We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our night here”
Review of Mariner Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kippford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mariner Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Kippford B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“enjoyed our night here”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel was just what I wanted. We were stopping off en route after a trip to Northern Ireland with my elderly parents. We had 2 lovely rooms, both overlooking the river. The rooms were clean and comfortable with all we needed, we all slept well. We had tea here and also breakfast, both very enjoyable. Our hosts looked after us well. And the view is wonderful, changing as the tide goes in and out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Cold day so were looking forward to nice cosy Sunday lunch. Hmmm pretty boring food and had keep our jackets on. Won't be heading back sadly. Main meals cost around £9 and didn't seem homemade, very bland!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayfunsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned from a short break to Kippford. We ate at the Mariners twice and had very good meals each visit. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. We could take our dog with us which was a big bonus. The food was good value for money and vegetarians were well catered for.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The bar staff were grumpy, the tables filthy and sticky, the kids enjoyed their burgers, served with old salad, my vegetarian lasagne was tasteless slop, will not go there again. The area is stunning, gorgeous sunsets and scenery.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kippford hotels

Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Been coming to this place for over 20 years.It is such a nice place to sit outside whilst kids play and look out over the estuary.So peaceful and quiet.I can understand some saying place outdated i suppose it is after been coming for over 20 years decor sames the same no change.But many places in scotland are like this its just not this place.Staff are always helpful and make you feel at home.Sometimes at quiet times only a few staff but why put loads of staff on when quiet.The meals are very nice and filling and are reasonably priced.And lovely to sit in nice relaxed environment whilst eating.No pressure to leave as soon as finished eating.All in all a great place to go and have a meal.We certainly will be back when we return against next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEX035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Tuesday 9th July 2 burgers poor quality, 2 cheese toasties, 1 small bowl of chips and 4 soft drinks each came with salad as an insult cost £28.80, bar staff less than pleasant. As a local from the area mariner has looked the same for years needs totally refurbished, toilets are disgusting wont ever be back. Kippford is a beautiful area they could do better than this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The meal was wonderful and the atmosphere was great and the views were outstanding. The waitresses were also great but one female member of the bar staff was very rude and i dont believe that the waitress got the tip we gave her. We also noticed another young member of staff eating chips at the bar not helping anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mariner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Hotel

Property: Mariner Hotel
Address: Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kippford
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mariner Hotel Kippford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing