We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”

The Craster Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Craster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was a cold November lunch time, but we were welcomed warmly and fed well in this annexe to Robson's Smokehouse. Of course we had to have the Craster kippers which were superb, we also had a salmon salad which was excellent.

Nice view across the little harbour and good friendly service.

Would go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneSteve04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    82
    14
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This restaurant deserves to have a very long waiting list! The food is so interesting - Brazilian take on the North East. The seafood starters are amazing - generous portions. I've been twice - the first time we had to wait a wee while but it was worth it. Have the Brazilian specialities! The staff are enthusiastic and genuinely interested in making sure you have a great meal. The decor is also pleasing - paintings by a local artist who has a gallery in the village, so you can go there afterwards to buy a memento of the occasion!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneShirewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise with outstanding food and staff”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

On a family holiday we were set to go try the crab sandwiches at the pub. However, it was over-flowing at 1pm and it looked like a long wait for a table never mind food. Desperate for food we looked for an alternative and found the Craster fish restaurant. It didn't cry out 'try me' from the outside (where you cant really see inside) but with a hungry seven year old we decided to give it a go.

What a pleasure it was. The food was outstanding whilst the staff were truly delightful. So glad the pub was busy and we will be back. First class!

Helpful?
Thank RichardH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Visited the restaurant for a meal and then a carry out in early October;it was very quiet on the Monday night when we ate there.Good choice of starters,mains and puddings but decided to stick with Haddock and chips. Excellent Haddock - huge piece and batter remained crisp throughout meal;chips also very tasty. Shared a Portuguese influenced bread pudding which was light and deliciously fruity. A very tasty meal on a dark night and very friendly and hospitable staff.We were so impressed with the fish and chips we visited again for a carry out. So nice to eat well in a small coastal village just around the corner from the cottage where we were staying.Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Food - Lovely People”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Now, you have to be a bit careful with first impressions as the entrance to Craster Fish Restaurant looks at first sight to be the door to a staff canteen, BUT do go in because inside its a delight.
The staff are very welcoming and, perhaps more importantly do genuinely care about the food and their customers.

We were only passing through Caster and stopped at Robsons Smokehouse to pick up some scallops and some smoked salmon (both delicious by the way), it was lunch time so we went into the restaurant. I am very glad we did as it was a delight.
Our lunch was simple, soup followed by kippers with chunks of bread, all perfect.
A non pretentious restaurant because it doesn't need to pretend, its really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OPC1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Craster Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Craster Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing