We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good late Sunday lunch”
Review of Alebro

Alebro
Ranked #1 of 175 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Modern European restaurant
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We were meeting up with some friends for a late Sunday lunch before we were going to a show in Southend. The restaurant is quite small the front area has a bar on the left hand side and there is another dining area in the back.The restaurant was remarkably busy for so late in the afternoon which is a reflection of the quality and amount of the food.The Sunday menu was a fixed price menu depending on the number of courses with 4 or 5 options per course After a pre lunch drink and some bread we ordered our starters. 2 of us chose the chicken liver pate which was served in a ramekin with 2 pieces of toasted crusty bread and a salad. My wife chose the prawn cocktail whilst our other guest chose the baked goats cheese. All the portions were more than generous and were all very good. For our mains courses 3 of us chose the pork belly and one the roast lamb. All the dishes were served with Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes, carrots and broccoli. The roast lamb and 2 portions of the pork belly were excellent. Unfortunately my portion of the pork belly was mainly fat and was inedible. However as soon as this was pointed out the dish was immediately taken away, fulsome apologies and shortly thereafter a new plate arrived with some lovely well cooked pork belly. Again the portion sizes were more than generous so we skipped dessert though 3 of us had a cappuccino. The wine list is quite small about 6 each of red and whites. We chose the Argentinian Malbec and the Chilean Sauvignon both around £20 which were very good. The service throughout was very good, professional, friendly and we were not rushed at all and the way they handled the problem with the pork belly was excellent. A meal that all 4 of us thoroughly enjoyed and excellent value for money

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank stonellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

First time visit to Alebro and was very impressed with it. Nice ambience and decor and attentive, but not intrusive staff. Service was very good throughout and the food was well-cooked, well-presented and of high quality. I had the filet mignon which was meltingly tender and came with a delicate and not overpowering blue cheese sauce and I would recommend this. Will definitely be back again and the only recommendation I would make is that a cheese board would be a nice addition to the menu for those of us without a sweet tooth,

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

My partner and I visited Alebro for the first time on my birthday - having heard good things about the restaurant which is literally 200 metres from my flat.
We were not disappointed.
The food was absolutely wonderful and the service was good. The restaurant is small and the atmosphere was lovely and it’s a testament to the quality of the food that it was fairly busy on a Tuesday night.
We will be returning.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank SallyM1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

The menu is varied and we eat there quite a lot. Never had a bad meal. The food is delicious and if you go for lunch there set meals are very reasonable. The staff are efficient and the owners very friendly. Great place to go for lunch or dinner

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

I have given Alebro five out of five stars and this rating is against the things that matter in a restaurant, that is the food, the service and the wine. The food was excellent the service was attentive without being overbearing and the wine was superb. Alebro is on the London road about a fifteen minute walk from Leigh on Sea station,Alebro is well worth the short walk from the broadway or old Leigh but I would recommend that you book, Our lunch was so good we will be visiting again very soon

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank tonyhammer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alebro also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Alebro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing