We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty darn good food very yummy no faults.”

Stop The World Cafe
Ranked #5 of 152 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Stopped here today in passing and had a really nice lunch. The place has great decor and the food was fab. The waitresses were lovely.

Only slight gripe was the manager (owner I am guessing ) squawking at staff to do this or that in a really loud estrine voice that drilled me like a dentists drill. From outside you could here every word "gawd nose wot vose sittin dan inside ad to put up wiv" she just didn't stop !

I reckon she's alright really and wanted to shimmy the girls along but jeeps I couldn't listen to that all day .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank filmlocationhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Owner at Stop The World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Pretty Darn Happy..Thank you!
Firstly it wasnt me who was "Squaking"
Your comments were read by the person concerned and have been taken on board, its just lucky the sun was shining

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

639 - 643 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Love this cafe, have been here many times over the years for tea and cake. Had breakfast a few months ago, very nice but quite pricey for what it is. Definitely worth stopping in for a delicious home made cake though.

1  Thank Essex111983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Owner at Stop The World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Our Cakes are not cheap, but we will not skimp on the quality of our handmade product just to cut costs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is one of my favourite places to meet friends for a catch up over a coffee and/or lunch.

It has a lovely old feel to it with an amazing range of homemade cakes and a great range of teas and coffees.

The decor is a great mix of old fashioned style tea room with a bit of a funky edge and it always has a welcoming feel along with really friendly staff.

If you fancy something to eat, they always have a great range of specials of the day but my favourite is their Welsh Rarebit with their homemade beans - damn the diet and give them a go!

Lunchtimes are really busy which is proof of how good they are as Leigh has such a vast range of cafés and restaurants but however busy they are I never feel that I'm being rushed if I'm there for just a coffee or a full meal.

Oh, and if you fancy a treat at home, why not take something sweet and delicious home with you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeighHappyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Owner at Stop The World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

I apologies for the delay in responding to your comments but i am a chef and computers are alien to me. But a big thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Have loved this cafe for a while just for the cakes but the breakfast is superb. The hand made cakes are well worth splashing out on. Not the cheapest place - 2 breakfasts, drinks and cakes to take away came to £28 but this is the Broadway after all. Great for a monthly treat. Staff very friendly too and welcoming.

Thank Elp1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

A real continental cafe. Very good service and delicious home-cooked food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stop The World Cafe also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Stop The World Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing