We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairhill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very surprised that this hotel is only 3*. Its very well decorated, rooms were nice and clean. We didnt drink in the bar as we had another function to go to but the bar looked very inviting as did the Hotel . The breakfast the next day was definitely 5* standard with excellent service. Would definitely recommend and would return again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel***. It is so nice to hear your kind words about our hotel & bar. Yes our breakfast are good as they are cooked to order so they are fresh & very tasty. Hopefully you will come back again and get a chance to visit Eddies Bar with its extensive bar food menu, open fires & over 150 malt whiskeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    26
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
31
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed there recently as was attending a family event in the area. Was very surprised at the standard of accommodation. Ive stayed in little hotels in small towns before and this was really nice. Didnt get to sample the evening menu but the breakdast was first class. Also realised that clonbur would be a great location to stay for a few days as a base toexplore connemara. Would recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank edmannion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel***. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to keep our standards high and We pride ourselves on offering a good freshly cooked breakfast so guests have a good start to their day. As we are ideally based for touring Connemara, Galway & Mayo as we sit on the border. Hope to see you soon in Fairhill House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Went for an evening meal in the fairhill during the week. Food was very good with plenty of choices, service a small bit slow but not a problem. Good atmosphere in the pub which always helps. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithwicks78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Eddies Bar & Restaurant. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal & the great atmosphere that is Eddies Bar. We offer a large & varied menu will all dishes cooked to order. Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, U.A.E.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I just stayed in this hotel for one night & wished it could have been much longer. The atmosphere is casual but the service is quietly efficient. The bar staff are jolly & helpful. The bar has as fine a collection of Malt whiskeys as you can get west of the Shannon. The rooms are modern & comfortable & the breakfast is superb. Staying here was a pleasant surprise & I will look forward to staying there again at the earliest opportunity. I would also recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Fairhill House Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We pride ourselves on having one of the largest collections of Malt Whiskeys and We keep adding to it. Looking forward to seeing you again to try some new ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I recently went to the fairhill restaurant in late July with my family and was truly surprised. From the outside look of this place I never would've thought the food could've been that good... But it was! Everything was excellent! I split the BBQ ribs and a pizza pie and oh boy were they delicious. Besides the food the atmosphere was also very traditional and fun. Everyone was so nice and helpful. I couldn't have wanted a better experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammmy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank You for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. We have a large menu so there is plenty of choice on it. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We didn't stay here but we had dinner twice in the 4 days we stayed in the village. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, unlike Lynch's Bar in the same village, and both nights the restaurant was busy with local families.
The food was interesting and well cooked. I had a prawn curry one night and it was excellent; large and juicy prawns and an exciting degree of heat in the curry, and no chips!
It is sometimes difficult to find somewhere with interesting food to eat in small Irish villages, but this was such a place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your evenings with us. We are continuously trying to keep our menu updated and interesting and most importantly all our customers/guests happy and well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crumlin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Having just spent a weekend in Cong, we dined by chance at Eddies Bar in Clonbur on Sunday night. It was really, really good, and very reasonably priced too. Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was delivered in excellent portions and on hot plates! Starters and main were so good we did not have room for dessert, which was a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie789, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We hope you enjoyed you stay in Cong, It truly is beautiful. Thank you for the positive review. We are proud of our staff and they will appreciate the kind remarks. looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonbur
3.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
9.5 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
5.4 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhill House Hotel

Property: Fairhill House Hotel
Address: Clonbur, Connemara, Co, Galway, Clonbur, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clonbur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Lough Corrib & Lough Mask in Connemara, an area renowned for its rugged beauty & unforgettable scenery. Our family has been welcoming visitors to Connemara for over half a century now. Fishermen, ramblers, cyclists and visitors from all over the world just love the laid-back atmosphere here. Our 20 en-suite bedrooms are large & comfortable & our food is superb. We are told we serve some the best Chowder, Seafood and Steaks in Connemara, not to mention the lively music and craic we serve in our bar.New to Fairhill House Hotel is our membership with the Irish Whiskey Trail. We now have 150 different whiskies on offer, including the first malt produced in Kentucky since 1919, Pearse Lyons whiskey... distilled by an Irishman of course! It is without a doubt one of the largest selections in the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Fairhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhill House Hotel Clonbur, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing