We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Coastal Kippford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coastal Kippford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have stayed 3 times now in the norwidgen lodge, we have stayed in other lodges across the the the uk and nothing comperes to this it has the most stunning views very relaxing and comfy interior I just want to live there. Unfortunately you don't seam to book this lodge anymore which is a real shame as we use to look forward to the relaxation. I have search online and Carnot find anything which even meets the standard. If you are lucky enough to get the chance to book this place it is a must you will never forget it .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa4richie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stopping here for a couple of nights in our new (25 year old) American RV. Cannot fault the place, excellent layout of the park that is sympathetic to the landscape and seems to encourage wildlife. Our pitch, although near the road is quiet and close to all amenities.

The staff are very helpful and were great when we had a minor electrical fault and helped us trace it to an appliance on or motor home.

We will be back :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gruffter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have visited this park for the past few years and have never been disappointed. The accommodation has always been of a very high standard but this time we were amazed to find ourselves upgraded from a Gold caravan to a Pinelog Lodge. The Lodge was absolutely fantastic with every need catered for and together with the great weather and the beautiful village of Kippford we couldn't fail to have a brilliant holiday. The beauty of this holiday park for us is the fact that it is a real get away from it all location with beautiful walks and views. The park itself is beautifully maintained and the staff are always friendly and helpful. For the reviewers who have complained about the hot tubs being turned off at 10 pm, maybe it is out of consideration for other guests. As for CV from Glasgow, all I can say is thank goodness I wasn't in the lodge next door to you and maybe a holiday in a forest location isn't the best idea if all you want to do is surf the internet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

W e arrived home yesterday after staying at this beautiful holiday park. We were overwhelmed by the beautiful setting and how well kept the park was. Rhodadendrons in full bloom of all different colours and the wildlife was an added bonus. Not long after arriving we spotted red squirrels, rabbits and all sorts of birds enjoying this park as well as ourselves.
We stayed in a Gold caravan F15. We were very impressed and it was very clean with everything we needed. There was a lovely decking area which was great for sitting when the sun was out and we also had a visit from the red squirrels onto the decking. The views were amazing.
We enjoyed this break very much and would recommend this park for a relaxing time in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in one of the kp lodges. It was +5*. The rooms were beautiful and had everything you could imagine. We have a lab and it was great for him. Plenty of walks for him. Although some we needed to travel to. The hot tub was huge and could easily fit 10 people in. We will certainly be back. Only thing to improve would be secure area for the dog.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many lodges in the past through the website hoeseasons. I booked this for me and 5 friends. On arriving everything was fine until we went into the hot tub. It was undercover!! And had a timer that switched it off at 10pm. Absolutely shocking!! They should state this as if we knew this we wouldn't have booked it. As it was indoors all the chemicals and cholerian stayed inside I ended up with the worst cold ever. The facilities were good in the kitchen. The double room had an ensuite. I dropped something and rolled under the bed. On picking it up I found vases and pictures for the walls hid underneath. Found this strange until I went onto the website and seen the lodge had all the pictures n vases in the room. Were they hid for our arrival? On leaving the site the hot tub became smelly and glimey I told the girl at reception - she blamed me for going in with body cream ect on!!!!! Was shocked!!!! When I thought about it I never seen anyone cleaning the hot tub. Never ever going back and won't be recommending it to anyone either.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Took our motorhome and dog here for a long weekend. Arrived at the site out of normal hours but found the warden to be really helpful. Drove up to the pitch which was perfectly level and included an aerial socket as well as the electric hook up which was a bonus. Park itself was spotless and only about 10 minutes walk down into Kippford. Kippford itself is a very beautiful village. There are a couple of pubs and some very nice and fairly easy walks along the Solway coast and through the forest. We walked to Rockcliffe and had a nice cup of tea in the tearooms with gardens overlooking the sea. Food is not great in the area so not great for foodies. We tried the pubs which were okay but had a shocking meal at an Italian called Luigi's at nearby Dalbeattie. Both meals tasted like ready meals. All in all a nice place to spend a couple of nights and enjoy the fantastic scenery of the Solway coast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kippford hotels
0.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
0.8 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariner Hotel
Mariner Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kippford
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Kippford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Kippford

Address: Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LF, Scotland (Formerly Kippford Holiday Park & Kipp Forest Lodges)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kippford
Price Range: £28 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Kippford (The new face of Kippford Holiday Park & Kipp Forest Lodges), is one of the most beautiful holiday parks in Dumfries and Galloway, South West Scotland. It is located by the lovely seaside village of Kippford on the Solway Firth, often referred to as Scotland's Riviera Coast. Open all year, Coastal Kippford allows you to get away whenever you want. It is the perfect holiday location for those looking for a place of pure tranquillity who wish to avoid noisier resort locations, yet offers a wealth of activities on your doorstep to keep the whole family entertained. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kippford Holiday Park Hotel Kippford
Coastal Kippford Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing