We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was looking for somewhere to dine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Suntouched Inn Travellers Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Napier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2012

After a fairly long and very hot and tiring day driving I was looking for a simple but good evening meal. Friends in Napier suggested I join them at the Suntouched. Well, what a nice surprise it was! It is well known locally as a great place for Pizza or Pasta and, while I don't go too much for Pizza I love a good Pasta dish. I chose a Taglietelle to which I just kept saying Yes put some of that in on No I'm not keen on that... Not a problem, they prepared exactly what I asked for, in a yummy cream sauce, in a proper size portion with some lovely bread to mop up........ 'Absolute Bliss' Added to that a lovely crisp Sauvignon Blanc which the 'boss' kindly kept in the fridge for me and just kept topping up my glass without ever needing to ask. I can't remember exactly what the bill came to but, it was a surprise, I would have happily paid double.
I can't comment on the accomodation as I did not stay there but it is a friendy, comfortable and welcoming place, with lots of local custom and, eveyone, both customers and staff make you welcome.
I would not hesitate to call in again.
Phil

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for The Suntouched Inn Travellers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed for 4 nights, coming away to Napier for a peaceful and restful vacation. The Suntouched Inn is definitely funky and individual, each room being given a different theme, and is more like a hostel style establishment than your "regular" run-of-the-mill B&B.
We stayed in the room called "Suntouched" which is their "family room" that has a splendid old iron/brass bed and bunk beds for any offspring that you might have in tow, and an en-suite bathroom with shower.
However what we hadn't reckoned with is that the B&B is right on the main road, which is a main artery between the towns of the Overberg (Bredasdorp, Cape Aguhlas, Gansbaai etc) and the port of Cape Town, so there was a lot of traffic, some of it very heavy rumbling past our bedroom window. Behind the bedroom is the bar and pool room. So with the traffic in front and the bar behind which was in use until the small hours, our first night was , shall we say, not that restful!
The next morning Craigan, the owner, was, to give him his due, full of apologies and we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast.
The next 3 nights were, thankfully, much quieter, though the traffic still rumbled on.
The rooms would benefit from having tea and coffee making facilities, places to dry things like towels more effectively would be appreciated, there is no daily servicing, no hotel toiletries provided - all of these are small things, but when you are paying not far short of European rates then it is reasonable to hope for European standards of service.
A fascinating stay in a funky, unusual venue with hosts who will make you most welcome, but bare in mind if you are looking for peace and quiet, I would suggest taking ear plugs with you!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We have stayed a few times at the Suntouched Inn. We always include a few nights there on our trips to and from the Garden Route. Angela and Craigan are friendly and welcoming and really encourage us to feel at home at the Inn. The restaurant serves amazing pizzas and pasta, and the bar is always a fun place to spend a few hours, even for the kids.
There is a variety of beautifully decorated rooms, a family room with bunk beds for children, a few double rooms, a dorm-type room, and people can even bring their tents to camp on the lawn.
Angela and Craigan's son has a super playground and loves to share it with visiting kids.
Napier is such a calm little oasis, you can pretend that the rest of the world does not exist when you are there. My favourite thing to do is to sit on the stoep and watch the world peacefully wander past.
We most often just spend our time relaxing in and around Napier, which has a good number of antique shops, interesting little museums and art galleries, but we also like to drive out for trips to Hermanus, Stanford, Arniston and to Struisbaai when we are there, and have also been to De Hoop nature reserve, to Swellendam and Aghullas. There are some really good walks to do around Napier.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonMamaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at The Suntouched Inn in Napier. Angela and Craigan are your hosts and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and relaxed. Nothing we asked for ever felt to be a problem. Most guests use Napier as a 1 night stopover however we decided to spend 3 nights and use it as our base to explore the surrounding area and also to spend some time relaxing at the lodge.

Each room at Suntouched Inn has been decorated and inspired by a destination Angela and Craigan have travelled too. Our room was called Sihanouk and was inspired by their honeymoon in Cambodia and Vietnam. This inspiration was shown with their beautifully framed photographs and treasures that they had collected. Mention must be made of the stunning views of the valley below as seen through your window!

With the temperatures reaching high 30's it was a welcome to spend the afternoons lazying around the swimming pool or enjoying a drink in the bar!

One morning we went to Struisbaai which is approximately 30min away to find the most beautiful beach with a great swimming area, a beach restaurant selling freshly caught fish and 2 stingrays in the harbour front. Was definitely worth the visit.

Would we go back again? Most certainly, hopefully to taking friends along to experience it too!

Thanks to Angela, Craigan and Alex for a truly fantastic holiday!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapeTownJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank magifiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Suntouched Inn Travellers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suntouched Inn Travellers Lodge

Address: 58 Sarel Cilliers Street, Napier 7270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering stylish accommodation in the tranquil country village of Napier, The Suntouched Inn is the ideal base from which to explore the Cape Overberg region. Less than 2 hours drive from Cape Town, and only 30 minutes to beautiful beaches. Local activities include horse riding, hiking, mountain biking. Delicious breakfasts included in rates. Doubles, twins, family rooms and new dorm for budget travelers. Swimming pool, braai facilities, fully licensed restaurant and bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing