We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and staff”

The Craster Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Craster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a meal here whilst on holiday in the area. This was the best meal we had eaten all week, the food was full of flavour and was obviously fresh and home coooked. The fishcakes in particular were the best I have ever had. The staff were warm and welcoming and the location was excellent. When we return to the area we will certainly make a detour and eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johno71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    81
    14
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

On the opposite side of the road to the over hyped Jolly Fisherman that is simply a bun fight at lunchtime. This doesn't have the outdoor tables like their neighbour but is immaculately clean, the food is delicious & the staff are just lovely. An oasis of tranquility in the busy summer tourist season. Recommended!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fools2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok.... But...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

First time in Craster so was unsure where to eat. It was a toss up between here or the jolly fisherman. There was nothing wrong with the food it's self, in fact it was the best scampi I've ever had, but it was very over priced, especially for the size portions you got. There was no childrens menu, so my daughter had to make do. The waitress was friendly and helpful, views are stunning, but due to the price and lack of a suitable childrens menu, I don't think I'd return.

Helpful?
3 Thank Northerngirl0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, staff brilliant, views stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Food fantastic, kippers, scampi, crab sandwich, and excellent value for money, staff know how to give excellent customer service, friendly, helpful and professional, big thanks to Vince, Eileen and the other lovely young man, sorry don't want to mis spell his name!!! They all made sure we had a lovely lunch!! Castle breathtaking, well worth the trip to Craster

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Superb fish, lovely ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We enjoyed being served continental fish delicacies by friendly waiting staff, while managing to converse despite fully booked tables. Local art on the walls and some views of the sea added to the experience

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Craster Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Craster Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing