...

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajagurun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Accommodation for backpackers really basically a room with a bed mattress in it sometimes with plastic cover still on it ..The sheets on our bed where a bit suspect don't know when they where last washed. plenty of ants running around the floor as well.
The food was typical Malaysian fare rice noodles etc .But able to have plenty of fresh sea food caught by local fisherman ..No milk available for drinks...
The snorkelling was very good when it did not pour with rain .I would recommend bringing your own gear if possible though . Do not bother as we did bring stuff for going out, as you wont need it there is nowhere to go . If you are after a cheap trip with some nice snorkelling /Diving this could be for you ..but I thought it was a bit basic for me

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nz828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.2 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
14.4 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
16.2 mi away
Borneo Global Sipadan Backpackers (Semporna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Jeff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Jeff Guest House

Property: Scuba Jeff Guest House
Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Mabul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, budget accommodation on Mabul island in stilted longhouse right over the sea. Look out of your room to the infinite sea views or across to the local fishing village bustling with local life. Room rate includes all meals, tea, coffee, water. Friendly staff will treat you like family and make you feel at home. Snorkel right off our jetty or join our dive trips to the famous sites of Mabul and Sipadan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scuba Jeff Guest House Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing