We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undercooked ?”

Stop The World Cafe
Ranked #3 of 143 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Undercooked ?”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Visited Stop The World on Sat morn after 3 years staying away. Place always looks nice when walking past. So sat outside and ordered two cooked breakfasts. Order was taken and breakfast arrived in due course. Not the best presented breakfast. Started eating then both me and partner notice. Even though we had very well done bacon. We also had very undercooked bacon underneath. This was to my horror as this was reason I have not set step in this place for 3 years.i pointed out to staff who agreed the bacon was not cooked properly. And waived paying for them. We settle the bill. £5.20 for tea for two. REALLY normally £2.50/ £3 anywhere else. A total bad experience and won't be returning in a hurry. Ps.did leave tip

Helpful?
10 Thank GaryRW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    173
    47
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely start to any afternoon”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We come here regularly, and yes due to popularity we may have to wait but we always get a phone call to say our table is ready. Staff are great always cheerful and ready to help. Sadly some rude customers who clearly should should learn manners themselves may try to upset them. Our drinks orders are taken promptly as is our food and only when they are really really busy or we have ordered slightly off menu do our meals take longer than about ten mins to arrive. Quality always great, and we nearly always leave with a box of cakes for later. No time limit on sitting and chatting. Always lovely and if something does go wrong try speaking to them

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Firm Favourite”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A super cafe well positioned on Leigh Broadway.

A huge amount of work and commitment has clearly gone into creating a menu of outstanding food and teas. I've visited twice in the past week alone, enjoying the full English breakfast on the first occasion and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on the second. Both dishes were superbly executed, made with high quality ingredients and were very well presented. They both were amongst the very best breakfast dishes I have ever enjoyed. Service was polite, friendly yet attentive on both occasions. For the quality of food provided, it was excellent value for money.

Unsurprisingly, this gem of a cafe is very popular. Despite this, the staff were very helpful in accommodating a sizable party.

I could not recommend this place more highly. Such wonderful independent businesses are very few and far between. I will continue to support this cafe wish it continued success.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arann72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Went to have brunch with my friend stood by the door waiting to be seated no staff came over. Family of 4 also waiting. Family advised that as there was a 2 available we could go infront. We went and sat down to be rudely approached by a blond member of staff. Advised we knew that there was a waiting list but we could go infront. Lady insisted we move. Went and waited by the door whilst the table remained empty. No one spoke to us for another 10 mins. We then left. No waiting times to be told, place had plenty of staff and could have easily spoken to us. We won't be returning. Staff need retraining on customer service!!

Helpful?
14 Thank Jodiebaker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Where is my cake”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Went with my mum I had the coffer cake cost of £3.20 the girl put I the cake in the box only when I got back home to open the box it was the smaller cake potion I have ever had the cake was dry with no favour my mums cake was the same will the go back as I don't like to be rid off

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank tina800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stop The World Cafe also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Stop The World Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing