We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!! loved every minute x”
Large open plan Lounge, kitchen & dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large open plan Lounge, kitchen & dining area
Creaggan Lodge Master bedroom - En suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Large open plan Lounge, kitchen & dining area
Creaggan Lodge
Master bedroom - En suite
Front Decked area
Twin Bedroom
Kitchen & breakfast bar
Outdoor Bar & Seating area to side of Lodge
Split level deck area
Outdoor bar on deck
Kippford Village
Kippford village from Palnackie
Local Coastline
Creaggan Lodge in Winter
Winter View of Screel Hill
View from deck over estuary & Screel Hill
Sandyhills Beach
Local Coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marshall...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!! loved every minute x”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The most beautiful lodge I have ever seen, truly amazing!! Will def be returning as soon as we can. Perfect place to have quality family time. Great for both kids and adults. Peaceful and relaxing holiday. Lots of wonderful memories to keep forever. Thank you to Jon and Fiona who have been great throughout the booking process - no hassles at all. Highly recommend. xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boydtrans
Dumfries SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As a group of friends, we stayed at Creaggan Lodge for 3 nights for a special "big" birthday treat. What a totally wonderful time we had. The lodge was out of this world and we cannot wait to return for another stay.
The lodge is so well equipped and spotlessly clean and very, very comfortable. The views are stunning. The bar and decking area are amazing and very secluded.
A wonderful place to stay and highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin779
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

As a group of friends we booked this for a quiet weekend away from our hectic lives. What a find! The lodge is amazing and so comfortable and luxurious. From the spacious living area with comfy couches and chairs to the comfy bedrooms with luxurious bedding and the sauna, we hardly left the lodge to explore the surrounding area!

The kitchen has all the amenities you will ever need and is ideal for cooking decent meals to enjoy at the dining room table. Loved the decked porch area too. The sun was out for us one afternoon and we enjoyed a few beers on the deck.

There was also all mod cons from dvd player with dvds to board games, playing cards etc. Never stayed in lodge with such luxury and comfyness. It was like a home from home. We are already planning a return trip later this year.

We even got to see a red squirrel which joined us on the patio!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tojo_mill...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ssshh - Kippford's best kept secret”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Kippford's a great place with the most amazing atmosphere, we enjoyed the absolute luxury of Creaggan Lodge - I have to say we didn't quite know what it would be like but we were astounded and delighted at such comfort. A nice sized lodge with bang uptodate design (we've stayed in lodges in Norway - this is much more comfortable), great views, and a family of red squirrels running around the balcony. Can but recommend, we'll certainly be going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, sauna, space
Liked least: Leaving.Sigh.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Keep this place secret!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed just after New Year in the lodge and were quite taken aback - we have stayed in many other lodges and villas and have never found ourselves in such a welcoming place before. The most noticeable thing (apart from the extremely high quality of the property itself) is that on entry we noted we had just moved into someone's HOME - it's quite disarming! From DVD's, Books, Gaming Machines and many other practical items to kitchen cupboards with fully equipped gadgets and utensils - you simply couldn't ask for more. The facilities are new and well maintained – the sauna for example is, well, just phew!
The owners have left clear documentation to show you where things are and how they work – with helpful notices here and there (e.g. on doors etc) to advise how to go about using them without fuss.
It’s VERY quiet in this location, with stunning views as well, so be ready for this this - if you aren’t used to peace and tranquillity you might feel as if something is amiss! There is another thing to watch out for - red squirrels have a habit of coming up to the decking looking for a feed - really cute!
Given this property is entirely made from wood you might expect the odd creak or two – you’ll be disappointed – there isn’t any! How do they do this? Bedding is very comfortable with clean and comfortable sheets, pillows and mattress – no sore backs from sleeping in an unfamiliar bed here!
There are so many other things which we’d love to mention – but we want to keep these a secret – it’s because we don’t want too many people finding this out and spoiling the place - find out for yourself!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quality of the property and the comprehensive facilities and resource(s)
Liked least: Can't find anything we didn't like!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nat_Holid...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic luxury lodge with stunning views”
Reviewed 12 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I stayed in Creaggan Lodge with family for a week in September. The pictures whilst positive do not do this lodge justice - we were so impressed when we arrived! The rooms are spacious and well furnished, and everything indicated that this is the owners' family holiday home rather than an anonymous holiday let, from the quality of the lodge spec to the helpful gadgets left such as various phone chargers and a games console which kept my three nephews quiet! Plenty of spare bedding and towels if required, and a washing machine which came in handy with three small children.

Thanks to the lodge's prime location within Kippford Holiday Park the views from the lodge are stunning - across the Kippford estuary to the surrounding hills. I enjoyed many a G&T out on the veranda in the evening sunshine enjoying the views! The sauna was an added bonus - didn't take long to heat up and was a nice treat on a night after a busy day.

The location is ideal - we were very lucky with the weather and so enjoyed days out at nearby Sandyhills and Rockcliffe beaches, and walked the coastal paths between Kippford and Rockcliffe, and Rockcliffe and Sandyhills - well worth doing. Dalbeattie is just down the round for useful amenities - Co-Op, Spar, Nisa, Cost Cutter so plenty of choice for a quick visit, or there was a Tesco in Castle Douglas which was nice to visit for the all the cafes and delis situated along the high street.

We were a party of 8 which is the lodge's maximum capacity - the sofa bed which sleeps 2 has quite a thin mattress and after the first night my nephews forced their father to sleep there instead but he seemed happy enough. There is one family bathroom and one en-suite and so master bedroom occupants might need to be prepared to share their bathroom if the lodge has the max 8 guests. A couple of slight hiccups during our stay due to a faulty bulb causing some night-time powercuts, and the microwave not working but didn't detract at all from our time at Creaggan Lodge - these things happen.

Definitely one of the best places to stay in the Kippford area - for location, views and the comforts of the lodge itself. Would definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing