We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vale Do Lobo Ocean course”
Review of Vale do Lobo

Vale do Lobo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vale do Lobo Golf & Beach Resort offers a unique concept in luxury living. 1,500 residential and holiday properties, makes it the largest luxury resort of its kind in Portugal with endless facilities and services in a unique location
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I've been to Vale Do Lobo many times & played golf there several times. I pre-booked 2 tee times for the Ocean & Royal course in person in March for May. There were 7 golfers wanting to play both courses( we were there for a 40th birthday). A price was agreed & times were booked.
When we arrived to play in May, we went & checked in. Unfortunately they had no record of the agreed prices & wanted double. This was a bit much for some of the party as we all have young families. They were not going to budge even though we were property owners & they were quite happy to turn 7 golfers away rather than do a deal. We finally agreed to pay the price but for 1 round only. The course was a pleasure & in fantastic condition. However, the marshall was somewhat unhelpful and miserable. We were experienced golfers, most with single figure handicaps. He told us to keep up with play, we were a 4 ball behind a 3 ball with no-one behind us & several times we were held up by the drinks buggy making its way past us.
Both courses are great but expensive. After speaking to a local golfer, I was advised that you will get a better deal & better welcome at nearby Quinta Do Lago which he was right. They were more than willing to accommodate us with a very reasonable green fee almost a third cheaper than Vale Do Lobo.
We will definitely be going back as its a wonderful place, but will be reluctant to play Vale Do Lobo Royal or Ocean again. Quinta are much more accommodating & good service with a smile goes a long way.

2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for you review and comments. The Vale do Lobo Property Owners and members of their close family have a preferential rate to play our courses, these rates are an exclusive benefit for our members. Our members guests are welcome to play under our Family& Friends rate, which also allows for a significant discount to the public rates. We recommend our clients make their bookings by email, this way we can be sure about the client request and in return can confirm all the booking details to the client.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Royal and the Ocean are the two courses on site. The Ocean is the far better because it is very interesting and has many scenic holes with very little housing. There ar 4 or so very steep hills to walk if you like to walk but they are very manageable if you regularly walk for golf. The Royal has "The Famous Hole" but the Ocean has hole after hole with many pure golf course views rather than Villas. Your choice, but I'll take the Ocean as it was a very fine course where there are too many buildings on the Royal. Both are a good test.

1  Thank redanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your review and comments about our two Vale do Lobo golf courses. Details about both of the courses and photos are available on our website for anyone who is unsure which course they would like to play, alternatively golfers can contact the Golf Club directly to discuss options. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable experience with us and hope to welcome you back again to Vale do Lobo in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We spend half the year in this golf, tennis, beach resort.......and no matter how often I travel and where in the world I go .....nowhere beats this place.....the natural beauty...the cliffs and coastline coupled with superb sporting venues make it unbeatable. But also it's the people who are so welcoming...you should come ASAP.

Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for you wonderful review of Vale do Lobo. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoy the resort so much and we are delighted that you find Vale do Lobo to be such a welcoming place to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

well this review could be called a little bias as i have a share in a beautiful Villa in this resort
20 Kilometer's from Faro Airport its just a short drive from the airport
Vale do Lobo has something for everyone and if you like golf like me then you will be spoiled for choice with two courses to choose from

2  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and review. We find many people enjoy the short travel time between the resort and Faro airport while our 2 championship golf courses are favourites with many golfers! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Vale do Lobo very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

There is no doubt the Royal Course Vale De Lobo has some outstanding golf holes and given the amount of traffic they get the course was in really good nick. But the walks between some greens and tees is ludicrous and the villas which surround the course give it a claustrophobic and dismembered feel like your playing more than one course.
The whole place oozes class and I would have given 5 stars were it not for the fact the golf now seems secondary to the real estate.

Thank rustybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We would like to thank you for your review and comments which have been passed on to the Vale do Lobo Golf Club. Vale do Lobo values all feedback from clients and is constantly working to improve customer experiences. We hope to welcome you back to Vale do Lobo for some more golf in the very near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vale do Lobo also viewed

 
Quinta do Lago, Faro District
 

Been to Vale do Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing