We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosemount Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosemount Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Kippford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stumbled across Rosemount by accident and what a stroke of luck. We were met by Don who made us feel really welcome, we were shown to our room which looked out over the estuary and was very nice. Don suggested out some places to visit and we went exploring, Kippford is a small but really lovely village, we went up the muckle and down to she'll beach then spent the rest of the day in the pub sat outside watching the sun go down over the estuary. My fave place of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
84
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here Oct 11 for six nights and enjoyed it so much we are returning this weekend .The hosts were two of the best the food delicious and cooked fresh to your personal order and the rooms are very comfortable and the cleanliness exceptional really deserves a five star rating.The veiws and Kippford itself are magnificent.

Room Tip: Suite or twin rooms both have excellent views of the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I booked this place for a number of reasons, I had some family business in the area, it was my wife's birthday and it had excellent reviews. Whilst I must confess to being somwhat sceptical of some trip advisor reviews whether they be bad or excellent preferring to believe the middle ground, this guest house is exceptional! From the moment of arrival with a pleasant welcome, a tour of the facilities and concise explanation of how everything worked. We stayed in the suite, seperate sitting room with reclining chairs, plentiful tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV with satellite receiver and excellent picture and stunning views across the estuary.
The bedroom was lovely with king-size bed and immaculately prepared with in addition, lovely fluffy towelling robes, watch out Hilton Hotels and we have stayed in a few of those on our travels.
I would struggle to find anything bad to say about this guest house. Sometimes proprietors advertise things on their web site that they cannot deliver, such as pictures of red squirrels, but here at Rosemount guess what!? On the afternoon we arrived and the next morning, there they were on cue feeding in the garden.
Breakfast was superb, plenty of it, all local produce and beautifully cooked.
As a local boy now living in Staffs I am often asked to recommend places to stay in Scotland. Having been away over thirty years I sometimes struggle, not anymore I would have no hesitation in recommending this little diamond, It really is superb.

Room Tip: Go for the Suite worth the extra for the treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Rosemount Guest House for two nights in October. The welcome was warm and the accommodation spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had the double suite which consisted of a sitting room with adjoining bedroom. The room overlooked the estuary, as did our daughters' equally well equipped twin room. The attention to the smallest detail made it obvious that the owners care about their guests. Breakfast was varied and tasty and set us all up well for the day. The village of Kippford is quiet but offers a good base for walks and local sightseeing. The two village pubs cater well for evening meals. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rosemount and look forward to going back. We throughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Recently returned from a three night stay at Rosemount in Kippford and my wife and I simply wanted to echo the opinions of so many others who have stayed here.

We stayed in the Suite and it was just superb.

Having a separate Lounge, with the comforts of reclining chairs and THAT view is definitely worth paying the extra for.

Vanessa & Don are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts are simply brilliant.

Note that for food, there are just the two pubs in Kippford, but you can also get a very nice homemade sandwich at The Ark, a souvenir shop on the front, which we did for a change one evening.

Very oddly, there is no Tea Room in Kippford, which it is crying out for, but there is a very nice one in Rockclffe, the next hamlet along the coast which is a very easy walk away.

Thanks for making our stay so pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAD-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have just returned from our second trip to the Rosemount B&B. It is a wonderful place, run by a friendly, helpful couple. The rooms are beautiful. We have stayed in a double room and the Suite - both of which had the most amazing view over the estuary. Everything you need is available to you, and the conservatory is a beautiful space in which to sit and watch the world go by!
Breakfast is memorable - Black puddings to die for, and everything locally sourced.
Near to many of the 7 Stanes mountain biking routes, so a good place to stay after a hard day on the bike! There is a pub very close, so good food in the evening too!
What more could you want!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliandFil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton lancashire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

If you are looking to stay in this area, look no further.
My Husband and I have just had a great 2 night stay at this b&b. We have had some horrible experiences at other hotels and b&b's in the past so were very wary. We already knew the area from a previous visit so we looked on trip advisor for a write up on Rosemount Guest House.
We stayed in the newly refurbished double en suite which was excellent, spacious and very clean with views of the estuary and mountains.
The breakfast was gorgeous , all local produce , could not fault it. The hosts Don and Vanessa are very welcoming and friendly.
We were gutted to leave and were talking about how soon we could go back to stay on our car journey home.

Room Tip: the usual , just book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8966deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kippford
0.9 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
4.2 mi away
Dalbeattie Guest House
Dalbeattie Guest House
#4 of 5 in Dalbeattie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
10.0 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#1 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Guest House

Property: Rosemount Guest House
Address: The Front, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kippford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemount Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosemount Guest House is situated on the waterfront of the quaint picturesque sailing village of Kippford, nestled away on the undiscovered and scenic Colvend Coast in south west Scotland. We offer excellent bed & breakfast accommodation over four bedrooms providing a luxury suite, double, twin or family rooms. With unspoiled views across the Urr Estuary, and two pubs in the village serving food and refreshments daily, it makes Rosemount a special place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosemount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Guest House Kippford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing