We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairhill House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$611
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Currarevagh House(Oughterard)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Peacockes Hotel(Maam Cross)
US$98
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leenane Hotel(Leenane)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
66
28
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
28
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslough maskfish and chipsashford castlelovely villagefollowing morningrooms are modernroaring firebase for exploringincluded breakfastchowdernice sizefull irish breakfastloved this hotelfantastic hotelfunction roomtwo nightsbalcony overlooking the village
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for one night in May 2013.
The hotel is very nice, the rooms are clean with nice decor.
The food is sublime here.
The portions are huge every mouthful was delicious.
Staff were brilliant too, my only gripe was this, I booked online and paid €10 deposit for €100 room. My traveling companion checked us out while I sorted out the car/luggage and she was told the room cost was €110, not the €100.
She queried it, but was told in no uncertain terms it was €110, so duly handed over the money.
I didn't become aware until we had left town, so we did not go back - but I was annoyed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EggyPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about your check out experience, if you would contact us here so We can arrange a refund to you for the over charged amount, as that member of staff had just started.
Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We chose the Fairhill House Hotel as a stop for visiting sights such as Croagh Patrick, Cong etc, for which is it very well placed.

Initial issues with booking online, the hotel website delivered a nasty virus to my pc, but these were resolved by speaking to Christina and the booking was sorted.

We arrived a little earlier than expected, about 5.30pm and there was no-one around. A young lad walked in just after us and headed straight through a door marked private. Eventually we were checked in by one of the bar staff from Eddy's Bar, very efficiently, but it would be a good idea to put a bell on the reception desk!

We booked a double room. What we got was a twin plus, namely a single bed and a three quarter bed. The rooms have been recently refurbished and while a bit bland, are perfectly acceptable in most respects. There were some issues. In order to activate the power in your room, one of the keys must be inserted into an activation device. Unfortunately the device in our room "buzzed" noisily meaning we had a choice, no power while sleeping or no sleep. The heating was off, and thus the room was freezing, and there was no hot towel rail in the bathroom so it was damp towels the following morning.

Adjoining the hotel is Eddy's bar and restaurant, owned by the hotel. What a place, FANTASTIC! Great food, huge portions, unbelievable rapid action service, a great selection of booze. All is forgiven.

The main restaurant, a huge venue, is used when the hotel is busy and for breakfasts. Breakfasts are substantial and the service there was excellent.

The hotel is also well situated for the Loughs and thus for fishing and boating.

In the same family for three generations, the Fairhill is a bit of an enigma. A great restaurant, clearly a loyal following among the fishing community, and yet a bland and rather cheerless hotel. It is so aggravating to see a place that is selling itself short.

I would junk the silly card/electicity activators - it can't save that much money, get some hot towel rails into the bathrooms, check the thermostats on the room radiators and make someone specifically responsible for cheering up the hotel. Don't put model ships on the window sills in reception with "do not touch" labels either. The location and pricing should mean that the hotel can attract a wider clientele than just fishermen and one night stop overs.

This place is one Alex Polizzi visit from being consistent, and four star.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiallFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. It is unfortunate that on the day you booked a person did try and hack into the online booking engine causing it to slow down as this is operated by a 3rd party, they reacted immediately and at no time was (or could) a virus have been sent to your computer. We can get the company to contact you and explain this if you would like. We will take your other comments to our monthly meeting.
Kind Regards,
Eddie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I spend 6 months of the year on the road all over the country and the Fairhill House Hotel would be on the top of my list for a stay in the Cong/Clonbur area. The hotel is understated from the front and behind the old style facade are beautiful bedrooms with all modern conveniences. Front of house staff are friendly and welcoming and the owner of the hotel Eddie leads his team from the front and is always on hand to assist and advise customers and visitors to the area. The bar food is some of the best I have had with a set menu and a range of daily specials. It is without hesitation I would recommend a stay at the Fairhill.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inistioge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel at home. Looking forward to seeing you again in Fairhill House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Paddywhackery at its worse. Long boring story by the owner when we arrived exhausted, indifferent staff, indifferent room. Didn't like it from the moment I stepped inside. Its really some rooms with nobody on the reception most of the time. Nobody there at night, told to ring a number if needed but not given one. We had booked three days but were called home due to an accident to a family member after one night and not given any leeway at all on the price. Greedy ireland at its worse. We were too upset to argue and left very disappointed. The bar food was ok, a bit overpriced and really the place that you would have to be whenever not in the room, another moneymaking racket. Enough said.

Room Tip: Don't go
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol2cmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review Fairhill House Hotel. It is unfortunate that our hotel is not to your taste as most of our guests enjoy our friendly welcome from our owner. As a small family run hotel we do like to take time to take to our guest, many off whom want to know the history & information about the Hotel and the Local area. We operate a 48 hour cancellation policy which is standard practice all over the world. We have a very large reception area with comfortable lounges, a separate reading room and a large outdoor terrace for Guests so they do not need to spend all their time in the bar...Which has according to reviews on this site a "very reasonable priced, extensive bar menu".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

A great find. It's the staff that make this wee hotel so special. You are welcome the minute you say hello. The rooms are comfy, the food is good and the fire is always lit in the lobby. I just could feel the stress subside as I drank the best Guinness I've ever had in Eddys bar and listened to Paddy the Punk sing the best of Irish to us all.

Clonbur is a lovely village, with another great bar across the road, lots of walks nearby and Ashford Castle and the famous Cong village just 5 mins away. Just wish it was closer to home!

Room Tip: If you have booked a deal online, just confirm the price on check in to prevent any misunderstandings when you check out.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyP332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful part of Ireland nestled between the lakes of mask & corrib and overlooked by mount gable....it just absorbs stress being surrounded by such natural beauty. We hope to see you again in Clonbur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews