We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
30
12
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
30
12
8
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed here for a few days. Room clean but a bit basic, tiny pool well looked after. All staff very friendly, food excellent, and they will go out of their way to be helpful e.g. with lifts and tips for where to go. Very easy to dive from here, so long as it is with Simply Scuba - a reasonable outfit in fairness. Our only negative comment would be that we found ourselves at times uncomfortable with the way in which black people were spoken about.

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

We have stayed at O Lar Do Ouro twice, once in 2004 and again in 2008. Both stays were excellant. The personal service and helpfulness of Janice and Theresa are excellant, nothing is too much trouble, whilst giving you space to chill out. The food is excellant and the time and money they have invested in the property over the 4 years of our 2 visits have really paid off. They should be very proud of their achievements. Ponta Do Ouro has lots to offer...beaches, snorkling, diving, dolphin watching, horse riding etc...well worth a few days.

Date of stay: December 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreesToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Having never visited Mozambique before, we weren't sure what to expect, but the one review of O Lar do Ouro on trip advisor encouraged us to book for 8 nights. Everything, except the weather, exceeded our expectations..!

Janice and Terry were excellent hosts and they made us feel more than welcome. They really made our stay so enjoyable and we thank them for that. The room was spacious and clean and the food was fantastic, even for vegetarians. We didn't eat the same meal twice.

The lodge had such a relaxing atmosphere and staff were always helpful and attentive, without being overbearing. Nothing was too much trouble and the service throughout our stay was 5 star.

I can't recommend this place highly enough if you're looking for somewhere to go that's reasonably quiet, but within a short walking distance of more lively bars and the beach itself. Janice is also very helpful when it comes to arranging diving trips etc.

We hope to return one day!!

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sjbiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We have just returned from a trip to Ponta do Ouro in Mozambique. This is the best holiday we have had in many years, even though it was only for 5 days. The owners of the O Lar do Ouro Guest lodge are extremely helpful with everything and nothing was too much to ask for. The service was above excellent and the food was exceptional. The tranquil atmosphere will be hard to beat anywhere in Ponta do Ouro. I have always loved beach holidays but it was so peaceful at the Lodge it was hard for us to tear ourselves away from it. The personal attention received during our stay was above expectation. The reports that you need a 4 x 4 vehicle to go to Ponta do Oura is outdated and a border pick up was arranged for us with no trouble at all. We will definitely be returning there soon.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Omega15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews