We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”

The Anchor Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Kippford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,030 reviews
462 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Anchor at Kippford......glad to see it recovered from the flooding early this year....the high tide put a foot of water into the restaurant early this year ....dropped in for an evening meal on Friday and took the Seafood Chowder with bread just out of the oven....this is how the good life is meant to be .......scallops, mussels , prawns ,haddock,salmon in a lobster bisque.....superb ,absolutely mouth watering down to the last drop 'The Boss 'settled for the Butterflied Chicken served on a sizzling platter with a leek sauce..... cooking at its best.....we have never been disappointed the quality is out of this world .....go early as it is a busy place the specials on the board sell out fast.....5 stars ***** You cannot book a table it is 1st come 1st served

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank craigluscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    119
    51
    36
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, drink and value for money”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Everywhere else around this area pales into insignificance compared to the Anchor for food, drink and service. We’ve visited many times over the years and it’s still a great pub with an emphasis on customer service and lovely home-cooked food at great value. It doesn’t matter what night of the week you go, it’s always good. Still could do with more choice of sweets though

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JosephsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant bar food - not great pudding choice.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As the bar was very crowded, we ate in the 'dining room' at the back. Service was fine and food was tasty, but puddings a disappointment. I opted for a single scoop of vanilla ice cream, with butterscotch sauce & a flake. Was charged £3.25 for this.
When paying there was a mix up with the card machine, which ended up with the barperson having a till receipt with my pin on it. I am not suggesting this was anything other than an accident, but you hear so much about fraud that I ended up on to telephone banking at 1.30am to cancel my card and pin. You can't be too careful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“'Chaos as usual' - spot on!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't agree more with the last review, the food was quite good but the service was absolutely dreadful. This is a shame as Kippford is somewhere my family and I visit on a yearly basis but we won't be returning back here...

We found ourselves waiting 40 minutes for 10 onion rings and had ordered these as a starter but by the time they came out we were starving so asked for our meals at the same time.. Another wait of 30 minutes this time.

The burger had come out without salad or coleslaw as it said on the menu.. with no apologises from the waitress. It seemed more of a case of let's hope we didn't notice because when we asked, they came back saying no coleslaw and just handed us a bowl of salad.

Tried charging us for a tiny tiny tub of garlic mayonnaise but the waitress decided not to charge us (the only positive)

Staff were all over the place and it was very chaotic.. each time a different waitress served our table and not one seemed like they had any clue what was going out!

Made a quick exit and never to return again!!

Helpful?
1 Thank KCR2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chaos As Usual”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visit Kippford on a yearly basis and always eat once at the Anchor. We never return a second time because despite the food being pretty good the service is always poor. The restaurant has plenty of staff, mainly teenagers but there is never any evidence of a manager. The result of this is a disorganised restaurant with everyone running round like headless chickens, food orders coming out wrong and plenty of disgruntled customers. We visited on bank holiday Sunday and I had finished my meal before my husband got his, the two neighbouring tables seemed to be having the same experience. On what must have been one of the busiest evenings of the season it was interesting to see that the owners had decided to have the night off and were observing the chaos around them totally unprepared to pop round the other side of the bar and rescue the sinking ship.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Sandyhills, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Anchor Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing