We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Centre makes it even better”

Belfairs Wood, Park and Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“New Centre makes it even better”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have been walking in Belfairs for well over half a century. The latest works by Essex Wildlife Trust and others have improved what was already a haven for wildlife and a tranquil environment. If you want to take the kids for a cheap day out where they can learn something worthwhile and get away from the i pad/tv whilst realising litter can be taken home, not just discarded then the Nature reserve is the place to be.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BIGFOOT3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    82
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dog Walking”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

After recently aquiring an new member to our family namely a springer bittany cross spaniel called Arther to our family we have resumed our walks through belfairs Woods. We were amazed to come across excellent wood carvings. So far we have bumped into a man in a flat cap, a butterfly a sort of mole in a burrow and yesterday spotted an owl on top of a tree with a fox at the base and other creatures around it. Finding these carvings dotted around makes our walks together even better. Who does them?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just a lovely place...you can play pitch and putt for less than £3 a person, cafe for a coffee, horse riding and then trees, park and fresh air, great day out what more could you ask for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mia102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The clue's in the name”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Lots of trees, woods & Nature. Also a good golf course if you fancy a few holes. Bring your own food & drink; if the café is unexpectedly open, you won't want to use it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice area”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Belfairs Woods are nice for a walk any time of the year and the play area for children is very good. Nice cafe too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marcor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belfairs Wood, Park and Nature Reserve also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Hadleigh, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Belfairs Wood, Park and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing