We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had a meal here with friends whilst camping nearby. The ship was recommended by the campsite owner & we were not disappointed. Great food, large portions, well cooked, nice presentation & friendly staff. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    94
    31
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice pub in very nice location”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We went to have an evening meal with friends who had sailed into Chichester Marina.
I had the fish dish of the day plus a starter. I have to say the fish and chips were not as good as "Chip Shop" fish and chips. They were very greasy. The price was average. Staff were very nice, but were very over worked!
It's very busy so don't expect a quiet chat!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good beer average food”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

While I love the ambience of this pub I think it needs to focus a bit more on its food. I ate there recently and had what I can only describe as a pretty average meal. These guys have all the trappings of a great environment and superb local fish but don't seem to make the most of it. Did I say the beer was great though.....common guys a bit more effort please.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good country pub”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Good for lunches and evening meals. Can be slow service and gets very busy, being next to the harbour. Great to go there before or after walking dogs around harbour or water sports!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheresaHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

we'd been on a Harbour Cruise on one of the coldest days of the winter, and decided to go for a drink in The Ship before driving home as all 3 of us were freezing. The 1st thing that welcomes you is the log fire, and all the staff seemed keen on serving and welcoming people, We had only gone in for drinks but speaking to the waitress and seeing the menu we've decided to go back to try the restaurant soon.
Freshly cooked roast potatoes & yorkshire puddings on the counter for customers are a nice gesture which I've not seen for a long time in pubs. On a cold winters day this is an ideal place for a drink.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Padureni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

West Itchenor, Chichester
West Wittering, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing