We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a family meal at Fairhill House Hotel in April. The service was chaotic as the hotel was understaffed. We ordered bottle of white wine and when it arrived, it was warm. We then waited an hour for our main course. The waitresses were all running around and did not have the time or the energy to care what the customers thought! Desserts and coffees never arrived at all so we gave up, paid the bill and went home!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wentworth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review Eddies Bar @ Fairhill House Hotel. We are sorry to hear you did enjoy your visit with us as we are a very popular place to eat. On that day pre bookings were up and we had a large number of the "off the road bookings" we did our best to accommodate everyone. We pride ourselves on good freshly cooked to order food, friendly staff and comfortable hotel. We would hope you would call in again and give us a chance to give you an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    26
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
32
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My cousins and I attended a family funeral and stayed 3 nights. The owner and staff could not be more gracious and kind. The accommodations were great. And the food was excellent. Over all they helped us turn an unpleasant reason to travel into an enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are pleased to hear we made your travel & stay more comfortable. Hope to see you soon in Clonbur...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Clonbur appears to be a very small village of 100 houses. Fairhill House is a very traditional bar with modern accommodation built on to the back. Some of the rooms have external balconies looking towards the Lough. The room we had was of a good size with a very wide bed in it.

The bar at the front is very cosy and frequented by locals, with live music most weekends. The owner tells us that on a good night they actually have the music outside under the canopies The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced.

Breakfast was very good, particularly as they allowed us to take it in the bar next to the Turf Fire. A free Newspaper made it a nice relaxing morning.

There are some good walks nearby, one of 7.5km takes you from the village out to the nearby Lough.

The Village of Cong is just 4/5 miles away and must be pretty busy in Summer. (made famous as the town where John Waynes 'Quiet Man' was filmed.

A chilled out, relaxed and traditional retreat. We will come back in summer to do more walking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. And made the most of the fabulous walks we have on our doorstep. We pride ourselves on looking after our guests and the smallest details make the difference. Free new-papers, free wifi are most important for keeping up with the real world while one retreats to the picturesque village of Clonbur between the lakes of Corrib & Mask, Overlooked by Mount Gable. Looking forward to welcoming you again to Clonbur....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Very quick overnight stop here in Clonbur. The welcome is second to none. A late night request for a sandwich was a lovely large homemade ham salad sandwich. On a cold night it was very welcome and the attitude was what can we do to help. I will be back again. Many thanks

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IrelandCeltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlebar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

didnt stay in this hotel but had dinner with family in the bar
the food is just delicious ihad the turkey and the portions are a nice size
the prices are reasonable and the staff are very nice
it is a lovely place to go for a meal when the weather is cold as it is such a warm and cosy place hope to go there again soon

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ally089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Eddies Bar & Restaurant at Fairhill House Hotel***. It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We pride ourselves on our quality & variety of food. And of course our real open fires are very inviting. Looking forward to seeing you again in Eddies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night break with family, 13 of us adults and children. The place is absolutely wonderful. Where do i start, very reasonable rates, very friendly helpful staff and the adjacent bar Eddie's provides some of the best food i've ever tasted. The breakfast at the hotel was fantastic too, served by friendly and patient staff. We booked a family room which i thought, like most, would be quite crammed.... i was wrong, the room was so spacious and had a large bathroom too. The rooms were very clean, warm and had the most comfortable beds ever! I would definetely return to Fairhill House and highly recommend it to others for a stay in the beautiful area of Clonbur.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJOYCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are pleased to here you all enjoyed your stay with us, as it was our pleasure to look after your group. We take great pride in our rooms and are pleased to hear you found the beds so comfortable & rooms so spacious & clean. Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Group of 13 of of us stayed at Fairhill Hse Hotel.Cannot fault it! Lovely hotel with nicely decorated, great sized rooms.Eddie's bar (part of the hotel) serves the nicest food I have tasted, with a great range. In my opinion 5*. Breakfast was also wonderful. You will not be dissapointed if you stay at this hotel.I will definetly stay when I next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinejoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. And look forward to welcoming you back to Clonbur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonbur
3.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
9.2 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
11.8 mi away
Anglers Rest Hotel
Anglers Rest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Headford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhill House Hotel

Property: Fairhill House Hotel
Address: Clonbur, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clonbur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Lough Corrib & Lough Mask in Connemara, an area renowned for its rugged beauty & unforgettable scenery. Our family has been welcoming visitors to Connemara for over half a century now. Fishermen, ramblers, cyclists and visitors from all over the world just love the laid-back atmosphere here. Our 20 en-suite bedrooms are large & comfortable & our food is superb. We are told we serve some the best Chowder, Seafood and Steaks in Connemara, not to mention the lively music and craic we serve in our bar.New to Fairhill House Hotel is our membership with the Irish Whiskey Trail. We now have 150 different whiskies on offer, including the first malt produced in Kentucky since 1919, Pearse Lyons whiskey... distilled by an Irishman of course! It is without a doubt one of the largest selections in the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fairhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhill House Hotel Clonbur, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing