We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$2,437
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Currarevagh House(Oughterard)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Peacockes Hotel(Maam Cross)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
69
28
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
28
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsashford castleeddies barpint of guinnessrooms are modernroaring firebase for exploringincluded breakfastnice sizeloved this hotelfull irish breakfastfantastic hotelstayed here for one nightfunction roomspent two nightsbalcony overlooking the villagethree nightscomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My partner and I have just returned from Southern Ireland and a 3 night stay at the Fairhill Hotel, Clonbur. The hotel in our opinion is an excellent hotel, decorated and furnished to a high standard and serves very good food. The location of the hotel is also very good for touring the Connemara region. The staff are helpful and friendly and the bedrooms are very comfortable.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here, indeed we are lucky to have such a central location for touring connemara & the west of Ireland. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

You get a warm Irish welcome when you stay here. Comfortable rooms and late breakfasts. It's in a beautiful part oftheworld. Lovely bar food served with an option of locally caught fish. Lovely open fires add the ambiance. What a great way of spending an evening good food, a pint of Guinness and an open fire!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here. We are indeed very lucky to live in such a scenic part of the world with lakes, woods & mountains on doorstep, excellent local produce, fresh fish and open fire's to give that homely feeling. Looking forward to seeing you in Clonbur, where a Cead Mille Failte is always waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I visited Ireland in mid-September 2012 and stayed at a guest house near Clonbur. When asked for a nearby restaurant recommendation she immediately responded "why Eddie's of course." We took her recommendation and WERE WE GLAD WE DID. The Eddie's restaurant and pub were attached to a small hotel. After perusing their pretty extensive menu -- meaning there are options for anyone -- we both selected from the fish menu, as we had heard about the great seafood in this part of Ireland.

There is no simple way to put this -- both meals were world class. My wife had fresh salmon -- cooked to perfection and gently covered with an amazing sauce, and presented across a bed of bed of mashed potatoes. Words just don't do this justice. The presentation was worthy of a 3-star restaurant, and the flavor/taste was other worldly. The salmon was cooked perfectly, not over done and too many do; and the sauce was simply incredible. I ordered another fish dish -- fresh cod. While not quite as exquisite as the salmon dish, it also was fantastic. Bottom line -- the ambience was more pub than restaurant, the service and wait staff helpful and efficient but not overly intrusive, and the food was simply amazing. My only regret was that we were leaving the next day and couldn't go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for your kind words and taking time to review us. We value all feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back to Fairhill House Hotel & Eddies Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked a 3 night getaway break here for a very reasonable price. The hotel has a small reception area. The room was nicely decorated with a balcony. Unfortunately the balcony area was dirty. Lots of cigarette butts. It looked as if it had not been cleaned in ages nor was it cleaned during our stay. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room but our cups and saucers had not been washed. We only had a selection of Green Tea available to us but this was put right fairly quickly when we went searching for assistance. The main light in the bathroom was not working and we only had a "shaver" light to light up the room. Again this was put right fairly quickly when we complained. I don't know why this had not been spotted and reported.
There is a lovely bar attached to this hotel with good food and pleasant staff. Nicely decorated in a fisherman's theme. Our 3 night break included one dinner, eaten in the bar and this was very tasty. There is also a nice seating area to the front of the hotel.
Breakfast could have been better. On our first morning our full Irish had hard fried eggs. On the second morning we specifically asked for our eggs to be soft but unfortunately we were again given hard fried eggs. Our bacon also looked as if it had been re-heated because it was hard crisp.
When we were checking out our bill did not show the fact that we had already paid a deposit. We could have easily paid this amount again as the person who gave us the bill didn't seem to be aware of this until we queried it.
The staff in this hotel are really lovely and very chatty.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BOXtheFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Front Office Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Fairhill House Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our wonderful location, your meal and service from our friendly team of staff.

However we were disappointed to read your comments regarding cleanliness of our balcony's. I can assure you this is not our usual standard please accept our apologies.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairhill House Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

There's nothing I can say that hasn't already been said by other reviewers. This is a great little hotel (with 20 bedrooms!) nestled in the village of Clonbur. It makes a great base for exploring the Connemara area. The food served in the bar is of the best quality and the service second to none. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Fairhill House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews