We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely property beautifully and sympathetically...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Nethergate, viewed from Harbour Road.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Nethergate, viewed from Harbour Road.
Kinghorn Harbour Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
The Nethergate, viewed from Harbour Road.
Kinghorn Harbour Beach
Master bedroom
Living room
Seperate dining room.
Downstairs family bathroom
Twin bedroom.
Panorama of beach
View of Kinghorn, beach and harbour.
On the Fife Coastal Path heading towards Kirkcaldy, #FCCT
Bedroom two set up with travel cot.
We have a few quirky windows.
Lots of toys for younger visitors.
View from the Overgate.
Christmas at the Nethergate.
Gorgeous wee beach.
Woodland theme :)
Living room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kinghorn, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
heather n
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A lovely property beautifully and sympathetically restored in keeping with the area”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Loved this property. We spent a week at Nethergate. We found it ideal for 4 adults, the 2 bathrooms , one with shower, other with a bath .
The property was very spacious, a lovely kitchen, dining room and lounge where we could all relax. Excellent location, so much to visit and see in the area, adequate parking for 2 cars was a bonus.
We hope to come back soon!
Thank you

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: I can't think of any thing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, and really glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haribo_99...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay in a great location”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Nethergate. It was a lovely place to stay within a good proximity to lots places of interest for all. It was 1 minute walk to the Kinghorn beach, which is part of the coastal walk; walking towards Kirkcaldy we discovered a rock covered in seals which was a lovely site. The train station is also a short walk and here are able to catch a train straight into Edinburgh which was very handy. We are planning our next visit and will be staying at the Nethergate next time. Thanks again Tahra for all your advice and helpful tips.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Hi Sarah, than you very much for your lovely review. Great to hear that you enjoyed the Nethergate and Fife so much that you are coming back :) Next time you need to walk the Coastal Path the other direction and see the Burntisland / Aberdour seals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Nethergate with our pugs. The cottage was wonderfully quirky and very clean and comfortable and very well equipped. We found Kinghorn to be a lovely town, the locals were very friendly and helpful and the beach walks were wonderful. We enjoyed it so much we have booked to go back in August!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review, and we're delighted and excited to have you back later this year. All the best from Tahra, John & Mina :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burd1289
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful quirky house ideally located”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Nethergate for 8 nights in Feb, 2 adults and 1 child (2 dogs for 1 night) prior to immigrating to California. The house is deceptively large, it is decorated to an exceptionally high standard in a modern yet homely style.
Very well equipped for children, with games and toys in most rooms. Books and DVS's also available.
The kitchen was fantastic - it had everything we needed for our week with a thoughtful welcome pack with a family size dining table.
The downstairs bathroom was a real plus with children, and having a lovely deep bathtub was a real bonus.
The location is great, driving past the view of the Firth of Forth to get to the house was a real privilege. The beach was ideal for taking dogs out in the morning and I am sure is lovely in the warmer weather. Private parking was also a bonus with an electric hook up.
We would recommend staying at The Nethergate Tahra is warm and friendly and made us feel very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How deceptivley large and well furnished and decorated the house is
Liked least: nothing negative to comment on
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind review Linsey, it was great having you all to stay at Kinghorn and glad it wasn't too hectic before the next part of your big adventure !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Tain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous for humans and canines”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Beautifully presented, cosy cottage which does the owners proud. Although immaculate, it still felt homely and welcoming and was more than roomy enough for our party of four adults and three biggish dogs. Great area for exploring by car or foot and the beach just down the road was wonderful for early morning walks. Although we didn't have the best weather (wet and windy), the cottage was a lovely base to return to and sample some of Tahra's welcome pack.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
Thank you Sue for your lovely review, glad the erratic weather did not dampen your holiday too much !! Hope we might see you all in sunnier times.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HondaCD18...
Bermuda
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable home away from home.”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed over Christmas & we could not have wished for a better experience. Tahra went to great lengths to make us feel welcome: these included a tasty hamper of food & drink, fairy lights, decorations throughout the house, & even a Christmas tree! The house was warm & cosy, the kitchen was well equipped, & having 2 modern bathrooms was a real plus, as we were 4 adults. Communication with Tahra, both before & during our stay, was always easy & helpful. As we were travelling by train, the location of the house(2 minutes' walk from the station) was perfect, & we were never disturbed by passing trains. We would highly recommend this delightful family home.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Hi,
Thank you very much for your kind review. Im so glad that you enjoyed the cottage as well as the village for your family Christmas in Fife.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazaloo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay, great house and location ”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Great place. We needed somewhere that suited us as well as our dog and this was great, even a dog bed and treats on arrival (as well as some human treats). We chose The Nethergate as we wanted somewhere relaxing as well as being within reach of Edinburgh, both requirements met!
Location is about a minute from the beach and walks along the coast, and not far from Edinburgh (20 mins or so in the car). Local shops are great or if you want a supermarket there's one about a five minute drive away.
House is really well catered, has more amenities than other places I've stayed (hairdryer was appreciated!), and is surprisingly big!
Can't complain about anything, owners seem lovely too, communication great throughout booking and stay. Would happily stay again in the summer :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Hi, thank you for your lovely review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay despite the erratic weather, hopefully we will see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing