We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unprofessional”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scuba Jeff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Pulau Mabul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I had booked Scuba Jeff's for three nights via email, and I received very short email responses from Jeff himself. I was told that once we arrived in Semporna, we were to give Jeff a call for a transfer to the island. I called the two numbers he had emailed me most recently but nobody answered. So I tried the number he had given me a few days earlier and finally got Jeff on the phone. He sent someone over to pick us up right away.

The boat trip went by quickly, and as we pulled up to the house the staff helped to carry in our bags. But that's all they did. We were sort of shown to a room, but we were never told where the bathrooms were, what time meals would be at, or how to get anywhere on the island. I'm not a very needy traveler, but a little introduction to the place is always appreciated. Instead the staff sat around and smoked at the table in the middle of the building. Most of them seemed to be 16 or younger. We asked where Jeff was and didn't get much of an answer as nobody there spoke English very well (we guessed).

My partner and I decided to set out to see the island, but first we had to make our way across a very rickety elevated wood plankwalk. Once on land, we were following two Scuba Jeff staff members who started passing paper ringgits out to kids like they were big hot shots. We veered off in another direction. After scoping out a few other places on the island, we decided that we didn't want to move to another place because we didn't really want to stay on the island at all.

Back at the house, we asked again where Jeff was and finally understood that Jeff was back in Semporna. At that point, I was slightly upset that he hadn't mentioned in his emails that he wouldn't be around. We arranged to leave the next day. When asked what time we wanted to go, we said 11am. We were told it was no problem.

That night we were served dinner. Nothing special but not bad. Because we felt totally unwelcome and in the way of the staff, we didn't feel comfortable hanging out in the common areas after dinner.

The rooms themselves are fine. Just wooden walls and a window that opens out to a view of the water village the house is in. The beds were thin mattresses but semi-comfortable. And there was a fan in the room that helped to keep the bugs away.

If you're lucky, you'll be serenaded by the young girl with a beautiful voice. Although she mostly only practiced Miley Cyrus's song "The Climb", it was much better than listening to one of the guys screech out some local songs while playing guitar. It was almost unbearable at one point, and I can tune out a lot of noise.

The next morning we were served breakfast, and soon after a boat arrived with Scuba Jeff on board. He sort of introduced himself but seemed more interested in the single girl who was also staying at the place. I overheard him telling her they were going to have a big party that night. Good thing we decided to leave. We were not interested in that type of thing, but he never bothered to ask us if we'd mind.

Turns out 11am wasn't going to work out as a departure time, but Jeff offered to take us out on a snorkeling trip for free while we waited for the tide to come back in. I figured at this point that he knew we were upset so it was nice of him to offer a freebie. The first site we went to was just on the other side of the reef nearby the house, and it was beautiful. Two divers had come out on the boat from Semporna so we stayed in the water the whole time they were down. Afterwards, we were taken back to the house where we had lunch. Jeff told us that we wouldn't be leaving until 3pm or so and that we could do another snorkel at a "very beautiful site" if we wanted to go along with the divers. The boat dropped us off near one of the resorts just down the shore from Scuba Jeff's. Visibility was horrible and there was a lot of garbage floating in the water. We decided to get out almost right away.



We were finally able to head back to Semporna, and we were taking the fast boat. Unfortunately the driver loved to wave at his friends that would pass by on other boats and would jerk the steering wheel sending us straight at the other boats. It was nerve-racking to say the least.

Before we left Mabul, Jeff mentioned that he was fixing up the place and adding nicer rooms. He suggested we come back in a year or so. We didn't want to leave because the rooms were simple. It was the staffing we had issues with. If you want to work in the hospitality business, you might want to teach your staff to be hospitable. With a smile for good measure. I think Scuba Jeff's could be a really great place to hang out in the future once he gets a few things figured out.

This next issue is nothing that I would consider in an evaluation of Scuba Jeff's, but visitors should be warned. There is a lot of trash lying around the island and floating in the water. Once while snorkeling I said, "Is that a jellyfish? No, it's just a plastic bag." It would be really nice if more of an effort was made to keep the island and waters surrounding it clean. I know this is a change that needs to be made from the top down, but I just think it is worth putting out there as a suggestion.

I do have to say that the best part of this experience was the view from our room. We were able to watch the local folks fish and swim in the water. And the buildings of the water village were silhouetted by the setting sun later in the evening. It was an incredible view!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2010

From the time of my arrival to my last night there Scuba Jeff and his staff made us feel like part of their family. From after-dinner (delicious BBQ tuna) guitar and singing to morning snorkeling right off the dock in "Jeff's Garden". The owner (Jeff) really takes pride in his place and as someone who actually lives there has put in a lot of little thoughtful modifications to keep the place cool and comfortable during the hot days that most other homestays just don't bother to do. If you need an alternative place to stay other that your dive shop (some looked quite shabby from the boat ride in) I would recommend Jeff's.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scratch_the_itch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We booked a night at Scuba Jeff's for a night at RM 70 per person including meals plus RM 150 to get there. First off, the staff couldn't be bothered to say hello or make eye contact from their card game. The staff of about 6 were all smoking cigarettes, sleeping, or playing cards the whole time.

Toilets: 1 of 2 had a seat, no toilet paper.
Showers: bucket
Beds: real basic no top sheet, mattress sheet was stained.
Food: Horrible!!!
Staff: no english, no maps, no tourist information available


The island itself was tiny and half of it was owned by high end resorts, the other half looked like a shanty town with the housing on stilts. Looked like no plumbing under the guesthouses or homes, so the wastewater just went into the ocean. The small area that was a "beach" was littered with trash and broken beer bottles.

We didnt even bother to stay the night. we left after a few hours.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mjarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

this is a suitable place for traveler with kids, their crew is so helpful. u can see star fish in front the house. so many activity to do here. dinner n lunch is absolutely fresh. the owner is so great. he likes to play guitar and sing to you. the staff is incredible great. they even guide me and my son to snorkel

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Scuba Jeff (also recognisable as the laughing buddha) will arrange everything for you. He is building a new guesthouse right on the jetty, with a wonderful staff. We were lucky to run in to them, for we actually had reservations for another guesthouse. We saw Jeff's sign 'Free WIFI' from the boat, and were curious enough to take a look.

Instead of free wifi (though we could use his computer) we found a wonderful place to stay. The staff is really kind, honest and -most of all- fun to be with. Same goes for Jeff. He likes to party, to tell stories and to call people for you. He is a very warm and generous person, who loves his island. He is also on a mission to clean up the island and to make people more aware of their environment. E.g: during our stay Jeff bought a shark -still alive- that a fisherman offered him, just to release it into the wild.

Ok, the rooms and bathroom are quite basic, like any other guesthouse you will find on the island. So if you want more luxery, book one of the resorts on Mabul. But if you do go to Jeffs Place, don't forget to snorkel his seagarden, just before you see the sunset from your room!

Remco & Ilona

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bas035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: bagno privato
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FedeLilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Malheureusement je n'ai pas de bons conseils pour choisir une chambre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zoé M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
14.3 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
16.2 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
276 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#9 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
0.2 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Jeff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Jeff Guest House

Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Mabul
Price Range: £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, budget accommodation on Mabul island in stilted longhouse right over the sea. Look out of your room to the infinite sea views or across to the local fishing village bustling with local life. Room rate includes all meals, tea, coffee, water. Friendly staff will treat you like family and make you feel at home. Snorkel right off our jetty or join our dive trips to the famous sites of Mabul and Sipadan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scuba Jeff Guest House Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing