We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort!!! Loved it. The best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mabul Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mabul Beach Resort
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great resort!!! Loved it. The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is the place to be if you're coming to Mabul. I stayed in an air con double room and was it ever spacious, clean and comfy! The bed is a king size and comfy. It was a perfect place for my budget. The snorkel tours are great as they have a guide with you to help you find all the amazing and unique marine creatures Mabul has to offer. The staff are outstanding. Meals included were pretty good considering they have to accommodate for people from all over the world. It was such a great atmosphere. I didn't want to leave :( Mabul is amazing. Loved it! Scuba Junkie's Mabul beach resort was the best option on the island. I am sooo happy I chose the best accomodation! Also, what I really liked is that they are about marine and coral conservation and supporting environmental groups I know do amazing important work. Scuba Junkies are doing their part in helping conserve/preserve Mabul's important marine and coral ecosystems. Keep up the great work guys!!!!! HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shanz1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    34
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
30
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I went to Mabul Beach Resort (MBR) managed by Scuba Junkies middle of May 2012 in a group of 9. i was impress as when we arrived at Tawau airport, there were 2 guys waiting to transport us to Samporna, and from from Samporna jetty the was already a boat waiting.
The condition of the rooms and toilets were excellent, except the management should change the pillows as they were in bad shape (not a really big issue) otherwise perfect. It was something good where the hotel provided a hammock in front of each room, but it was smelly. There was suppose to have Wifi connection in the rooms, but unfortunately, from the day we arrived until the last last day, there were no Wifi service....

The Hotel holds to their motto of not serving seafood...and i was ok with that. Food serve were good and i loved it. The only problem i faced was on the first day of snorkeling, we came back a little bit late and there was more food left. Anyway, the cafe girl gave us some cookies. Fruits served were excellent!

Guide to snorkeling were friendly and Anne was very helpful.

I think the service as in the 'PR' however, can be improved. The check-out time was at 11 am, but the boat to pick us up from the jetty was scheduled to be at 430 pm. We had to wait at the hot dining area until we decided to request for earlier boat for us. The person in charged was not so friendly as she was upset with few last minute decisions made by our group. However, the manager was helpful and try to sort things out for us.

Room Tip: Get the air-conditioned room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mynz_mansor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Perfect transport arrangement, clean room, average food and experienced guide. Thank you so very much to everyone at Mabul Beach Resort (MBR) for making our recent trip to Mabul one of our most memorable holidays!

Room Tip: Spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isma_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Have just got back from a trip to the Mabul Beach Resort run by Scuba Junkies (NOT to be confused with their Backpackers accommodation in Semporna). From the moment we arrived at the Mabul jetty on the boat from Semporna I was impressed by the high levels of organisation and professionalism displayed by the majority of staff (I only took a dislike to one guide who clearly thought he was a natural comedian and suffered from the arrogance/macho streak that afflicts a small number of usually male dive professionals - very wearisome) - Ceris (hope I have spelled that right?) one of the resort managers was amazing - she never showed anything but patience, kindness and courtesy even though you know she must have answered the same questions thousands of times - and the dive guide we had on our last day (Kev I think?) was the best guide I have ever dived with in almost 20 years of diving. Relaxed, good humoured, patient and totally professional.

The diving around Mabul and the local sites isn't spectacular by any stretch of the imagination, but Sipadan has the 'wow' factor, although the 'wow' wasn't quite as big as one would be led to believe given how much people rave about the place - if its wasn't for the sharks (and you do see them on every dive at Sipadan which is what made it very special for me) I wouldn't rate the dives I did at Sipadan (8 in total) to be any better than dives I have done in the Similan Islands and parts of the Red Sea, where you can also see shoals of Jack, Barracuda and a large number of turtles (these being the other main highlights of Sipadan aside from the sharks). Numbers of reef fish were a lot lower than I expected and some of the large reef fish I would have expected to see were largely absent - as a fellow diver put it, if this is the best diving in the World then our marine ecoystems really are in the most dire straits.

So, some depressingly large areas of dead coral at Sipadan and large swathes of badly damaged coral around Mabul and a huge amount of plastic debris in the sea and on the beaches around Mabul - you name it, we found it (straws, CDs, cigarette lighters, plastic toys and the ever present plastic bottles). Dismayed to also see the Scuba Junkie bar staff giving out straws with every drink [why?] and divers buying plastic bottle after plastic bottle of water, rather than using the free water cooler water to top up an existing bottle. To their credit Scuba Junkies are proactive in terms of their attempts to deal with the 'plastic in the sea' issue and I understand that they have arranged refuse colections from the sea gypsy village next to the resort and they undertake regular beach cleanups. Good on them - the task is massive and never ending, but at least they are doing something to try and help which is more than can be said for some dive resorts in Asia.

Accommodation is lovely - comfy beds, clean rooms - toilet and sink leaked a little and there was the odd cockroach, but I know for a fact that the high end resorts also suffer from the creepy crawlies - but what do you expect in the tropics? They WILL get into even the most tightly sealed room! Food was much better than I had expected and the communal dining area makes for a really friendly evening meal and we made a lot of friends this way.

All in all a lovely and relaxed place to spend a few days - if you don't dive or snorkel you might get bored (there really is very litrtle else to do on the island and you can easily walk round it in 40 minutes), but even had I not been diving I could have happily sat in my hammock for a few days and enjoyed a good book and a few drinks while watching the world go by. The diving wasnt as amazing as I expected, but I would still happily return.

Room Tip: We had an A/C room some way from the bar - glad about this as the bar can get noisy - but there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhilLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012 via mobile

Fan rooms, ACrooms (some with hot showers) incl. 3 meals, Wifi, small beach filled with junk, nice bar. The rooms we had as a couple (one fan, one AC) were nice and clean, actually better than the pictures on the internet site. The food hasn't changed and is still absolutely basic. The atmosphere is nice, especially at the bar in the evening. Wifi is horrible, so get everything done before staying around any Scuba Junkie location. There is not much moving around on the island to do as it is small and accommodates very poor refugee villages and in contrast massive luxury resorts which are virtually even worse on the garbage dumping in the sea. This is one of strongest advantages of SJ since they seem to be the only ones caring for the people and the environment. 
The guys then destroyed the good impression when we climbed into the boat back to Semporna. We asked them to cover the bags as the boat was wet and they drive really fast. They ignored it and at arrival the whole 65liter backpack including some expensive stuff was soaked in salt water and we had a flight on the next morning. Thanks guys, that was really idiotic. 

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawsteen1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We are experienced travelers in South East Asia traveling with kids 3 and 5 years old. We are divers. The diving on Mabul is good but not outstanding, and similar or better diving is easy to find many places in Indonesia for instance. But what is the main pro about diving with Scuba Junkie is the very well drilled organization. Things are running smoothly and if there are problems, it is dealt with efficiently and with a smile. The management and dive guides are very good. It is very good value for money, both the hotel and the diving. We can warmly recommend this place, which you probably choose to go diving at the fabulous dive sites at Sipadan. Just remember to book in advance to get permits for Sipadan!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulf Wike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Spacious rooms with fan & a/c (which is a must since it's so hot!). Food is served canteen style, you have to queue, but there was always enough for everybody. No fish though, since they go by their slogan that 'fish are friends not food'!! Bar area is a nice place to relax. Had a huge spider in our room on our last night, but thanks to the staff that they came to see if it's dangerous or not. Luckily it wasn't! There is a village right next to the resort where you can buy snacks from to keep their economy going! Lots of children asking for money!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fefa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.0 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
14.2 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabul Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabul Beach Resort

Property: Mabul Beach Resort
Address: Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Mabul Beach Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing