We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballykine House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Currarevagh House(Oughterard)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    Peacockes Hotel(Maam Cross)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Lisdonagh Manor House(Caherlistrane)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (66)
    Filter reviews
    66 results
    Traveller rating
    59
    6
    0
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    59
    6
    0
    0
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsb bireland triplovely homelovely hostscongannpubsconnemarabath
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    31 - 36 of 66 reviews
    Reviewed 25 September 2013

    My husband and I recently spent three nights at Ballykine House in Co. Galway, Ireland. Our room and bath were very nice and comfortable and our hosts, Ann and Barry Lambe, took excellent care of us. The breakfasts were wonderful, including fresh baked scones and Irish cheese. Anne guided us to the best restaurants in the neighboring towns and she even told me about a local church with a mass at the time I was looking for. The house sits in a beautiful setting and it reflects the loving care it is given by Ann and Barry.

    Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad room at Ballykine House
    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Pat B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 September 2013

    As we drove up the laneway we immediately realized we were arriving at a very special B & B for our next two evenings June 27th and 28th, 2013. The renovated, 200 year old farmhouse, with its beautiful gardens and surrounding landscape overlooking Lough Mask in the distance was a welcome sight after a long days drive.
    Our room and ensuite were large, clean, and very well equipped. From the beginning Anne Lambe made us feel so welcome. When we were having difficulty contacting a relative by phone in Tyrone County, Northern Ireland, Anne spent a long time trying to help us. The breakfast meals served each morning during our stay were meticulously prepared, and kept us completely satisfied until an evening meal.
    The location of this B & B was perfect. We could walk from the back of the farmhouse across farmland to a path leading to the quaint town of Clonbur (30 minute walk) where we enjoyed an excellent meal at the well known J. Burke & Sons Bar/Restaurant. If you took the path in the opposite direction a much longer walk would take you into the more touristy town of Cong. We decided to take the 10 minute drive into Cong where we visited the Cong Abbey and from there took the relaxing walk to visit the amazing Ashford Castle. The Ballykine B & B also offers an excellent starting and finishing point for anyone interested in driving throught the Connamara Region observing the mountains and beautiful scenery, and such highlights as Kyemore Abbey and the town of Clifden.
    We hope to return the the Irish Isle in 2015, and if we do we will certainly plan another stay at Ballykine House.

    Ron & Daisy Bell
    Kitchener, Canada.

    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Ron B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 September 2013

    Just talking to Ann on the phone made me love this place. Enjoyed it even more once we got there. But don't be fooled, it is more than a ten minute walk to town. If you do stay here, check out Eddies for dinner, music, and drinks.

    Our room was quite comfortable. The fresh fruit water in the room and at breakfast was a very nice bonus.

    We really enjoyed out stay here.

    Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    1  Thank Colleen C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 July 2013

    As we drove drown the lane leading to Ballykine House, our excitement grew and grew. What a beautiful home sitting in the midst of some spectacular scenery. Our hostess Ann greeted us and was so warm and welcoming, we knew we had indeed found the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. We three sisters and our husbands loved this B&B near Cong. We took a long walk in the forest where the air was so fresh and the scent invigorating. Ann even had a pot of walking sticks near the door! She missed no details. The rooms were indeed as luxurious as any we experienced. As we had enjoyed a late lunch prior to arriving, we settled in for the evening and enjoyed some drinks and conversation between ourselves and our driver. The full Irish breakfast the following morning was worth the trip in and of itself! So many home-baked delicacies. Ann and Barry were such gracious hosts. For the pricing, this B&B is a remarkable value. All we can do is keep sending more family and friends there. As for us, next time we are going to stay longer. Matrice

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Matricewbl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 June 2013

    We stayed at the Ballykine House for 1 night on our last night touring Ireland. It is a very quiet location in between Cong and Clonbur. It is perfect for that peaceful country setting that will relax you as soon as you step out of the car. Ann was a great host and very understandable when we had to cancel our first night due to a circumstance that was not allowing us to arrive when we were supposed to. She also was accommodating to our needs in the morning and changing her breakfast time for us so we were able to eat breakfast and make it in time to return our car to the rental facility. Ann was great upon our arrival showing us around and giving us directions to all the local sights and walking trails. She also recommended a couple of restaurants in Clonbur for dinner and it was a nice/peaceful walk from the B&B to the restaurant via a trail. The restaurant that she recommended, Eddie's Bar, ended up being our favorite meal while in Ireland. The rooms and en suite was very comfortable and clean during our stay. The house was very picturesque and exactly what we needed during our trip to Clonbur/Cong and would recommend to anyone.

    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank madams07
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews