We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Went for an evening meal in the fairhill during the week. Food was very good with plenty of choices, service a small bit slow but not a problem. Good atmosphere in the pub which always helps. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithwicks78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to review Eddies Bar & Restaurant. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal & the great atmosphere that is Eddies Bar. We offer a large & varied menu will all dishes cooked to order. Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Fairhill House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

I just stayed in this hotel for one night & wished it could have been much longer. The atmosphere is casual but the service is quietly efficient. The bar staff are jolly & helpful. The bar has as fine a collection of Malt whiskeys as you can get west of the Shannon. The rooms are modern & comfortable & the breakfast is superb. Staying here was a pleasant surprise & I will look forward to staying there again at the earliest opportunity. I would also recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverfox711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Fairhill House Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We pride ourselves on having one of the largest collections of Malt Whiskeys and We keep adding to it. Looking forward to seeing you again to try some new ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I recently went to the fairhill restaurant in late July with my family and was truly surprised. From the outside look of this place I never would've thought the food could've been that good... But it was! Everything was excellent! I split the BBQ ribs and a pizza pie and oh boy were they delicious. Besides the food the atmosphere was also very traditional and fun. Everyone was so nice and helpful. I couldn't have wanted a better experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammmy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank You for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. We have a large menu so there is plenty of choice on it. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We didn't stay here but we had dinner twice in the 4 days we stayed in the village. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, unlike Lynch's Bar in the same village, and both nights the restaurant was busy with local families.
The food was interesting and well cooked. I had a prawn curry one night and it was excellent; large and juicy prawns and an exciting degree of heat in the curry, and no chips!
It is sometimes difficult to find somewhere with interesting food to eat in small Irish villages, but this was such a place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tripleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your evenings with us. We are continuously trying to keep our menu updated and interesting and most importantly all our customers/guests happy and well looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Having just spent a weekend in Cong, we dined by chance at Eddies Bar in Clonbur on Sunday night. It was really, really good, and very reasonably priced too. Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was delivered in excellent portions and on hot plates! Starters and main were so good we did not have room for dessert, which was a shame.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

We hope you enjoyed you stay in Cong, It truly is beautiful. Thank you for the positive review. We are proud of our staff and they will appreciate the kind remarks. looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for one night in May 2013.
The hotel is very nice, the rooms are clean with nice decor.
The food is sublime here.
The portions are huge every mouthful was delicious.
Staff were brilliant too, my only gripe was this, I booked online and paid €10 deposit for €100 room. My traveling companion checked us out while I sorted out the car/luggage and she was told the room cost was €110, not the €100.
She queried it, but was told in no uncertain terms it was €110, so duly handed over the money.
I didn't become aware until we had left town, so we did not go back - but I was annoyed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EggyPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about your check out experience, if you would contact us here so We can arrange a refund to you for the over charged amount, as that member of staff had just started.
Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We chose the Fairhill House Hotel as a stop for visiting sights such as Croagh Patrick, Cong etc, for which is it very well placed.

Initial issues with booking online, the hotel website delivered a nasty virus to my pc, but these were resolved by speaking to Christina and the booking was sorted.

We arrived a little earlier than expected, about 5.30pm and there was no-one around. A young lad walked in just after us and headed straight through a door marked private. Eventually we were checked in by one of the bar staff from Eddy's Bar, very efficiently, but it would be a good idea to put a bell on the reception desk!

We booked a double room. What we got was a twin plus, namely a single bed and a three quarter bed. The rooms have been recently refurbished and while a bit bland, are perfectly acceptable in most respects. There were some issues. In order to activate the power in your room, one of the keys must be inserted into an activation device. Unfortunately the device in our room "buzzed" noisily meaning we had a choice, no power while sleeping or no sleep. The heating was off, and thus the room was freezing, and there was no hot towel rail in the bathroom so it was damp towels the following morning.

Adjoining the hotel is Eddy's bar and restaurant, owned by the hotel. What a place, FANTASTIC! Great food, huge portions, unbelievable rapid action service, a great selection of booze. All is forgiven.

The main restaurant, a huge venue, is used when the hotel is busy and for breakfasts. Breakfasts are substantial and the service there was excellent.

The hotel is also well situated for the Loughs and thus for fishing and boating.

In the same family for three generations, the Fairhill is a bit of an enigma. A great restaurant, clearly a loyal following among the fishing community, and yet a bland and rather cheerless hotel. It is so aggravating to see a place that is selling itself short.

I would junk the silly card/electicity activators - it can't save that much money, get some hot towel rails into the bathrooms, check the thermostats on the room radiators and make someone specifically responsible for cheering up the hotel. Don't put model ships on the window sills in reception with "do not touch" labels either. The location and pricing should mean that the hotel can attract a wider clientele than just fishermen and one night stop overs.

This place is one Alex Polizzi visit from being consistent, and four star.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiallFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. It is unfortunate that on the day you booked a person did try and hack into the online booking engine causing it to slow down as this is operated by a 3rd party, they reacted immediately and at no time was (or could) a virus have been sent to your computer. We can get the company to contact you and explain this if you would like. We will take your other comments to our monthly meeting.
Kind Regards,
Eddie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonbur
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
9.4 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
193 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
281 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
79 reviews
14.4 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhill House Hotel

Address: Clonbur, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clonbur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Lough Corrib & Lough Mask in Connemara, an area renowned for its rugged beauty & unforgettable scenery. Our family has been welcoming visitors to Connemara for over half a century now. Fishermen, ramblers, cyclists and visitors from all over the world just love the laid-back atmosphere here. Our 20 en-suite bedrooms are large & comfortable & our food is superb. We are told we serve some the best Chowder, Seafood and Steaks in Connemara, not to mention the lively music and craic we serve in our bar.New to Fairhill House Hotel is our membership with the Irish Whiskey Trail. We now have 150 different whiskies on offer, including the first malt produced in Kentucky since 1919, Pearse Lyons whiskey... distilled by an Irishman of course! It is without a doubt one of the largest selections in the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Fairhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhill House Hotel Clonbur, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing