We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crewe Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Madeley B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing stay.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here as it was the perfect halfway point while doing the Newcastle Way (long distance walk) in 2 days. Unfortunately this is the last time the word perfect will be used.
The management were very unwelcoming, (maybe they do not appreciate walkers in their hotel).
The room was spacious, but poorly furnished with very cheap poorly made furniture, the bed creaked unbelievably just to sit on it, the slightest movement in the night woke the other person (to be fair, all that was needed was the bolts tightening).
The Bathroom, had a very musty smell and was grimy, this was not helped by the only window, opening directly into the Kitchen (if it could have been opened) there were bottles stored on the window cill inside the Kitchen, this was made even worse by the fact that there was no extractor fan at all, so a simple shower ended up like a visit to a steam room.
On requesting a meal in the restaurant in the evening we were told that we had to have it at an early time and order from a limited menu as they were busy and did not want to fit us in, (we went to the other pub down the road and had an excellent meal in their very modern restaurant).
In conclusion, if we could have stayed anywhere else, we would have done, I have never left such a negative review before in my life.

Room Tip: Nothing I can say really, it's all as listed above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    30
    15
    11
    23
See reviews for
19
43
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were travelling back home from the south of France but as we had managed to get on the Eurotunel 4 hours early, we were going to be home to soon. We had freinds staying over, house/animal sitting so we decided to find a B&B near by that would allow our dog too.
We googled and found The Crewe Arms at Madeley Heath nr Keele which was perfect as we were at Keele servise's at the time. What a perfect place, they had a room left, a family room with king size bed and single, en-suit and allowed our dog for £55 that night.
We had a wonderful welcome from the staff and the place was packed, everyone looked as if they were enjoying their evening there and all the plates of the diners were clean so the food must of been good too. We just crashed to be honest but the room was so comfortable, the bed was perfect and a big roomy bathroom.
We had recieved a great welcome from the minute we rang up, especially as we were just turning up on a saturday night with a dog. We did not eat breakfast as we had slept longer than planned and still needed to continue or journey. We were met at the desk by a very friendly gentleman who was serving breakfast.
Our one night stay was perfect, the place was so quiet and in a very pretty village, the room was large and well stocked, even the coffee/tea tray was over flowing. A wonderful place that we would recommend to anyone, we would loved to of stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had room 3, it was a big room with large bathroom, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artictruckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

I think one of your reviews is about a different Crewe Arms! This one is friendly and welcoming with courteous and helpful staff. We had a 'family' room which cost no more than a standard double. Breakfast was leisurely and very filling.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardjohnston50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

In August 2008 my husband and I drove from Hungary to Edinburgh, Scotland in order to bring our dog into the UK due to the strict laws on the transport of animals into the UK. We were in the area of Newcastle-upon-Lyme when we realised it was getting late so we decided to stop for the night. We asked at two other hotels which were all booked up before arriving at The Crewe Arms Hotel.
They willingly took us and our dog in. The hotel has English historical charm. It was a reasonable price of £65. The room was clean and well appointed. The service was polite and helpful. We ate at the bar instead of the restaurant as the bar had an outdoor area where we could take the dog with us. The food at the bar was very good. It was much better than what one would expect from a bar. The locals at the bar were friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed a nice chat with many of them. We took our dog for a walk around the neighbourhood which was beautiful English countryside with a small forest, sheep and a small river.
All in all we were very happy at The Crewe Arms Hotel, especially since they were so dog friendly which is not easy to find. We would definitely stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielletrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

i went to stay at this hotel whist visiting family to try and make it a holiday aswell i surpose at first i was fine with the out of date funiture it made it more homley i surpose but after one night it was all tured around after dangers and faults galore a trouser press fell off the wall and nearly hit my foot the exstetion cable was hanging aroud just waiting for an accident which of coarse the kettle was attached to. The worst thing about this hotel was that when i dropped my wallet near the wardrobe i saw something under it and being curious i fished it out to my surprise it was a 40+ porn magazine my partner was shocked so after this being the final straw i went to the front desk to speak to the manger about this hoping in some way i could be compensated for this incredbly bad hotel exsperience but all i fund was a rude, unhelpful show of poor cutomer service (which may i add know about as i am a manger of a store myself) she then tryed to say that the magazine was mine and only offered me 1 nights refund. These other reviews are written by the hotel staff/manger becuase i wouldnt even let them pay me to stay there.
WORST HOTEL IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!
DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU ARE A COCKROACH
(even though they may be disappointed)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baileymatthew23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madeley hotels

West Country
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

If you want to stay in the area it is a good cheap choice. I think it is rated at two stars, the room was clean and handy for the restaurant & bar. For a Thursday night the restaurant was very busy serving locals who clearly went there often. The staff were friendly, the food good with a wide choice and a good bar too. Holiday Inn it is not, but that was not what I wanted. Loads of free parking, always a welcome point.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCountryHawkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

Me & a friend stayed here at the beginning of Sept 08, before heading on to Alton Towers. It's clean, tidy and convenient, certainly beat the Travel Lodge we were originally planning to stay at.

The Bar was nice, good food & beer - what more do you want?!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JMio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
4.2 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Old Hall Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crewe Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe Arms Hotel

Property: The Crewe Arms Hotel
Address: Wharf Terrace | Madeley Heath, Madeley CW3 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crewe Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crewe Arms is situated on the outskirts of Newcastle under Lyme in the quiet village of Madeley Heath. Only a 10 minute drive from the M6 junction 15 and minutes away from Keele University. We have 10 letting rooms which have just been refurbished, all with:- En-suite bathrooms Flat Screen TVs with Freeview Free Wifi in public areas Tea,Coffee and Biscuits in the room Free Car Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and LateRooms so you can book your The Crewe Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crewe Arms Hotel Madeley, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing