We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great food...relax...”
Review of Morgan Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morgan Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morgan's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great beachfront location. Very clean. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food. Very safe. Could easily have stayed longer, and would want to go back to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank man_van_staal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Morgan Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

My girlfriend and I flew down on Friday for a 2 night get away. Been hankering after this for some time. It was such a well worth it trip as we got back having really relaxed. The hotel has added a new dimension with the new building adjacent to the original. There are some more rooms and the new deck/bar/eatery area called The Tides. It's really added a lovely spot to catch a light lunch, sip a sundowner or hang out after dinner and enjoy a coffee and night cap. The staff are as friendly as ever, the food as good as usual and the whole experience just great. I can't wait for the next visit....hang the expense, I think we'll go Friday.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We attended a wedding there and stayed 2 nights with a large family group - lovely setting.

Room Tip: ask for sea facing
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We spent one night at the Morgan Bay Hotel, our seventh stop on a three-week South African tour.

We arrived an hour after sunset, following an extremely long and tiring drive from Oribi Gorge across the Transkei. We were expected, even though their booking system had apparently died some time earlier. I was fortunately able to provide a copy invoice. We barely had time for a shower before last orders in the dining room - as we were on a half board basis, we did not want to miss the evening meal. We enjoyed the food and wine, one unusual feature being that the staff disappeared before we (and at least one other party) had left our tables. This was presumably to enable them to get home: Morgan Bay is in a remote location, considering its proximity to East London. We helped ourselves to coffee from a dispenser, and collapsed gratefully into bed.

Our room was as promised: a double bed and a balcony with a sea view, albeit at an angle; but for one night this hardly mattered. There was a good sized bathroom with a large shower enclosure and a very effective shower head. The furniture was a little basic, white (possibly MDF) wardrobe, dressing table and bunk beds (aside from our own double). But it was cosy, and everything worked, apart from the overhead fan, not needed in any case because of the indifferent weather.

The hotel is in a perfect location: on the seafront before a long wide beach leading north to a distant lighthouse, and was a great spot for our first real view of the Indian Ocean. There are plenty of communal rooms for relaxing. The hotel exploits its location with a seashell theme and the interior walls and main concrete staircase are pebble-dashed with large stones. The staircase well unusually is open to the elements. There was a sort of blowsy, seafaring, lived-in feel that I thought worked quite well.

Clearly some construction work was happening: our side of the hotel was scaffolded, and more extensive works were being done at the adjacent building, which I was unsure was (or was to be) connected to the hotel. This meant exchanging nods with workmen outside over our very good breakfast, but was otherwise unobtrusive.

One other unique feature is the provision of little pamphlets at breakfast and dinner, giving information about all the guests and their comings and goings. This is so one can play a guessing game of who’s who over each meal, I imagine. It is up to you whether you regard this as twee, charming or intrusive. In any event, armed with conflicting driving advice from reception, we were soon history.

Room Tip: Sea view should be a must.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We had a room overseeing the Indian ocean the food was good and we had the feeling to be always welcome.
The rooms are clean and the beach is great.
They were building an additional part which might result in many more tourists but we were not disturbed by any sounds from the construction side.

We should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PR_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a classic family beach resort hotel. Meals are all inclusive (reflected in the quality of the food) and service is fairly disinterested (other than the folks on reception who are smily and helpful). But if you have kids, this is an ideal spot, right on an amazing beach.

Understand that many generations of South African families have been enjoying the simple, straight forward fare and extremely child friendly resort for years. The guest book is bulging with regulars who make this hotel home for two weeks every year for decades.

We had stopped over for two nights and were expecting somewhere a little more attentive and relaxing, so it wasn't right for us and may not be ideal for other couples.

We also thought the pricing (admittedly in high season - early Jan) did not represent value for money. Which was a real shame.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sebage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I chose this hotel for a night's stopover travelling from Durban to Port Elizabeth with my family, and my only regret is not staying longer. We were welcomed warmly after a long days journey and had the most pleasant surprise at our spacious penthouse room with unbeatable ocean vistas from our balcony.
The kids were served dinner earlier seperately by very well trained staff, who were accommodating regarding our halaal dietary requirements. Fortunately, Saturday night is seafood evening and the meal was unforgettable. Fresh fish, romantic setting while the kids are taken care of my a nanny provided by the hotel at minimal cost.

Literally on the beach, with a lovely lagoon and peaceful setting. A great getaway in this lovely seaside village we hope to return to soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaheergani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morgan's Bay
7.1 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
413 reviews
15.3 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
307 reviews
6.5 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mitford Hotel
Mitford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Morgan's Bay
38 reviews
16.1 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Bay Hotel

Address: 41 Beach Road | No Suburb, Morgan's Bay 5292, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Morgan's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morgan's Bay
Price Range: £82 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all that the magnificent Wild Coast has to offer at the family friendly Morgan Bay Hotel, situated just 45 minutes drive from East London and nestled between a mile of unspoilt beach and breathtaking cliffs. The Morgan Bay Hotel is situated just off the beach and boasts comfortable and relaxing accommodation with magnificent sea and beach views. The hotel also features a modern wedding and conference venue, beauty spa, beach boutique and a ala carte restaurant and pub. You will be spoilt for choice when it comes to activities to keep busy. These include swimming, sun tanning, hiking, canoeing, fishing, beach combing, horse riding and abseiling to name a few. Facilities at the hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, games room, pool table, table tennis and darts. A golf course, squash courts and tennis courts are available nearby. For the less adventurous, our beauty spa offers a range of massage treatments to help you relax and unwind. Or why not enjoy a cocktail on the deck enjoying a 180 degree view of the rugged Wild Coast and Indian Ocean. Surround yourself with good friends, great food and create long lasting memories. Discover why the Morgan Bay Hotel is fast becoming one of South Africa's favourite family holiday destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Morgan Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Bay Hotel South Africa/Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing