We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just back from yet another great stay at Fairhill House. Its been a while, but as always well worth it. Im surprised by some of the recent negative reviews, as I have always found Fairhill to be a little gem. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the food and atmosphere in Eddies bar is great.This is a small familly run hotel, which sets it appart from the mundane chain hotels you find everywhere else.For this reason alone I will return again and again. I eat my steak "blue", so rare burgers are to my liking, so I guess its a matter of individual taste.
If the last reviewers starter was fine, why shouldnt they be charged for it?
Clonbur, and the surrounding areas are fabulous, and well worth a visit, and Fairhill is the ideal place to stay when doing so.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main street, but its a quiet place, so it was'nt an issue. Some rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rocky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and dining in Eddies Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to clonbur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visited the restaurant at the Fairhill hotel yesterday.. Had popped in early in the day to check out the menu and the place and it was very busy and the menu seemed fine.
Returned later on that day and the restaurant was a lot quieter.. We were seated at a nice table and we order water and we were given our menus.. We had a Duck Spring Roll for a starter which was nice and we ordered to burgers for the main.. The burgers arrived and on first look them they seemed fine… Until I cut into mine and it was completely raw – my boyfriend’s burger was the same. We sent them back and waited another 15 minutes for the burgers to come out ( same burgers! ) mine was still raw and my boyfriends was burnt to a crisp.. we decided we had enough and it was time to leave.. we went to the bar area to pay for the starter and they had the cheek to charge us for it !!!
All in all it was a really disappointing visit- The waiter that served us was very apologetic… wont be returning .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ChaSham12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review Eddies Bar @ Fairhill House Hotel. We sorry to hear you did not have a good experience as We pride ourselves on the quality of food & our high standards of customer care. Unfortunately mistakes can happen and happened to you on your visit. Sunday was an extremely busy day and the young chef was eager to get orders out to avoid people having to wait. Our home-made burgers are very heavy & take at least 20 minutes to cook, He got his timing wrong. We apologise once again and would hope you would call again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a very disappointing experience for our visit to the West of Ireland. We went to this part of the West on a recommendation from friends who have been a number of times in the past few years. My meal in this restaurant was bland to say the least, it was just so ordinary, and while my husband didn't complain I knew he was very disappointed too, just put it on the list of places we won't be going back to is what he said. The bar staff member was very gruff which was very surprising as we had always heard such good reports, when we mentioned it to our friends they just couldn't understand what could have changed, they even thought we had gone to the wrong place...it's such a shame as it is a lovely part of the countryside and had been looking forward to our visit there so much.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jesika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review Eddies Bar @ Fairhill House Hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We offer a large & varied menu hoping to suit all tastes however this is not always possible. Our menu's are based on the Very Best Local and Seasonal Ingredients. We would hope you visit again and We would be delighted to recommend a different dish.
We look forward to welcoming you back where a cead mile failte will await.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Anywhere west of Galway, whilst very welcoming and clean, can be a bit rustic for the normal traveller, but Fairhill House is simply a class above. Its spotlessly clean, run by fantastic helpful and obliging staff and the craic in the evenings is hard to describe. The boss, Eddie, is also a delight and could not be more accomodating.
Our last visit was sadly for a Family funeral and they put themselves out massively to accommodate our last-minute requests. Our usual visit is in October when there are a lot of us there, all wanting to eat and rink at different times - not a problem for Mr Lynch's gang.
If you're anywhere west of Galway and looking for a base, you'd be hard-pushed to find anything quite like it. Ten out of ten from me.

Room Tip: Haven't ever been in a bad one, except one night when there was a problem with a fire alarm blee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikie1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I ordered Irish stew.....there were only a few pieces of shredded meat accompanied by mashed potatoes and uncooked boiled potatoes bathed in non description juice, I did enjoy the few carrots and onions. Would not recommend this place. Others had fish and chips which was quite good.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to review Eddies Bar. It is unfortunate you did not enjoy your "Irish Stew" as this is a local dish and very popular having received several good reviews on this site. The fish & chips is very good and also very popular. Hopefully you will return and try it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Grand, cosy, welcoming bar, great atmosphere, witty and convivial staff, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have been coming here for years and years. Food is tasty and plentiful, generous proportions, served well and attentively. Really enjoyed relaxing here over a glass of wine. We would highly recommend this bar/restaurant . You will be looked after. Enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayLaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to Review Fairhill House Hotel. We are delighted with the title of your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here last week. Good food and good staff. Smallish bedroom, allegedly a double, but far too small for two people. No chair or stool to write on or check the laptop. The bar area is far too cramped. The rubbish outside the hotel to the car park at the rear was disgraceful.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itinerant2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddies Bar C, General Manager at Fairhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to review Fairhill House Hotel ***. We pleased to hear you enjoyed the good food and service we pride ourselves on providing to all guests. We have a variety of rooms from family, triple, twin, double and single. Eddies bar is proving to be extremely popular and despite having a large dining room all our guests are requesting a table in Eddies Bar..and We will not be knocking any walls soon...Looking forward to seeing you again in Clonbur.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonbur
9.4 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
194 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
3.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
81 reviews
14.4 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
603 reviews
5.5 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhill House Hotel

Address: Clonbur, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clonbur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clonbur
Price Range: £79 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Lough Corrib & Lough Mask in Connemara, an area renowned for its rugged beauty & unforgettable scenery. Our family has been welcoming visitors to Connemara for over half a century now. Fishermen, ramblers, cyclists and visitors from all over the world just love the laid-back atmosphere here. Our 20 en-suite bedrooms are large & comfortable & our food is superb. We are told we serve some the best Chowder, Seafood and Steaks in Connemara, not to mention the lively music and craic we serve in our bar.New to Fairhill House Hotel is our membership with the Irish Whiskey Trail. We now have 150 different whiskies on offer, including the first malt produced in Kentucky since 1919, Pearse Lyons whiskey... distilled by an Irishman of course! It is without a doubt one of the largest selections in the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Fairhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhill House Hotel Clonbur, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing