We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Characterful and Spacious Cottage in an Ideal...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Relax with a glass of wine in our secluded sun terrace, which gets all day sun!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax with a glass of wine in our secluded sun terrace, which gets all day sun!
Peace Haven Cottage Garden at Peace Haven
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
17 reviews
Relax with a glass of wine in our secluded sun terrace, which gets all day sun!
Peace Haven Cottage
Garden at Peace Haven
Front door path, to garden
Single room, which can be made into a twin if required
Our well fitted kitchen, backing onto the garden
The Mistress bedroom! relax in the Victorian charm
the garden at Peace Haven
Peace Haven Cottage at Christmas
Summer Loungeroom
Cosy Bedroom 1
Summer Dining room
Old Leigh Fishing boats
Leigh Fishing Co-operative where you can purchase freshly caught fish
the low tide at Leigh on Sea
Sledging fun 2 mins walk from the Cottage
Two Tree Island 5 mis walk away
Veiw from the local pub The crooked Billet
Cosy Winter 'Birdroom'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wendy R
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Characterful and Spacious Cottage in an Ideal Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Peace Haven is full of character, clean, spacious and very peaceful. It is within walking distance of the many wonderful amenities on offer in Leigh and also the beach and Old Leigh.

We had a good week and wouldn't hesitate to book another stay here.

Thank you!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The central location and peacefulness of the cottage.
Liked least: The bathroom is small/narrow.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thanks and you would be most welcome again, just a shame that the weather turned during your stay :(
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpreston2
San Diego, California
1 review
“a beautiful getaway in the heart of leigh-on-sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Peace Haven is located in the centre of leigh-on-sea within walking distance to everything you could ever need, including parks, the high street, restaurants, the train station and the estuary. It has off street parking too should you need it. We were there for 1 week and stayed as a family my wife and two young children 8 and 9 and absolutely loved it - the kids especially liked having their own unique rooms to stay in and explore the house and the beautiful garden.

Sarah (the owner) is very friendly and very accommodating, we had an unusual arrival schedule and she was able to meet us at the house without issue to show us around and explain everything. We didn't run into any problems related to the property during our stay but I'm confident that if anything did crop up Sarah would resolve the issue promptly.

Our only regret is that we wish Peace Haven had been available to us in previous years, as we make an annual visit to Leigh. Peace Haven makes everything else that we have stayed at in Liegh/Southend pail in comparison.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the location and the peaceful setting
Liked least: steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you we would love to welcome you and your beautiful family again next year. Should you wish to come at Christmas we can offer to decorate the house, and bring some wood for the woodburner, it is so cosy in winter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downthetu...
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What a lovely holiday we all had in this lovely charming seaside cottage.

Cottage was very clean throughout with very comfortable beds. Despite the very warm temperatures, the cottage was very cool with a nice sea breeze. Lovely well kept garden with sun terrace which was a delight.

As for Leigh-on-sea itself - the town has wonderful independent shops with a number of bars/resturants only a short walk away. A visit to Old Leigh (short walk) is a must which has traditional pubs, lovely cafe and is right on the seafront where you can walk (as we did on a couple of occasions) to Southend-on-sea.

Went by car but rarely needed to venture out due to the lovely surroundings and the short walk to the train station which serves all the local nearby towns and London.

Owner Sarah was very welcoming with nice touches. Will definitely be staying again.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
So glad you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. thank you for being such fantastic guests :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mm1187354
Osnabruck, Germany
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

flying over from Germany I stayed at Peace Haven with my wife and daughter (11 years old) from 20th June - 3rd July. The cottage was great, very clean, unique in style, full of harmony (including the back garden) and in terms of location it proved even better. Train Station a short walk from the house given us the pleasure of day-trips to London, little shops round the corner catering for all needs and a nearby Park plus the Beach not far away either. Plus to top it all, Sarah and Andy were a fantastic couple, very friendly and helpful. We have already recommended to friends in Germany (also taking into consideration that it is so near to London with the advantage of quality resting time after a day in busy London.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the atmosphere
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
It was a pleasure to accomodate your lovely family, so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you all again next year. Perhaps next year you can visit some of the beautiful nearby Essex villages, thank you very much for your gifts too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbentane, France
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
What a wonderful group of young guys you were, perfect guests, so glad you enjoyed your stay, come again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing