We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$555
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$31
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seafest Hotel(Semporna)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
T Hotel(Tawau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
26
23
8
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
23
8
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmabul islandlobsterstayed one nightbudget hotelscuba divingfan roomlunch and dinnerelectricityagodapackagelifesipadan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Wonderful staff and best care, easy rooms over the sea, and "a la carte" diving. We were able to see so many differrent sea animlas....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I´ve been travelling around Southeast Asia since August 2010. Along the way I´ve always asked other people for recommendations on where to sleep and on what to do.
Recently I started looking for a cheap but clean place where I could relax and dive for a while. I just needed to rest after all my travelling.
I chose Mabul, as Mabul and Sipadan are amongst the best dive spots in the world-recommended by many people along the road. And through recommendation of other travellers I also found out about Arung Hayat.

Arung Hayat is a small and comfortable place. It offers atmosphere familiar, which makes it easy to feel at home. Everyone who works there, the local people as well as the dive staff, help you with everything you need or want. They also serve excellent food which is included in the price of the room.

I spent most of my time with the dive staff. Why? Because the quality of the dive spots was amazing, after one day I decided that I wanted to dive more and more, each dive was 60 mins, the group was only two persons and the rental equipment was new. On some days they let me chose where and when I wanted to dive. I´ll never forget the night dive. It was awesome. I could go on and on, but I think these are the most important things to say about Sipadan Adventures dive shop. I was really happy diving with them, it maybe was my best diving ever.

In the end I didn´t have any time to relax :))

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENZO1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

What can I say... I stayed one week diving with Arung Hayat and I must say that was the best diving experience I ever have had. The staff was very professional, new diving gear and nice place to stay. And last but not least -the staff was very friendly and I had so much fun that I decided stay 4 days longer than I planned. I can highly recommend you to dive with Arung Hayat! The prices are also reasonable and your money wont be wasted.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aloraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Where to begin on such an incredible time I had diving and staying at Arung Hayat!? First, the manager and instructor Rubi is the best in the business. Past customers fly from all over the world just to dive and have him as a guide- and for good reason. I learned to dive with him and was so taken with his manner of teaching, I stayed double the time I had originally planned in order to get my advanced certification.

The dive masters and staff are just wonderful, speak great English, and the food is the best on Mabul (having tried multiple other places food) they can easily accommodate vegetarians and carnivores alike! The feel of the place is warm and welcoming, you will meet many other travelers and swap diving stories and enthusiasm about the mindblowind dives you just took that day.

The diving in Mabul is simply stunning and out of this world! Of course it helps having such fantastic guides in Rubi, Coco and Fran. You'll see so many giant turtles, lion fish, frog fish, crocodile fish, ornate ghost pipes, morays, and nudibranches- that you may become so accustomed to them -that you swim right by in search of the more obscure stuff (which you're sure to find on every dive). Seriously amazing, so be warned: Every other dive site will pale in comparison after leaving Mabul.

Room Tip: The word is out on this gem, so book ahead.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carmelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Dive shop: Equipments are new and well kept. Nice group of instructors, speak fluent English and multiple European languages. Friendly, accommodating and professional at the same time. Reasonably priced.

Accommodation: Lovely local Malay-style long house, stretching into the sea. If you are looking for something authentic and unpretentious, this is a good place to go. Family run and all meals are included and served in an open-air dining room - a great way to meet people and exchange some diving tips/stories.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WBL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews