We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to remember”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponta do Ouro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
O Lar Do Ouro Guest Lodge
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A place to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Lar do Ouro is a beautiful guest house, with an excellent service and comfortable en-suite rooms. The overall place is cozy and is structured around a nice inner garden with a small pool, where all rooms and facilities are located. The restaurant and living room are open to the garden, providing a relaxant and nice environment.

Lar do Ouro is located a little bit far from the center of Ponta, but in a quiter place than most other lodges. Please weight "far" relative to the small size of Ponta: in fact it is no more than 5-7 minutes walking away from the center of Ponta and 10 minutes walking from the beach.

The normal rate includes an excellent breakfast and a very good 3-course dinner, with an excellent presentation and service. Teresa and Janice, the owners, are helpful and efficient, and it is clear that they are almost always present and that they run the place carefully and taking care of all small details.

In short, a very nice place with an excellent quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FernandoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    9
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West London
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We found this haven through both research and also from the recommendation of some friends in South Africa and what a little gem. Teri and Janice have instilled their pride of this small rustic, guest house into their staff and it shows. The staff, whilst always there for you, are not instrusive and in your face, but when you need something it is there at a drop of a hat. The service is topped off with Teris' cuisine. Although self taught some of her dishes were of restaurant quality. Would we go again? Where's the passports?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TW15EXILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Really had an amazing time in Ponta Do Ouro. But this could not have been that good withouth our stay at O Lar Do Ouro. +-10 minutes walk from the beach, so super quiet (good after a day at the beach or after diving). Really, really nice accomodation, and the food was amazing.

No doubt one of the best place to stay in Ponta.

Christian

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christianSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

very nice place. Janice and Terry excellent hosts - they made us feel at home. the food that they prepared was the best - had some meals with them and some at the restaurants but restaurants disgusting........waited long for food and it was terrible...would go anytime - loved it.....

Janica and Terry you the best

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patty044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, SW London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed at this guest lodge based on a recommendation from someone on the Trip Advisor forum and would certainly second the recommendation now that we've stayed there.

The hosts, Terri & Janice, are very helpful and attentive; Janice overheard my niece say that she didn't like mushrooms one morning, remembered it and gave her an alternative starter the following evening when the starter was mushrooms. We went for the dinner, bed and breakfast option and the food was very good.

Terri & Janice have been running the lodge in Ponta Do Ouro for 10 years and were very helpful in answering our questions, booking dolphin tours, booking a driver to take us up to Ponta Mamoli for a day (recommended), telling us of a bar from which we'd get good sea views to watch the migrating whales, recommending walks etc.

Their rooms are simple, but very pleasantly styled and had air-con and fans. The rooms are around a lovely little tropical garden which has a pool. There's also a nice guest lounge which opens out onto the gardens and has board games and plenty of reading material.

Ramone (sp?), the waiter/barman, would be worthy of a top international hotel - attentive but discreet and thorough.

We had a great time in Ponta Do Ouro and a lot of that was due to O Lar Do Ouro Guest Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_FKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed here for a few days. Room clean but a bit basic, tiny pool well looked after. All staff very friendly, food excellent, and they will go out of their way to be helpful e.g. with lifts and tips for where to go. Very easy to dive from here, so long as it is with Simply Scuba - a reasonable outfit in fairness. Our only negative comment would be that we found ourselves at times uncomfortable with the way in which black people were spoken about.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komatipoort
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

We have stayed at O Lar Do Ouro twice, once in 2004 and again in 2008. Both stays were excellant. The personal service and helpfulness of Janice and Theresa are excellant, nothing is too much trouble, whilst giving you space to chill out. The food is excellant and the time and money they have invested in the property over the 4 years of our 2 visits have really paid off. They should be very proud of their achievements. Ponta Do Ouro has lots to offer...beaches, snorkling, diving, dolphin watching, horse riding etc...well worth a few days.

  • Liked — It's simplicity..with style
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreesToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta do Ouro
0.0 mi away
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
#3 of 14 in Ponta do Ouro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devocean Resorts
Devocean Resorts
#2 of 14 in Ponta do Ouro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ntsuty Lodge
Ntsuty Lodge
#11 of 14 in Ponta do Ouro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Gala Gala Eco Resort
#1 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
0.0 mi away
Paraiso do Ouro Resort
Paraiso do Ouro Resort
#1 of 1 in Ponta do Ouro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Lar Do Ouro Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Lar Do Ouro Guest Lodge

Property: O Lar Do Ouro Guest Lodge
Address: Rua C, Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Ponta do Ouro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Ponta do Ouro
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded from the hustle and bustle of the exciting Ponta Do Ouro holiday environment, O Lar Do Ouro offers a relaxing getaway experience for the entire family.Featuring comfortable rooms with a clean aesthetic, home cooked meals (please book!), and friendly staff to attend to your needs, we are eager to welcome many more visitors to your Home Away from Home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing