We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scuba Jeff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Pulau Mabul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Scuba Jeff's was incredible. We spent 4 days snorkeling here and tried the discovery scuba diving for the first time, which I would highly recommend. The equipment all seemed new and the dive instructors were super competent and made us feel like we were in good hands. Corals were great and there are tons of fish and turtles everywhere you swim.

There was three of us sharing a four person room, although we ended up sleeping outside in the hammocks most nights. When else can you sleep under the stars and wake up with sea turtles swimming around you? It's magical.

Scuba Jeff's is a smaller business than some of the competition, which we liked because you really got to know everyone you're with and you become like a little family. It was also much cheaper here than other places we looked at. The staff were incredible, knowledgable and really made us feel at home. Food was a little repetitive but still good. And if you want to switch up the menu you can by crab from the locals and the staff will cook it up for you - delicious!

Overall it was an incredible experience and we were so happy that we booked through Scuba Jeff's!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alannah_Llama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

we booked and pay for 9 person but 2 of us need to share bed when sleeping since they didn't gave us extra mattress. i don't think they have extra mattress since all room were full. we asked to rent gopro for snorkelling but the gopro don't have battery. please make sure you asked the staff to charge the gopro the day before you went to snorkeling.

the food was okay. we didn't expect much since the price is cheap. 3 days --> chicken-tuna-chicken. the staff is kind. they helped us negotiate for crab and fish sold by villagers. please asked the staff about the price when you want to buy seafood from villagers. btw, the villagers didn't understand english.

electric is on 6pm-6am. make sure you bring power strip. there are only a few plug in the chalet.
for snorkeling, i think that the coral is just okay. redang island in terengganu has better coral (in my opinion) but you can try kapalai island by adding RM80.

overall, this place is recommended for solo or with friends. if with family, i suggest you better find another place. the sunset is beautiful. wake up early to see sunrise at the other side of the island and if you are lucky, you can see turtle swimming in front of the chalet. the toilet gave you sea water. it is not filtered. you can taste the salt when you take bath.

sorry for my bad english. still learning :p

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank benzhafiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I may have to agree with other reviewers about the staff whom taking advantages while Jeff is not around, yes agreed with Pearl. I am expecting nice food but sadly same old same food for b'fast, lunch and dinner. Tuna fish for 3 days..wth. Jeff the owner is very nice person and friendly. In my opinion scubajeff guest house not suitable for family especially those with babies.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderfool89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

There was a bit of miscommunication prior to our trip as the staff told us she failed to retrieve the bank slip even though she confirmed in the email upon receiving it. However, it was all okay when we arrived cos she never asked for it when we arrived at the Semporna's office. The driver failed to turn up and we have to call him twice in order to get into the tour mini bus with the rest.
We love the view at Scubajeff! It was superb. We're very lucky that there wasn't many guests when we were there. Basically, we kind of do everything we wanted to! The Dive Master, Tahir is an amazing guy. He's cool, friendly and he even entertained us by playing the guitar! Not forgetting the two snorkeling guides, we showed us turtles and beautiful fishes ! We saw beautiful sunset and double rainbow in front Scubajeff, sunrise at water bungalow.. Overall, we are quite satisfied with the trip. However, we feel that Scubajeff should improve on it's management.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chl0e_Cheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Jeff the owner was around. However, due to public holidays that led to long weekend, the place is overcrowded. From the moment we arrived in Semporna, the office where we were made to wait for the boat is without water, having us to go to the nearby restaurant for nature's call. Later, there was something really wrong with our boat's engine, having to stop numerous times just to fix it and stop again until at last we arrived behind scheduled time. We had to wait for our room, which didn't come by even after 3 hours of waiting. Lucky the view from the sundeck is simply breathtaking, and we were in no hurry for any trip that day. We were given a room at last, but not at Scuba Jeff but about 10 mins walk in the village. Every meal time we have to go to Scuba Jeff and then walk back to our place. It is believed that the management failed to do total headcounts versus nu of available room, which is quite disappointing given that we booked about 3 months in advance. Food was so-so but we did not care much as the main point we came to Mabul to indulge on its beauty and its rich marine life. Jeff just so much as to reply 'pls check with my staff' if u asked anything about accomodation, snorkeling trips or even boat schedule time. This lack of attention on admin stuff makes lot customers feel frustrated. However, the location of the place is very nice, outstanding view, turtles swim around the place and you can actually relax once u find your own spot at the crowded deck, playing guitar and just lazying around.

Room Tip: Pray that you get a room once you reach the place. Chances are, u have to wait for a while and being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Well maybe the staf taking advantages while their boss is not around...i'd read many reviews said that...the food is amazing...but sadly it's not...we ate the same breakfast meal for 3 days...which was...fried mee (which was tasteless) + fried egg...no varieties in menu for lunch n dinner...

No towel! Everyday for 3 nights we're asking for towel...but the lady didn't even care...fortunately some of us brought our own...

But that's it...despite what had happen...others are fine...the view is beautiful...every morning we saw a turtle swimming around...the sea is crystal clear...snorkeling is amazing...scuba (DSD) is fantastic...

FOR THOSE WHO LOVE THE SEA...IT'S WORTH IT! NO REGRET!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pearl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It breaks my heart to give this review.

Pre-Stay
Pros: Booking was a pleasant experience. Payment also. Jeff has a very simple office in Semporna. We had to wait a couple of hours before our boat to the lodge, the place gave us a basic place for waiting.
Cons: The office toilet is not working. Had to go to a restaurant. The air conditioned office allows people to smoke cigarettes.

Boat ride
Pro: Basic jetty. Scenery view of life over at Semporna. Beautifu, sturdy boat
Cons: 20 minutes was wasted for fueling. Engine problem. Approximately 20 stops to attend to engine. Each stops took a few minutes.

Checking In
Pros:Very nice view. The deck seemed crowded, but not really an issue. Friendly staff and guests.
Cons: We were told that the place was fully booked. They had to re-arrange the guests' rooms. (What the ..?) We were there around 3.00pm. At almost 5.00pm we were asked to move to a nearby homestay (Summer Friends - will put a review on this one). Did I mentioned that there were 12 of us (me & wife, a group of 6 guys, another group of 4 ladies) with the same fate?

The Place
Pros: Very gorgeous scene,
Cons: Dirty tables and flooring. There were at least 30 people on the deck at that time, and the place was cramped. There were wet people, dry people, smoking people. There were only 2 usable toilets. The other 2 ... eww ....... All this were to be shared by more than 40 people then. You can see in their faces that the

Snorkeling trip:
Pros: Nice location. Very clear water. Beautiful corals. Fishes. Can easily spot turtles. Friendly guide.
Cons: Disorganized. Me and the 6 guys had to go for second trip since their short of boat, guide and snorkeling equipment.

We were glad transferred to the other place. Though less scenic, but much cleaner. Better food.

Owner need to really manage this place instead just passing things to the staff. Spend more time on organizing bookings, maintenance, cleanliness, etc. instead of concentrating too heavy on the diving activities and the divers. Snorkelers are also paying customers. I hope Jeff reads this coz we love the place and the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kamarol1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
155 reviews
16.1 mi away
Sipadan Mangrove Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
0.3 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#10 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
80 reviews
14.3 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Jeff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Jeff Guest House

Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Mabul
Price Range: £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, budget accommodation on Mabul island in stilted longhouse right over the sea. Look out of your room to the infinite sea views or across to the local fishing village bustling with local life. Room rate includes all meals, tea, coffee, water. Friendly staff will treat you like family and make you feel at home. Snorkel right off our jetty or join our dive trips to the famous sites of Mabul and Sipadan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scuba Jeff Guest House Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing