We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“try a takeaway first..then judge the place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoly Thai Restaurant

Manoly Thai Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 142 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
leigh on sea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“try a takeaway first..then judge the place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Whenever I try out a new venue I try a takeaway and then figure if they get that right; it might be worth eating in and paying a service charge. I've had two Pad Thai's from Manolys and they were not worth the price tag or the bother of parking outside to pick them up. The sauce in this place is usually reddish and used whenever they cook everything. There's nothing special about their dishes except perhaps the price tag. It's not cheap here. I asked if the squid was fresh and assured that it was, I ordered some squid in garlic to takeaway. As soon as I bit into the tough stuff I knew it was not fresh. I knew because I have cooked fresh squid before and it can absolutely melt in your mouth.

I am not a Manolys fan anymore. It changed hands and prices went up. All that tapestry and Thai silk doesn't fool my taste.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank catfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    48
    16
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Been here about 5 times and everytime is as good as the last. Food is beautifully cooked and well presented, staff are friendly, prices are reasonable. I love sitting near the kitchen, because you can see in and watch the chefs making the food, its very impressive! We will be eating here again in the future.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IDG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

My wife and I visited midweek for our anniversary. Found the staff very friendly and the food very very good. Would recommend a visit to all.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawkwellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A bit like an Asian Fawlty Towers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

As others have said about Manoly: the food is great, no complaints there.

The service is confused and very, very hap-hazard! I've always found the staff to be polite and friendly, that's not the issue. They're just existing in a vacuum of chaos pretty much most of the time!

It wouldn't stop me going again as I tend to view it as a kind of entertainment!

  • Visited September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pastiche005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
125 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Food - Rude Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Just that said in the title. The food IS good there is no compromise there, but a complete "couldn't care less" attitude with a few of the staff, it makes going there a bit like roulette, do you get great food and great service, or great, cold food and someone who really doesn't care whether you eat it, enjoy it as long as you pay and get out!

Helpful?
Thank BrettJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manoly Thai Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Manoly Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing