We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage, good location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beech Cottage

Outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside
Open plan living space Open plan living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Outside
Open plan living space
Open plan living space
Open plan living space
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
A short stroll from Dunstanburgh Castle..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Craster, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lindsey B
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage, good location”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Had an amazing family time at beech cottage, great base as to visit all of Northumberlands sites. Nice to come back to a warm cosy cottage that has everything you could want and need, my 2 year old loved all the toys. Thank you Kirsten for a easy transaction and our family memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r100gs201...
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overall good”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

First impressions were that the cottage was small with not much daylight coming in from the small windows but this is a former fishermans cottage and nicely themed accordingly and we got used it and settled in comfortably. The wardrobes are not full size, more large cupboards, but there was enough storage room for a short stay albeit we had to store our suitcases in the car boot as there was not much room elsewhere. A short walk to Crabster and a further slightly longer walk to Dunstanburgh Castle are all possible from the cottage.Not suitable for disabled due to the steep stairs to the bedrooms and toilet and a some stains on the settee could do with cleaning but overall we enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiteness
Liked least: Lack of storage and natural daylight
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Many thanks for the review. The cottage is an 18th century fisherman's cottage and hopefully still feels like one - warm, cosy and perfectly formed..!

We have tried to maximise the space and storage without losing any charm - following your feedback we will amend the welcome instructions to detail all storage spaces within the cottage (under the stairs, etc).

Apologies regarding the sofa - we will check our duck egg sofa for stains asap (admittedly not the best colour choice for small marks, but we decided it was nicer than the "wipe clean" faux leather alternative!)

Also thanks for the notes re; access, we certainly advertise the cottage as not suitable for wheelchair access and would not wish to mislead anyone regarding the number of steps or stairs. This is made clear to any potential guests!

Many thanks again for the positive review and constructive feedback.

Very best
Kristen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy well appointed cottage”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Beech Cottage everything on hand for a very comfortable experience. The location is perfect for visiting all the top attractions on the coast and with Alnwick Castle just a short distance we could not have asked for anything better.
Good eateries nearby with a local pub just down the road.
All very good would thoroughly recommend this property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet another perfect stay !”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our third trip to Beech Cottage and we were not disappointed... another totally relaxing weekend.

The cottage is just perfect and feels just like home from home. Perfect location for visiting the stunning Northumberland coastline.

Would definitely recommend a visit to The Jolly Fisherman in Craster and The Joiners Arms in Newton.

Will definitely return to Beech Cottage and can definitely recommend this for a lovely weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel of the cottage and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bess499
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely cosy cottage - great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved spending October half term at Beech Cottage. The cottage had everything we needed, it's warm and well equipped and the owners were extremely helpful. Youngest son aged 8 was delighted with the wi-fi and eldest aged 12 took a liking to a game of darts in the friendly local pub, The Cottage, who also serve good food. We enjoyed lots of beach walks, easily accessible from Craster - no need to drive. Kippers at the Ship at Low Newton after a bracing walk along the beach - superb! Alnwick Castle was a fun day out and a boat trip to the Farne Islands was wonderful - lots of seals and their pups at this time of year. A truly memorable week and Beech Cottage the perfect base.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Many thanks for the fantastic review - hope to welcome you back next year! Very best, Kristen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam g
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, fabulous location”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we came for a short break (4 nights) which was just enough time to explore the surrounding area. Cottage was exactly as described and seen online- really lovely and cosy! As well as the usual things, the cottage also provided quite a ot of extras (whihc should should maybe say) including a hairdryer, tea towels, all the basics (tea/coffee) and handy for us, a seletion of OS maps of the area.
We made use of these by exploring the coast roads on our bikes, and as our first viist to Northumberland, were very impressed with the area cycle touring- again, not something that seems to be promoted so well.
Craster is a little walk away, but wilth lovely sunny nights, it was perfect for dinner at the Jolly Fishermen- it relaly is as good as the reviews say!
Lovely stay all round. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne G
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cosy home from home”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beech cottage was perfect for our short break away over Easter. It is really well equipped and we all had a lovely time. It is very cosy with the downstairs being all in one room but this worked well for our needs. Upstairs, the beds were comfortable and the rooms just perfectly proportioned.

The location is perfect being only a short walk to Craster and the Jolly Fisherman - well worth a visit! We also enjoyed a longer walk to Dunstanburgh Castle and on to Embleton Bay - again, mustn't be missed!

The owners were particularly friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay possible - thank you!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;