We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Firstly, I would like to highlight that Arung Hayat didn't follow basic safety measurements whilst transporting their tourist to Mabul.
1. None of our identities were taken down. No information on our passport number, names. Nothing whatsoever. If our boats were to capsize or if one of the tourist were to get lost in the sea.. no one would know who they are because none of us were registered.
2. Half of the tourist on the speed boat had life jackets. Food and gasoline were brought on the boat. and the boat man was clearly smoking while manning the engines that were near the gasoline.
3. The disembarkation of tourist were from the 'teachers' jetty - which is supposed to be for teachers. AND YET, they charged their tourist the 'tourist jetty' fee which was RM2 for local tourist and RM 10 for international tourist. To a few of us, it might just be a small amount. But, allowing this to happen to 1000 tourist - Arung Hayat will be able to collect a fee intended for the utlilization of a proper tourist jetty. This is daylight robbery!!!

Your company should be probed immediately before someone looses his/her life to your poor management and governance!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Clarine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
“Thank you for your honest feedback! I’m very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience and will be sure to review your comments with my staff in an effort to improve the experiences for our future customers.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    21
    8
    5
    15
See reviews for
4
18
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was here couple of years back actually so I don't know whether this review is applicable or not.
Anyway, we only stayed for 1 night but that 1 night had been interesting.

Basic accommodation. Well at least the toilet sewage system were properly aligned.
Food was so-so..also basic. First time in my life I saw a really huge tuna with my 2 big eyes!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

You get what you paid for.

I had read many negative reviews on this resort but nonetheless we decided to give it a try. Food was enough, room were clean (not rat or bugs), snorkeling equipment was provided as well as 3 dives a day. As often with the negative reviews, be aware that it depends a lot of user "easy going" attitude and personality. But I stayed there 2 nights with my 67 old mum (used to higher standard) and we both really loved it (even though she was not even into snorkeling, am a biologist so for me it was just 3 dreamed days!).

The only thing I would improve is to make some environmental-conservation awareness speech. They should give a short talk to all resort occupants before to dive to sensitive them about "Do and Don't do" in the sites. I saw some tourists breaking coral reef to bring it home (if they would realize how long it take to build that it could help) or some other (even the staff!!) finding it cool to ride on a turtle!! That was really sad!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I had a very nice time in Arung Hayat.
The staff there do the best for guests, there is a very friendly atmosphere.
The rooms are basic but in good condition.
The food was great. A very good solution for scuba e snorkeling lovers.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Arung Hayat because the scuba junkie resort was fully booked (and quite more expensive as well). The staff were nice, the food (all inclusive, just like all places on Mabul) was pretty good and the room in a longhouse on stilts above the sea seemed fairly clean and was spacious enough. However, after dark the cockroaches seemed to like our room as well, as plenty of them were running across the wallsand our luggage. A can of insecticide supplied by a staff member brought relief for the night, although the next evening they were back again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slknijnenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Firstly I booked a long way out because I knew it took time to get Sipidan permits. Sipidan was to ONLY reason I was going.
Management repeatedly told me they were working on it and I never got any feedback because they knew I would have cancelled the booking. This is not on.
There were plenty of permits available right up to the week. I talked to multiple people who got them a week before.
Looking at the range of prices for transfers/accommodation from a range of providers it is very evident that they are well over priced. The room was well below standard. Nothing worked, including the basics like a wall socket and the toilet. The toilet smelt bad all the time too.

The meals provided were standard but good and I enjoyed them.
The diving was good and the dive master and boat crew were good.

Generally I as treated very well by staff,,,,, until I stopped diving. Once I finished diving due to the 48hr stand down period before flying I was totally ignored. This again was rubbish considering was only 2 of us there.
There was absolutely nothing to do once I finished diving. There wasn't even a seat/lounger to sit/lay out in the sun.
Finally the quotes/prices I got earlier from them does not match what I paid. To be honest I paid for something that I did not really receive.
All in all I was pretty disappointed with their service. Their other reviews provided here are clearly provided by there own company/friends because I saw none of what was listed.

Room Tip: Don't stay there. Plenty of other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scott19832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arung h, Director of Sales at Arung Hayat Sea Adventures, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
“Thank you for your honest feedback! I’m very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience and will be sure to review your comments with my staff in an effort to improve the experiences for our future customers.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I have to say, Arung Hayat is awesome!
I stayed 6 days there taking OW &AOW course, and travel alone. The instructor/DM are experienced, the staffs are very friendly, always gave me big warm smiles and chat with me, make delicious seafood for us, playing guitar, singing, swiming, diving together... which make me feel like I am part of the family. Thanks them, I had much fun and spent a great time there :) Miss them sooo much!!
About Arung Hayat, the rooms are clean and comfortable, they offered me a single room with same price. no aircondition but a fan plus the winds from the sea is pretty good. Awesome sunset view outside the room, and can see turtles swim underneath when rising tide.
So much memorable time at Arung Hayat, I'm sure I will back there someday. Highly recommand to stay and dive there :D

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenxiu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Mabul
16.2 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
16.2 mi away
Alice Semporna Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arung Hayat Sea Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arung Hayat Sea Adventures

Property: Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Address: 245 Jalan Pinggir Bakau, Pulau Mabul 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pulau Mabul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a locals with Arung Hayat Homestay!! Located just above the sea water, our guesthouse provide clean, nice and comfortable place for you to stay. The beautiful scenery of pulau mabul with its clear blue sea water will surely amaze you. Since its early years as a guesthouse, Arung Hayat has undergone major renovations and improvement. It begins with a single house with 5 rooms but as our guest increased we extended into 10 rooms but over the years our guest keep knocking at our door hence we decided to built more rooms so today we have total 31 rooms already. (Meals are served 3 times a day with unlimited hot drinks). The long houses are built on stilts overlooking the turquoise waters of the Celebes Sea with a splendid sun set view. All rooms have an en-suite bathroom with 3 types selections either fan, Air-conditioned and VIP room. Electricity runs from 6pm to 6am, like in most places on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arung Hayat Sea Adventures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing