We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time at Lakeshore House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clonbur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeshore House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Clonbur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Lakeside House is situated on a hillside overlooking Lough Corrib. It has panoramic lock Views from guest rooms, sitting room and dining room. Photos don't do it justice.
Our hosts Bernadette and David were the epitome of Irish warmth and hospitality.
They have a great knowledge of their local area and provide maps and suggestions for trips.They always had a welcoming word and time for a chat.
Our guest room was comfortable and warm. There was a welcoming fire going in the sitting room and a cup of tea or coffee was always on offer. Breakfast was superb with fruits cereals, and a full Irish breakfast of eggs tomato, sages bacon, mushrooms and black and white pudding.
Lakeshore house was a delightful experience in every respect. My wife and I recommend it without hesitation to anyone visiting this magical part of Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briangmccowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

Finally a B&B that lived up to the photos on their web site! Wish we could give them 10stars! Bernadette was a perfect Hostess providing comfort, great Irish breakfasts, and do's/don'ts on the local sites and country side drives. She set up a wonderful fishing trip on Lough Corrib. No traveler will regret choosing Lakeshore B&B.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

In Ireland for the first time, a group of five of us girls left Dublin driving to Lakeshore B&B (our first drive in the country). It was already late in the evening driving across the width of the country:-) and when we got turned around- we called Bernadette and she gave us directions. Even though we arrived very very late that night she still was cheery and had a lovely spread of tea and cakes. Not having ever been in a B&B before I wasn't sure what to expect- but it was beyond great!

The rooms are clean and charming with ample space (we had three in ours). The bedding and beds are quite comfortable. Each of our rooms had an en suite bathroom that was also the nicest we had during our entire stay:-) Each evening Bernadette would get our order for breakfast-and we ordered the full Irish- the breakfast room was comfortable.

The view of the lake and the surrounding area is a huge draw (second only to the owner herself). We came to Ireland for the scenery and this area remained our favorite even after driving around the entire country. She can point out the best walks in the area and will even give you the best of what you can see no matter how short or long your stay in the area is. We wouldn't have seen half as much had she not shared her tips. (She even helped us restructure the rest of our trip to accommodate more of the countryside in the southwest).

If you like the countryside, lakes, long walks (some at an incline:-) and a hearty breakfast this is the place for you. In a stone's throw is The Quiet Man village, Ashford Castle, great fishing & some of the prettiest drives in the country (and we've driven all of it now). Everything is subjective- but I can't recommend this place highly enough and will be returning on my next visit to the country.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMichelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Stayed at the Lakeshore House with my wife and three children.
The location is a dream.The house is on Lough Corrib.The view of the sun rising over the Lough is not to be missed.We had a family room on the second floor.The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and spotlessly clean.The towels are changed everyday and beds are made up.There is also wi fi.The homeowner Bernadette is a wonderful person.She is caring and takes great pride in making you feel at home.Nothing is too much for her and she knows all the things to do in Connemarra.She also has a great Irish sense of humour.
She bakes her bread and scones dayly and every evening welcomed
us with a warm fire in the living room and a cup of tea.You must try her fresh eggs for breakfast peppered with home grown parsely.A simply great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelo65Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Bernadette and David were fantastic hosts and did everything to make us feel welcome and at home. Their B&B is in a fantastic location on the shores of Lough Corrib with an amazing view of the lake.... perfect if you're with a fisherman - especially as they have their own pier! It's about 5 minutes outside Clonbur along the most spectacular lakeside drive. Clonbur itself is a great spot with some lively pub/restaurants. The B&B is spotlessly clean and they send you off with a great breakfast in the morning. There's a path at the side of the house for walking the mountains if you're feeling energetic - which we weren't I'm afraid!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

It was lovely to be greeted warmly and be offered a cup of tea the moment we arrived!
Bernadette and Mike were great hosts, the rooms were all very neat and comfortable. The view of the lake was sensational from the rooms or the lounge.
I would highly reccomend a stay.
Cheers
Rob

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1111_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Absolutely wonderful B & B - we stayed 2 nights, our Hosts Bernadette and David were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. They went above and beyond the usual B & B to make our stay comfortable and happy. Waking up to such a beautiful view, and seeing the Moon over the lake was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lakeshore House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore House B&B

Address: Ballard, Clonbur, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clonbur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clonbur
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Lakeshore House B&B Clonbur, Ireland - County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing