We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mabul Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Mabul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mabul Beach Resort
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazingly awesome!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed a total of 6 days 5 nights here. 4 nights in the Fan Room and 1 night in the dorm since that was the only available option. The fan room was big enough, has 2 fans & 1 portable fan & the bathroom was clean. No room cleaning service unless you inform them. Basic but clean & well maintained. Dorm had 5 double-decker beds with 3 ceiling fans, 3 portable fans & 3 bathrooms. Very clean as the cleaners cleans the bathroom & room every day. The guests varies from young aged group to elderly ones..A perfect place for any age group.

Food was nice and its always topped up. For the $$$ that you are paying it is worth it. Breakfast at 7.00, Lunch at 1, Tea at 4, Dinner at 7. No fish dishes as fishes are our friends, says Scuba Junkies. So agree with it!
Has vegetarian option as well. Beers are available at the bar on top of the cafe. Beers from RM 8 -16. Cocktails at 18. Open from 8am till 11.30 pm. Band plays on Friday night.

Boat transfers & land transfers can be arranged during booking. There is a village right beside the Resort which you can walk around in to get souvenir and snacks & stuffs. No shops in the resort as they would like their guests to support the locals.

Diving was truly awesome. We dived in Sipadan, Mabul & Kapalai. The dive masters (I had Rob & Dave) are really friendly, experienced, amazing and willing to assist on everything.. Diving is usually in a group of 4 with 1 dive master.. Top notch equipments. All the equipments will be ready in the boat (before & after) and all you need is to grab your wetsuit, masks & weights and hop in/out the boat. Please book the Sipadan permit early as they are only allocated 7 permits a day.

I will surely recommend Scuba Junkie & Mabul Beach resort to everyone. I truly had an amazing experience there.

Ps: Please book early to avoid any disappointments as they are always fully booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Puvanesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    34
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
30
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My sister and I booked four nights on Mabul Island at Scuba Junkie. Looking at reviews beforehand, we chose to not stay at their affiliated hostel in Semporna but everyone raved about their island accommodation. They were very right.

We did 3 days diving, 10 dives in total including the last four at Sipidan (which you must book in advance and it's well worth it). The staff were extremely professional but fun too, the equipment was high quality and the underwater life was phenomenal.

The accommodation was also great, we opted for a deluxe type room with air con and hot water - the air con (I'd say) is essential, the hot water less so as it was so hot outside. The food was good - above "school canteen" standard but I wouldn't say gourmet. Quantity was more than sufficient.

We had arranged the boat transfer each way before arriving which made the whole trip to Mabul very easy. The bar had a great vibe however we were unfortunately there when they did their 'annual stock take' so the bar was closed for two days - although we were advised there was a bar nearby, we didn't venture.

Generally I would definitely recommend Scuba Junkie's resort on Mabul Beach, make sure you book Sipidan in advance and the boat transfers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheaCaramello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I'm right back from a 4 days stay at MBR. After several experiences of diving and lodging in South East Asia, esp. in Malaysia - I've to say: it's the best place I've been so far. That's not only because of the great dive sites with tons of marvelous creatures, it's also because of the place itself and the friendly, helpful and very passionate staff. I spent my nights in a dorm (because everything was already fully booked) - and although I wasn't very happy about it, I changed my mind, when I saw the room. Evereything was very clean, in excellent conditions and the fact that max. 8 pax share 3 bathrooms, make's it a very comfortable dorm.
The whole area is very well maintained, clean and with lovely details. I love the fact, that everything (!) is perfect organized (probably because I'm a German), but I've never experienced it in the region before - it makes things so much easier and save you a lot of time and sometimes trouble too (and this is true also for non-Germans ;)). During all dives you are in the company of well experienced dive masters/instructors - they really care about you and your safety. (Like it should be!) But best of all: staying with Scuba Junkies and have fun is at the same time doing something good! You support passive and if you like (and you should like!) active good causes too. The people of Scuba Junkies care a lot about environmental issues as well as issues of the community they live in. Or to say it in other words: they are not there to make maximum profit in a short time. They are there to make the place a better place today, tomorrow, and in the long-term. Semporna Shark Project, S.E.A.S. (Shark Education Awareness Survival), Turtle Hatchery, lots of educational programs with focus of the local sea gipsy community and many more are some samples for their great engagement. To serve no seafood is just as consequent and doesn't make the food less good. All in all I'm happy to had the chance to stay there and recommend Scuba Junkies to everybody who wants to have a great time for an affordable price. The best benefit you can get there (without any extra charge): it's very likely, that you'll leave and you're not only a better diver, but a better human too.
I love the

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BineFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We (wife and I) stayed here in a deluxe room for 6 days/5 nights. The perfect setting for diving. It's not luxurious perse, but if you are a diver this strikes the right balance between price, comfort and facilities. The food is not great, but it's not bad. You won't go to bed hungry. The deluxe rooms with aircon was great. Good beds, really nice bathroom and shower with hot water. The crew are very friendly, although sometimes you'd think you are in the Carribien as everything seems poorly planned. It's probably not, because it always worked out well. Wireless internet connection is very poor - use it only for sending/receiving mails without pictures - don't expect to surf the net without becomming frustrated. I took my Advanced OpenWater here (with Carl), which was a good idea. Very capable and friendly and calm (calm is good when diving :)).

As a bonus, staying here means you will get 4 dives at Sipadan instead of the normal 3 dives with the other dive outfits. This makes it worth staying here irregardless of anything else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barelyadraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Back then the rate was a lil cheaper but still, in my opinion, one of the most reasonable resorts on the island. Excellent food. I loved the menu. They have this 'fish are friends not food' policy which is totally fine by me. The room was comfy enough. Spacious bed, very clean. And the staff are super friendly. They even joined us for cho tai ti session. And just let them know if you're having any problems and they'll come right away to fix it. There will be an acoustic performance at the bar every wednesday if im not mistaken. I stayed there for 4 nights, taking my AOWD certification and diving in Sipadan. It was so much fun. My instructor, Ella and Arthur, our DM did a good job teaching and taking care of us. Those who are interested in diving around Sipadan, I strongly recommend Scuba Junkie as you'll get to dive there 4 times a day. Mind you, please book in advance. So yea comfy room, delicious food, I am definitely gonna come back to Mabul and stay with MBR.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Syazzy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed seven nights at Scuba Junkie’s Mabul Beach Resort in May 2012. Great all round experience—from the reservation process, transportation to Mabul, enthusiastic resort/dive staff, comfortable rooms (we stayed in the VIP and aircon rooms), to the efficient dive shop.

We stayed the night in KK and took the morning flight to Tawau, and arranged a private transfer from the airport to the island. Was very convenient. Costs more than the daily scheduled boat transport to Mabul, but well worth it if you don’t want to spend the night in Semporna.

Small dive groups (2-4 divers per DM), rental equipment in very good order, comfortable boats. Really enjoyed diving with the dive masters -- thanks Sophia, Aziz, Cindy! Sipadan was amazing and also enjoyed Si Amil (beautiful island).

MBR-SJ seems to attract divers of all ages from all over the world (we are in our 40s from California). We appreciated socializing with others post-dive in the bar and beach areas.

Also very much appreciated the environmental focus, both above and below the surface. Pleased to see the no-fish on the menu policy.

For the price and dive operation, you can’t beat MBR-SJ. Highly recommend.

Side note: We also stayed four nights at another high-end resort located on the sand bank, but we preferred the dive operation and atmosphere of MBR-SJ.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelermarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I love the room! It's much better than I thought it would be.
Although it's non-seafood meal, they are great.

The resort surroundings are very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHLIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.0 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
261 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
14.2 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabul Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabul Beach Resort

Property: Mabul Beach Resort
Address: Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Mabul Beach Hotel Pulau Mabul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing