We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coco Rico Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponta do Ouro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coco Rico Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our two night stay. . Unfortunately the neighbours in a private house thought playing music out of their cars at 7am would be fun. Luckily we were up already anyway. Air-con, stove, braai outside.. really comfy and all you need. 50m walk to beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassySista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    43
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
10
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Good quality rustic beach holiday, great value for money.
Location is ideal, close to beach, shops, fuel, bank, etc.
Had a great down to earth family holiday.
Fishing, swimming, surfing and the likes are the main attractions.
Locals very friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpion619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom chalet for five days in April during the school holiday. We left our car at Kosi Bay border, and arranged for a transfer to the resort. unfortunately they forgot about us, but we managed to get one of the locals to take us there! Ponta is a beautiful unspoilt little village, and Coco Rico is the perfect place to stay. The unit was roomy and very clean and well furnished. We had a lovely patio/deck with a braai. Bought prawns and fish from a vendor in town and made lovely meals. The staff was helpful. We WILL be back..... And before I forget, don't forget to visit Fernando's next to the bakery for the most amazing Rum and Rasberry (R&R)

Room Tip: Unit 6 is a little away from the pool and restaurant so it is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Probably the best place to stay in Ponta. Bedrooms (3) are nice and large bathrooms (3). Clean! Safe! All what we needed for graet holiday. All rooms are airconditioned and serviced daily. The kitchen had everything we needed!

Room Tip: villa nr 4 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca_z1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umtentweni
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I love the resort and the accommodation is great. We stayed in a 3 bedroom/3 bathroom bungalow and it had everything we needed - 2 big bathrooms en suite unstairs and another bathroom downstairs with a room that sleeps 4. Fully airconditioned and mozzie nets. The kitschen had everything we needed as well as a "cleaning fairy" that arrived every morning to wash dishes, make beds and tidy. Even a chap who came around and cleaned the braais every morning.
The biggest downside for me was that there was no sea view from the rooms. I like to sit on the deck and look at the sea. To get to the beach, one has to walk out the main gates of the resort and down a little alley to the beach.
There is a swimming pool, jungle gym, trampoline, games room and gym on the property as well as a restaurant and bar.
I think this is a great place to go with 2 families. We did and we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front ones where you will get a bit of a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We have been to Coco Rico twice now and can't wait to go back! All the cabins are 3 bed/ 3 bath so you do need to go in a group but for the price you pay it is really great to have such modern comforts in an otherwise very rustic location. All rooms are airconditioned and serviced daily and are very comfortably furnished with the exception of the tv - one tiny old style unit per cabin! I would recommend this location for adults only though - two families' kids during our last stay had serious accidents and with the very limited medical care in the area both had to end their holidays abruptly. Also the gym advertised is non existent. Still my favorite location by far!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I just returned from another trip to Ponta do Ouro and Coco Rico is by far the best accommodation in Ponta. We all loved the modern touches, such as aircon in every room, well stocked kitchen and lounge, modern bathrooms, 3 per unit, South African plugs in all rooms and even DSTV. The service was fantastic from all staff members. The pool was by far one of our favourite places to chill out, and have drinks in the evening. The restaurant also has a great vibe in the resort, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: -If are looking for a partying get away then get a cabin close to the pool area. -If you are lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta do Ouro
0.1 mi away
Devocean Resorts
Devocean Resorts
#2 of 14 in Ponta do Ouro
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
#3 of 14 in Ponta do Ouro
107 reviews
9.2 mi away
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Gala Gala Eco Resort
#1 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ntsuty Lodge
Ntsuty Lodge
#11 of 14 in Ponta do Ouro
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
#2 of 3 in Ponta Malongane
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Rico Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Rico Resort

Property: Coco Rico Resort
Address: Ponta Beach Drive, Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Ponta do Ouro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Ponta do Ouro
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing