We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and a lovely B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosemount Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Kippford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Had a lovely weekend here. the location is beautiful. The owners and very welcoming and the breakfast amazing (I know other people have mentioned it but the potato scones are amazing). The owners Vanessa and Don are very helpful and very nice. The whole B and B was spotless. Would recommend this place very much.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a separate bathroom. Although it was across the hall way the bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albear76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Welcoming B&B right on the estuary in Kippford. Our room was always spotless when we got back in the evening, and the owners cooked a great breakfast and were more than happy to recommend walks in the area and other attractions to see. Has a nice conservatory for guests overlooking the bay, and a patio that will be nice to sit out on in the summer. The village is tiny, with 2 pubs, and a great little spot to go for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Kippford is the first thing that stands out in my mind - what an absolutely stunning location. It really is the cream of the crop if you are looking for a bit of tranquility and piece of mind near to Dumfries or the Galloway National Park. It was so refreshing to be woken up by the calls of redshank and curlew rather than car horns and traffic.

The guest house is run by a very friendly couple who are quick to give hints and tips for all the best places to visit on your stay. We had the double room with separate bathroom, and although the size of the room is 'cozy' the large size of the bathroom (and bath!) more than makes up for this. The room and bathroom were both spotless - kept to an exceptionally high standard.

Breakfast is served from 8.15-9.15am which although initially felt like quite an early wake up for a romantic weekend getaway, it meant that we got a lot more sightseeing done that we would have if we had slept in. Getting up early also means you can catch a glimpse of the red squirrels which come to the feeders outside the conservatory! I would recommend having the full Scottish breakfast if you have time/the stomach because it really is top notch - the potato scone was the best I have ever tasted! I should have asked for the recipe!

All in all great value for money, clean, warm and friendly and you can tell that the owners put their hearts into running this place - we would definitely stay here again!

There are two pubs within walking distance from the guest house and both have a good atmosphere in the evening but food quality could be improved for the prices they charge. Still, it is typical pub grub and it meant that we could both have a few drinks in the evening without worrying about having to drive anywhere.

For a day out at this time of year I would recommend: Mersehead RSPB reserve with amazing views of barnacle geese, seeing the red kites being fed at Lauriston (2-4pm), taking a walk along one of the many Forestry Commission woodland trails, and, if you make it that far, visiting Portpatrick an (idyllic seaside town) and the Mull of Galloway for breaktaking clifftop views.

A wonderful place and a wonderful guest house - until next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A very welcome and friendly place to stay in the area, a quiet and beautiful place along the coast, breakfast was excellent with great views of the red squirrels outside the window. We had heavy snow during our break but the chalet was warm with a view over the snowy estuary, the Anchor pub is a short walk so everything to hand. Take the walk along to Rockcliffe for great views.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pandahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Spent a few days at the Rosemount as we were touring around, Don and Vanessa are very welcoming hosts, our room the annex was very clean, comfortable, warm and cozy and we enjoyed our stay very much, the breakfast is excellent will keep you going all day, all in a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: annex room at the rear of the guest house, your own little home from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loobylou1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at Rosemount while in Kippford for a family celebration at the end of September and found it extremely comfortable and convenient. The suite was spacious with a particularly good bed in the back room. The shower was a little on the small side, but that would be my only negative comment. There were lots of little touches - like glasses and a corkscrew in case you wanted to enjoy a bottle of wine in the porch - that made Rosemount feel a very welcoming place to stay. Vanessa and Don were kind hosts who dealt patiently with our rather complicated arrangements of people coming and going and provided a really excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I didn't see the chalet at the back, but would recommend staying in the house if possible. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clearhorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here after reading other Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We had the suite and our daughter and fiancee had the annex; both rooms were warm, clean, comfortable and well equipped. A fridge is provided for your own drinks (and fresh milk from the hosts), bath robes -in the suite - and lovely views.
The annex shower is not very powerful and noisy in the rain (apparently!), but this can only be expected.
The breakfast was delicious and Don gave some useful tips on places to visit in the area. We'll definitely return.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue1562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rosemount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Guest House

Address: The Front, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kippford
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemount Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosemount Guest House is situated on the waterfront of the quaint picturesque sailing village of Kippford, nestled away on the undiscovered and scenic Colvend Coast in south west Scotland. We offer excellent bed & breakfast accommodation over three bedrooms providing 2 luxury suites & a family room. With unspoiled views across the Urr Estuary, and two pubs in the village serving food and refreshments daily, it makes Rosemount a special place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Rosemount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Guest House Kippford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing