We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure about 4 star hotel”

Boutique Hotel Empress
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boutique Hotel Empress
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roznava
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Not quite sure how this 'Boutique' hotel managed to get a 4 star status, rooms were ok with rather strange layouts, bathrooms were a bit odd too. The outside bar area was a marquee or giant tent, although the staff were friendlly and accommodating. Definitely visit nearby Betliar Kastiel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soundgesture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and I have to say that the food was excellent! We had half board and bufe breakfast was very tasty and the dinner menu was fabulous. We enjoyed the food very much. However, the room was too small and too hot without proper window. Although the bathroom was big, the sink was way too small, the shower didnt work properly and the toilet was too load to splash in the night. As it is in the city center, the load music from close night club on saturday night was disturbing us until 2a.m. and the hot tub (we had it included in our holidays package) didnt work. The staff was very nice and polite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This hotel is located near historical centre and is very nice. The staff is helpfull and friendly. The room was a little bit small and the wall is tiny. I had problem to open door to bathroom and I heard my neighbour, when was watching TV. I was disturbed by the light from street a little. The furniture is very fashioned (look like in castle). Otherwise I was satisfied with accomodation, breakfast and the staff. The price is a little bit higher, but when I saw other hotels in Roznava, I have to say, that it is worthy to pay more for better comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rado m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I did not sleep in this hotel - I had a lecture there one January afternoon. However, one noteworthy thing was my lunch. For a small hotel in a small Slovak town the restaurant had a very well set lunch menu and the food was better then what you would expect in a place like this. My colleague had the set lunch menu for EUR 4,50 (soup and main course) and it looked great and from what he told me, it tasted great as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Miroslav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Firstly; don't expect the Spa "Wellness Zanubiya" to be available as part of the deal - It is NOT.
Second; all the rooms on the top floor are very hot in summer... and even though you have Air Con' in the rooms... the controller is hidden in reception (don't look for it in the room like we did!)
Thirdly; our double (once they had fixed the error in the booking) room had no window - just two small skylights!
Finally; the car parking is 6 bays on the street… so this could be a problem in peak season (we were pre-season).
On a more positive note, the room was clean / well finished (but with twin single duvet, as is the norm for Slovakia it seems) …
Breakfast , in the pleasant restaurant, was thrown in for the price … though read the descriptions carefully – French pastries were Muffins & ‘English’ breakfast would have been better named ‘Slovakian’ – but they did throw in a nice cappuccino!
Location was a stone’s throw from the old town centre – so ideal for town and local attractions (pity the beautiful Castle or ‘Hrad’ is being rebuilt after a fire.)
All in all: Average… If they could sort out a few things it would be perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are hot: Get the Air Con' controller from reception... It is not in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJPistola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed in the hotel for one night and we were extremely surpriced by the great services we received. It would match any 4 start hotel in Europe. Stuff is very profesional and helpful, rooms are very well furnished and equiped. Also try the hotel restaurant, very decent food at reasonable prices

If I am ever back in Roznava, i will definately stay again in the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dada6813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Simona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roznava hotels
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Selfness Roznava
#2 of 6 in Roznava
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Turisticka ubytovna
#3 of 6 in Roznava
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penzion Areal Zamma
Penzion Areal Zamma
#1 of 14 in Roznava
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Penzion Eva
#2 of 14 in Roznava
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Kras
#6 of 14 in Roznava
4 reviews
3 mi away
Penzion CONTESA
Penzion CONTESA
#3 of 14 in Roznava
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Empress

Address: Koshicka 1, Roznava 048 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Kosice Region > Roznava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roznava
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing