We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”
Review of The Spyway Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Askerswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Spyway Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Askerswell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have been here many times and always received a very warm welcome - The food is great and superb value for money. Tim the landlord is always very friendly and the service is excellent. It is always worth a call if travelling far as it is very popular! Very quiet and peaceful part of Dorset not far from the sea.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    28
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We have stayed 4 times now, and loved every visit. Great accomadation, lovely proper pub bar, great beer, excellent food ( breakfast @ evening), good service. Our hosts always make us welcome and on top of that lovely location. We are already looking forward to our next stay in 2014 phil @ doreen

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philwigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, Surrey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Wonderful place to stay. We've been twice now for long weekends and had a great time on both occasions. Landlord Tim and family are perfect hosts. They make every effort to make you feel welcome. The food is truly excellent. Varied menu, good sized portions, recommend the Lamb Shanks if they have any left!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorleyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our second visit to the spyway and as usual it did'nt dissapoint. Food was great and the service was spot on. Tim is the main face you see and he is a real people person. the veiw from the rooms are wonderful and becouse its of the main roads and down the lanes you dont hear any traffic, so if its quiet you want then you get it here. We will be back to stay at the spyway when ever we are in or around the dorset area. thanks tim and all the staff.

Room Tip: room 2 is the room we had on both visits and we will ask for it again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have just spent a wonderful five nights at the Spyway Inn. This was our third visit and it certainly will not be our last. From the moment we arrived we were treated with such warmth and friendliness from Tim, Vivienne and Kevin. Our room was comfortable with a fabulous view and there were so many little extras that makes a difference to comfort.
The food is delicious and helpings very generous. Also an excellent choice of desserts. Breakfast was generous and set us up for the day. People travel for miles to eat here and the restaurant was always full. Even though staying at Spyway, we made sure we booked our table.
Well done to Tim and family, you are unique.

Room Tip: At present there are only three rooms and all face the garden and are so quiet. We slept very well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Recently my husband and I spent a couple of wonderful days in Dorset UK. We were staying at a farm B and B and our host suggested we should dine at the Spyway Inn. She also recommended that we book a table as it was a very popular spot. We took her advice and enjoyed two lovely evening meals at this old pub/inn which dates back to the early 1700s. Our meals were promptly served and I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed them. I can highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussietraveller056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Myself and my wife recently stayed at the Spyway Inn on a 4 night B and B break. This is a very popular traditional pub serving a couple of real ales and good quality food. 3 bedrooms are available to book and we stayed in Gulliver's which is spacious and comfortable overlooking a beautiful garden and with views of the surrounding countryside. We ate in the pub each evening trying different dishes all of which were delicious. We were fortunate with the weather (very hot for early September) and my wife said it was one of the best pub breaks ever!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askerswell
4.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
483 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
163 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
232 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyway Inn

Property: The Spyway Inn
Address: Askerswell, Askerswell DT2 9EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Askerswell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Askerswell
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spyway Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Spyway Hotel Askerswell
The Spyway Inn Askerswell, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing