We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palm Tree - CLOSED

The Palm Tree
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Essex United kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have eaten at the Palm tree restaurant a few times and have been give a warm welcome on our arrival

Also the décor is very relaxing so whoever they had to plan it has done a wonderful job ! Our

last visit was for Sunday lunch and the pork dish we both had was "melt in the Mouth" The staff were very friendly and helpful .We will eat there again and recommend it to our friends

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    60
    25
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I took our son and future daughter in law for a celebration meal. We have been there a few times and never been disappointed. They newly engaged couple loved it as much as us. The staff are delightful, food excellent, atmosphere fantastic. Looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Last week it was my birthday and my husband booked a table for two of us,it was the first time we been in the Palm Tree restaurant. We were absolutely happy with a food and the service.Normally I don't write reviews but I was very pleased so I will go again and again.....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 14sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise around the corner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Found the place by accident, though it's not so
far from the beach anyway. The hole staff was
so friendly and helpfull, really welcoming feeling
from start! Plat du jour included (on our day) was
Moroccan lamb tagine...really tasty, you could
choose your dessert from the desserts made from local incredients and choose a coffee or a
glass of wine with it .. beatiful presentation and
tasty fresh modern food... definitely come back soon :) xx

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fabio902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canvey island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“fantastic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I visited the palm tree last night for my birthday, it was a lovely experience. The service was faultless, even the restuarant door was opened for us both on arrival and leaving. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The food was gorgeous. I had steak diane and I can honestly say it was so tender and the best I had ever tasted....even compared to top notch london restuarants. My husband had lamb tagine and, again, loved it. The portions were very generous. The restuarant is intimate and cosy and suitable for couples or even groups. We were seated
Close to a group of giggly ladies but despite the small size of the restuarant, we were not disturbed
At all......an amazing pianist played and gave the restuarant not only a great ambiance but also blurred any talking from other groups. The atmosphere was also enhanced by perfect intimate lighting and decor. The toilets were modern, luxury and spotless. I have no bad words for this restuarant, it was a real delight and will definately recommend it and definately return. As for people stating the menu was too extensive.....can being spoilt for choice really be a bad thing? It ensures that everybody in your party will find something they will enjoy. The menu is eclectic but that makes you want to return to try all the dishes. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dovey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palm Tree also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing