We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grove Arms
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
US$128
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Langton Arms(Tarrant Monkton)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pembroke Arms Hotel(Wilton)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
132
53
20
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
53
20
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubdog friendly pubeton messgrove armsspecials boardfriendly localspriced foodgenerous portionssunday roastlamb shankdietary requirementsa large car parkpiping hota great nights sleeplovely foodtwo nightssmoked salmon
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The inside of the restaurant/pub area is lovely and has been refitted to a very high standard.
We ordered off of the early bird menu 2 meals for £15 (between 6pm and 7pm). 2 of us had the lasagna which was delicious but portion size wasn't great, one had the gammon which was a very large portion and other had the burger which was lovely a good size portion.
We ordered a portion of chips to go with our lasagnas and when the meal came they had forgotten them so we had to wait 10 minutes for them to cook some.. we had almost finished our meals by then.
Also when we came to pay for the bill they had over charged us on the drinks.. but did refund us when we mentioned it.
The service wasn't the most amazing.. waitress wasn't particularly friendly but the setting and quality of food was good so we would probably return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear Katy,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you liked the pub and would come again despite the disappointment on your last trip. We think confusion may have occurred as we offer two sizes of portion on the lasagne on our menu....obviously you would have preferred the regular size rather than the smaller appetite which it appears you were given. We have made sure all our staff are aware that this must be checked when the 2 for £15 order is placed so that this does not happen again in future. Please accept our apologies for the delay in getting the chips to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for a family occasion in the adjacent village. The rooms, food and welcome from the polite and efficient staff was much appreciated. Excellent value for money. Thank you. We'll definitely visit in the future. The location is also ideal on the main road

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your comments we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you again on you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here on a Saturday evening. Lovely environment and friendly atmosphere but disappointing meal, duck advertised as served pink was so overcooked it was hard to chew. My partners meal was ok but it was a shame that mine didn't match up.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 249step
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Please accept our apologies if your duck was overcooked - had this been mentioned on the night, when the waitress checked the table, we would have cooked another for you with pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

was staying in a b and b in Chicklade and was looking for a nice pub to eat in on Friday night and was heading on the road into Salisbury and saw this pub thought it looked lovely and picturesque so decided to go in. Me being the picky eater found their was lots of choice and my fiancé had no trouble finding something he liked. The specials menu had lots of choice. I had local sourced lamb burger which was lovely and tender and cooked just right, my fiancé had a pulled pork tortilla wrap which he said was excellent, we had big portions for a reasonable price that you didn't mind paying because of the portion size and quality of food. The service was excellent and you didn't feel rushed out the door. The deserts were lovely we had crème brulee and cheese cake. Well worth going to this pub would definitely go their again if we were on holiday in that area. Well recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potter4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on trip Adviser. we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to seeing you when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Driving to Bath, discovered The Grove Arms. Lovely garden, super pub, great staff and most excellent food - tapas on a warm Sunday was just perfect. The menu seemed to have lots of choice but a light bite was all we could manage. Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneB946, Manager at The Grove Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments about our food, staff and the beer garden. It is a great shame that the beautiful enclosed courtyard garden is not visible from roadside as not many people realise we have this sunny asset. Hopefully your comment will let others know about it and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews