We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wished we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Ranked #2 of 4 Kippford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Earlston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wished we could have stayed longer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My partner & I stayed at the Anchor for one night last week. It is a lovely friendly hotel and we were made to feel very welcome by the owner Sharon. We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    58
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
50
71
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I booked in at this hotel for 2 nights as a birthday treat for myself. Could not have asked for better. Room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Bed comfortable and view from both front and side windows was spectacular (room 2). Breakfast was amazing-great choice and more than enough to set you up for the day. We had all our meals in the Anchor-the best and most enjoyable fare I have tasted for many a long day. Yes, they allow dogs but all of them, bar none, were so well behaved you hardly noticed they were there. Management and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was any trouble to them. Cannot recommend this lovely wee hotel highly enough. Sharon, you're a star! (and Robert).

Room Tip: Front of hotel have better views. (room 2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brawburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I went to the Anchor for my birthday meal with my family and friends. The meal was lovely and the service was great. The only problem was the dogs, I have never seen as many dogs in an eating place, it was awful. Thankfully we were in a separate room for our meal, if we had not been I certainly would not have eaten there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tytne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel, or should I say pub with rooms, is in an stunning setting, nestled as it does on the banks of the Solway Firth. The rooms are well decorated with good sized en-suite and reasonably comfortable and are accessed by a flight of stairs.
The public areas have recently been overhauled(after a flood it would seem) and are comfortable The main event is the food operation with probably 90% of visitors eating here and it is here the problems begin. I overheard a member of the bar staff berate a customer for not knowing their table number when trying to order and the visitor was clearly upset by the attitude of the staff member.
We watched as two seperate meals were returned to the kitchen for not being cooked through.
Even on the busiest of days this is not what you want to see and the staff seemed oblivious to the basic needs of preparing tables by wiping them down after people have finished the meals so they are not covered in ketchup etc. To clear away an empty glass seemed beyond the staff and customers were having to stack plates etc long before staff removed them. When I requested the table be cleaned down prior to our meals arriving, it was if I had requested the crown jewels.

Surely, just a simple piece of customer care is not to much to ask for and possibly an acknowledgement of our existance would have been nice, us being paying guests after all!! Remember it is easier to smile then grimmace!!

We enjoyed the location but not the reception we received and I am sure there are more hospitable "hotels" in the area to stay at or just visit for a warm welcome

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We've been to the Anchor hotel before for food and it was excellent on that occasion, so when we were looking for a hotel in the area, it seemed the obvious choice. Unfortunately, it didn't quite live up to expectation.

The family room we booked via laterooms was frankly too small to be a family room and was completely in the wrong part of the building. The sofa bed was too big for the room, leaving only a small gap to get to the bathroom and for some reason another single fold-up bed was left - there was absolutely no space to unfold it, even if we wanted to. The room was at the front of the building, right above the outside beer garden which meant we couldn't have any windows open because it was just too noisy. Not a pleasant fact when it is mid summer. We couldn't open the bathroom door either to let some air circulate since just outside the bathroom window, there is a bright light which basically shines right onto the sofa bed the kids were to sleep in. The building is old, which is charming, but it also means that you can hear every movement from the room above as well as hearing everyone going up and down the stairs that are located right next to this room.

Overall cleanliness was lacking and it needed some TLC - there was a spider's nest in the bathroom, cobwebs along the ceilings and the wood in the bathroom needed a coat of paint. The shower head didn't quite fit the bracket it was in, so taking showers was a bit awkward.

We didn't go there to watch tv, but there was only one channel that had a half decent signal.

The food in the restaurant was good, though the cream that came with the dessert had gone off. When we pointed this out to the waiter, he apologised, but didn't follow up on this at all and we were still charged the full price for the desserts.

The breakfast in the morning was terrific, there was plenty of choice and everything was cooked to order so it was nice and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We often go down to Kippford for a walk along the front and sometimes take the walk to Rockcliffe. It's a lovely place and we end up in the AnchorHotel for a meal, but today we were disappointed with the food, which in the past has been very good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennethcormick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Terrific hotel - everything is clean and the staff very helpful. This was our second stay a the Anchor, having previous rented cottages in the area. The view from our bedroom was stunning (the photos equally good!). Breakfast, as someone has said, sets you up for the day, so no need for lunch - return for evening meal. This was a problem - if we had a starter (delicious) we didn't have enough room for a main course! Finally we found the chicken sizzler - perfect! There was no problem in substituting vegetables (fresh) for potatoes, or mixing part of one dish with another. The evening staff didn't always appear totally on the ball, but, at the beginning of the "season", maybe some were still learning, but were always helpful.
We ate in each evening as, on previous visits, we had been very disappointed with other eateries within easy travelling distance.
Only criticism was the moving of furniture and/or wheelie bins at 7.30 each morning - still it meant an early morning cuppa!

Room Tip: The view from the rooms at the front is stunning - the evening were still a little chilly when we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahJo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kippford
1.0 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Springfield B&B
Springfield B&B
#3 of 5 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Inn on the Loch
The Inn on the Loch
#2 of 4 in Crocketford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Hotel at Kippford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel at Kippford

Property: Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Address: | Kirkcudbrightshire, Dalbeattie, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kippford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three miles south of Dalbeattie, a right hand turn down a small side road leads you to the unspoilt waterside village of Kippford, regarded by many as being the loveliest seaside village in the whole of South West Scotland. The Anchor Hotel is nestled on the banks of Urr Water as it makes its final journey into the Solway estuary. On a clear day you can even see the spectacular peaks of The Lake District. At the Anchor Hotel we have; Comfortable en-suite double, twin and family rooms all with views of the rivers. Our food menus include interesting seasonal food with fish specials as well as traditional pub favourites A great location with plenty for everyone to see and do in this beautiful part of Dumfries & Galloway. Food service times. Monday-Thursday Lunch 12-2pm Dinner 6pm-8pm Friday Lunch 12-2pm Dinner 5.30-8.30pm All day Saturday and Sunday 12-8.30pm We are open throughout the year and my team and I will do all we can to make your stay memorable. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in an area of natural beauty then this part of South West Scotland is perfect for you. To check room availability and rates just give us a call on 01556 620205 or check online ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Anchor Hotel at Kippford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel At Kippford Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing